Jump to content


Photo

How Many Watts Does The Xbox 360 Use In Total For Power?


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Xeriak

Xeriak

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 298 posts
  • Location:Manitoba, Canada
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 05 March 2006 - 03:25 AM

I'm confused by the ratings listed on the back of the 360. It says 1 AMP?? Which'd be 1000W. right??

I can't imagine the 360 constantly draining 1000W worth.. My PC only needs less than 350W PSU for power.. What is the max Watts consumption for the 360??

I am looking into buying a power line conditioner with built-in surge protector and UPS battery. I found a Belkin UPS surge protector/line conditioner unit. And it has a max capacity of 330Watts.. I'm just wondering if that'd be enough for my 360 alone with nothing else plugged into it. I'd have my computer and TV plugged into a seperate outlet.

#2 JMan8108

JMan8108

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 487 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.5
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 05 March 2006 - 07:22 AM

I was also wondering the same thing because im gonna get one of those car plug in adapters so i can run my 360 on road trips and junk

#3 dskid807

dskid807

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 52 posts
  • Location:Je suis en La France
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 05 March 2006 - 11:38 AM

satan will take your 360 unless u get 500w min

#4 Xeriak

Xeriak

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 298 posts
  • Location:Manitoba, Canada
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 05 March 2006 - 02:32 PM

......

well, I did some more googling and found several articles about the 360 just drawing 160W of power constantly. I dunno if it starts to draw even more power/Watts when a game is playing or not(I'd imagine it would.. but would it go up to 500W??)

#5 MrBones

MrBones

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 415 posts
  • Location:Mass
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 05 March 2006 - 07:54 PM

I remember reading an article that said something about it drawing about 160W, so that seems right. That seems like a lot of power to just be idle, so I assume that would be at/near full load.

#6 Elemino

Elemino

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 547 posts
  • Location:Garland, TX
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 05 March 2006 - 09:45 PM

Wattage = Voltage x Amperage...

So... at ~120 Volts, 1 Amp is ~120 Watts. Where did you get 1000W? That is closer to 10 amps.

#7 CMiYC

CMiYC

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 06 March 2006 - 01:09 AM

QUOTE(Xeriak @ Mar 4 2006, 08:32 PM) View Post

I'm confused by the ratings listed on the back of the 360. It says 1 AMP?? Which'd be 1000W. right??

I can't imagine the 360 constantly draining 1000W worth.. My PC only needs less than 350W PSU for power.. What is the max Watts consumption for the 360??


The power ratings on equipment is not the "constant usage." It is typically the peak amount of power the unit will require.

You did not read the back of the Xbox very clearly. It says:
"12v, DC 16.5A" and "5Vsb, 1A".

This means, it draws 198Watts at 12volts and 5Watts at 5volts for a total power consumption of 203Watts. The Vsb means it will draw up to 5Watts in standby.

This is not the total amount of power it draws at all times, it is the peak amount of power the unit is expected to draw. Also, you should really look at the input of the Power Brick, not the console. The brick is not 100% efficient at converting AC to DC. If you look on your power brick, it says "100-127Volts, 5Amps." This means it is capable of drawing about 600Watts of power from the AC line.

Most bricks are only 70-80% efficient. So if the Xbox is drawing 200Watts, the Power brick is probably drawing around 250 Watts.

#8 Xeriak

Xeriak

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 298 posts
  • Location:Manitoba, Canada
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 06 March 2006 - 03:50 AM

So, in short.. that Belkin unit i was talking about isn't going to cut it cause it only has a 330W capacity..
http://www.futuresho...10054425&catid=

Right?? I guess I'll just buy a more heavy duty surge protector.

#9 Elemino

Elemino

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 547 posts
  • Location:Garland, TX
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 08 March 2006 - 06:12 PM

Wow... I guess I should have read this a little better. I thought you were talking about one of the DC to AC converters for a car. To be honest with you, why do you want to be able to play the xbox with power off anyway? Secondly, the one you're looking at (if I remember correctly from when I worked at CompUSA) has only a 15 minute reserve for a 300Watt computer. I know the site says 28 minutes, but that's a conservative figure. If you want a line conditioner this would work somewhat, but it's not really what they are meant for. A true line conditioner costs a lot more. Look at what the ones by Monster cost. Still, if you want to have a short play time with the power off, long enough to finish any game, you need to have a bigger PSU than that.

I recommend one of these... if you're that desperate biggrin.gif
http://www.compusa.c...7290&pfp=BROWSE
http://www.compusa.c...8348&pfp=BROWSE




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users