Jump to content


Photo

The Official Xmugen FAQ Thread


  • Please log in to reply
452 replies to this topic

#1 guybird

guybird

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 631 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 26 February 2006 - 05:10 PM

The Official Xmugen FAQ Thread


The original FAQ posted here was outdated and has been removed.

Please vsit this site for a current FAQ and other information about XMugen:

XMugen Xtreme



Also, this site hosted at the same domain, and maintained by some of the same staff, is a great place for screenshots, box cover scans, cheat codes, key configuration files, tools, utilities and icons related to XBox emulators:

XBox Emulation Repository

Edited by Thraxen, 04 August 2006 - 10:22 PM.


#2 infidelity

infidelity

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 650 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 02 March 2006 - 03:53 AM

i'm totally confused on how to switch screenpacks. I'm having extreme difficulty on trying to install the Duracelleur Pack. This is what the inside of my data folder looks like. I'm running the mimium eve pack.

eve/ "folder"
common.snd
common1.cns
Copy of select.def
fight.def
fight.sff
fight.snd
fightfx.air
fightfx.sff
mugen.cfg
select.def
system.def
system.sff
system.snd

and then inside the "eve" folder

common.snd
common1.cns
doh2.cns
fight.def
fight.sff
fight.snd
fightfx.air
fightfx.sff
gameover.def
gameover.sff
mugen.cfg
select.def
system.def
system.sff
system.snd

The other thing, is I have the "mugen" motif pointing into the "eve" folder, if that makes any sense?

I've tried deleting the files in the "data" folder, and put in the new data folder files, but the game crashes, I then tried putting it in the "eve" folder, and that didn't work either.

I'm so confused on this issue. I've been able to edit the select.def files to point to other folders containg different types of music, stages, characters, etc, etc, but I can't get this screenpack for the life of me.
I really want to try this new Duracelleur Pack. The character select screen looks so awesome, and the lifebars look awesome as well. Could someone be kind enough, to tell me exactly what to do with this data folder? Thank You. smile.gif

Edited by infidelity, 02 March 2006 - 03:55 AM.


#3 Vejita

Vejita

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 671 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.3
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 03 March 2006 - 11:49 PM

How to boot into Xmugen without the annoying resolution prompt

Open up mugen.cfg with notepad and change Depth = 32 to Depth = 16.

Now find FullScreen = 0 and change it to FullScreen = 1.

Xmugen will now boot straight up to the main menu without having to press down on the left stick.

#4 xscarydrummerx

xscarydrummerx

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 13 posts
  • Location:Bellmore, NY USA
  • Interests:Stepmania, Xbox Modding, DDR, ITG
  • Xbox Version:v1.4

Posted 14 March 2006 - 01:39 AM

Xmugen keeps asking me for a boot disc...what kind of boot disc do I need?

#5 Reese Kaine

Reese Kaine

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 38 posts
  • Location:Saint Albans, WV
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 14 March 2006 - 08:01 AM

I have UnleashX on a softmodded box (SmartXX), will that linuxboot.cfg file in the E:\ root directory screw up the booting process, or will it still boot to UX?

Edited by Reese Kaine, 14 March 2006 - 08:04 AM.


#6 Jimbo1

Jimbo1

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 21 March 2006 - 03:55 AM

I second the question with the linuxboot.cfg file in the E:\ root when I have a softmodded Xbox. I have EvoX. Does everybody that play this have a mod chip? Using the linux won't mess up my softmod right?

#7 r1sky

r1sky

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 213 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.3
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 21 March 2006 - 11:17 PM

modchip(with any non-cromwell bios) or softmod, having linuxboot.cfg in the root of E:\ will not screw up the boot process of your xbox.

#8 DevGuy2k6

DevGuy2k6

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 160 posts

Posted 25 March 2006 - 05:02 AM

hello everyone i have this problem:
IPB Image
and the ONLY thing i have plugged in to my Xbox is a STANDARD mircosoft "S" controller

my xbox has:

128mb ram
300 gig hdd
and is running unleash-X

#9 Reese Kaine

Reese Kaine

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 38 posts
  • Location:Saint Albans, WV
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 25 March 2006 - 07:50 AM

Is there a setting that accomodates the 480i setting? I have a Component TV, but 480i's the best it can do, and the GentooX loader doesn't seem to like this "in-between" thing.

#10 guybird

guybird

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 631 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 26 March 2006 - 04:40 PM

Try Alg's newest irdloop update, which he says may elminate some problems with booting the Gentoox loader.

#11 Reese Kaine

Reese Kaine

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 38 posts
  • Location:Saint Albans, WV
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 27 March 2006 - 04:39 AM

QUOTE(guybird @ Mar 26 2006, 04:47 PM) View Post

Try Alg's newest irdloop update, which he says may elminate some problems with booting the Gentoox loader.


Nope, it still don't like my 480i/Component hookup. :-P

Oh well, I'll wait.

#12 Ken34

Ken34

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 21 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 27 March 2006 - 08:41 PM

QUOTE

; P2 Key config (configurable from M.U.G.E.N)
[P2 Keys]
Jump = 18
Crouch = 19
Left = 20
Right = 21
A = 22
B = 37
C = 25
X = 23
Y = 24
Z = 50
Start = 37





anyone figure this out yet?

#13 stig87

stig87

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 56 posts

Posted 29 March 2006 - 09:00 AM

QUOTE(Ken34 @ Mar 27 2006, 08:48 PM) View Post

anyone figure this out yet?


Try the Xmugen-Spot forums, you may get a quicker reply. And more people will see it there.

#14 davicoro

davicoro

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 262 posts

Posted 31 March 2006 - 12:33 PM

QUOTE(DevGuy2k6 @ Mar 25 2006, 05:09 AM) View Post

hello everyone i have this problem:
IPB Image
and the ONLY thing i have plugged in to my Xbox is a STANDARD mircosoft "S" controller

my xbox has:

128mb ram
300 gig hdd
and is running unleash-X



i think this only happend on 128mb xboxes... i use the xmugen on a 128mb and on a 64mb and on the 64mb run fine but on the 128mb crash some times whit that same error...

#15 alg5

alg5

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 209 posts
  • Location:France
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 31 March 2006 - 08:43 PM

QUOTE(DevGuy2k6 @ Mar 25 2006, 06:09 AM) View Post

hello everyone i have this problem:
IPB Image
and the ONLY thing i have plugged in to my Xbox is a STANDARD mircosoft "S" controller

my xbox has:

128mb ram
300 gig hdd
and is running unleash-X


i don't see any error on your photo. the /dev/js1 correspond to the 2nd joystick, so it's normal that it complain that it doesn't exist since you plug only one.

try this mugen and put it into your mugen directory:
http://rapidshare.de...1745/mugen.html

if not, edit the launch and try to put bigger value after each sleep.

i don't know if it will solve your problem, it's only things to try...




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users