PlastiKK_

X-S Expert

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 522 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 27 April 2003 - 04:57 PM

OK, I'm totally new to Linux. I just got Gentoo-X (Home) yesterday. I don't know how to install any programs or games that I get from the internet. Infact, I can't do anything.

I have a linux game that I downloaded onto my PC. How do I install it and play it on my Xbox using gentoo?

I noticed there was a media player in gentoo. If I want to play music/movies what directory do I put it in on my Xbox?

Thanks

#2 Jewish

Jewish

X-S Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 125 posts

Posted 28 April 2003 - 07:35 PM

I'm clueless also sad.gif

#3 mojojojo

mojojojo

X-S Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 61 posts

Posted 28 April 2003 - 07:50 PM

i think you can go into a term and type : mount /mnt/cdrom
then your mplayer should be able to browse your dvd drive.
i also had to chmod 777 f to browse f as gentoox[user]as it could only be read if you were in root.
hope this helps

#4 PlastiKK_

PlastiKK_

X-S Expert

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 522 posts

Posted 28 April 2003 - 10:21 PM

That maybe helped. It probably did more along the lines of confusion though.

mount /mnt/cdrom

That will allow me to view the DVD drive correct? Then could I transfer a game to a folder or install a game somehow?

i also had to chmod 777 f to browse f as gentoox[user]as it could only be read if you were in root.

You got me on that one. I have no idea what the fudge you are talking about.

#5 mojojojo

mojojojo

X-S Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 61 posts

Posted 28 April 2003 - 11:42 PM

yes mount /mnt/cdrom will allow you to access the dvd drive also i assume that you want access to f(the extra partition evox makes) in fatx ,i for exzample have a folder called digital_media that i set up for xbmp located in my f partition,however when i tried to browse the fatx f in gentoox(user mode) i did not have permission so i used the commamds:(while using putty as root)