Jump to content


Photo

New Hard Drive And Live


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 BigSteel

BigSteel

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,103 posts
  • Location:Calgary, Canada
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 07 March 2006 - 01:47 AM

I have an xbox that has been used on Live. The hard drive has died in it and I want to replace it with another stock drive. I am going to temp chip the xbox and put in a new drive. Does it have to be the exact same make and size as the original in order to not get banned (ie replace a seagate with a seagate, or a WD with a WD)?

#2 Alex548

Alex548

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,412 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Your mom's house
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 07 March 2006 - 01:56 AM

You'll need to replace the hard drive AND eeprom. Doesn't matter which brand hdd you use.

If you simply replace your hdd, then your xbox will get banned because the eeprom is already "married" to the old hard drive (that isn't there anymore).

Find out what version motherboard you have, then contact Zodiiak for a virgin eeprom. He sells them for $10



#3 BigSteel

BigSteel

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,103 posts
  • Location:Calgary, Canada
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 07 March 2006 - 02:10 AM

Does the eeprom contain the serial number of the hard drive?

#4 Alex548

Alex548

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,412 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Your mom's house
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 07 March 2006 - 02:15 AM

yep

#5 BigSteel

BigSteel

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,103 posts
  • Location:Calgary, Canada
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 07 March 2006 - 03:13 AM

I have a tonne of eeproms that I could use, but I don't know what version they are for. Is there any way to tell?

#6 Alex548

Alex548

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,412 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Your mom's house
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 07 March 2006 - 03:24 AM

get a program called Live Info

It's made by Team Assembly

#7 BigSteel

BigSteel

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,103 posts
  • Location:Calgary, Canada
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 07 March 2006 - 03:33 AM

Is it on xbins? Thanks a bunch for the help by the way. Once I do get Live info will it tell me if the eeprom is banned or not?

#8 stalkster420

stalkster420

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 280 posts
  • Location:fl
  • Interests:xbox modding, auto mechanics
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:none

Posted 07 March 2006 - 03:34 AM

i would shoot for a new eeprom.there only $10. that way you dont bann your new hdd using a previous installed eeprom thats been online.that would suck but it could have a new home in your pc........i guess.........this is just my opinion so do with it what you will.....

#9 Alex548

Alex548

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,412 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Your mom's house
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 07 March 2006 - 03:35 AM

All it can tell you is what version your eeprom is. You can also convert the eeprom version with that program.

It cannot determine whether it's banned.

#10 BigSteel

BigSteel

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,103 posts
  • Location:Calgary, Canada
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 07 March 2006 - 03:35 AM

I found it. It only seems to work with 1.0 or 1.1, is this correct? When I update the eeprom using config magic, will it update the serial number of the hard drive?

Edited by BigSteel, 07 March 2006 - 03:37 AM.


#11 Alex548

Alex548

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,412 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Your mom's house
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 07 March 2006 - 04:01 AM

Flash the eeprom to your motherboard first.
Later, when you lock your new hdd, it'll update the hdd serial number onto the eeprom.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users