Jump to content


Photo

Biggest Hd With Xecuter 2


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 maxgeek

maxgeek

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 828 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 28 April 2003 - 06:06 AM

Whats the biggest harddrive you can use with the Xecuter 2 Pro?

#2 gainpresence

gainpresence

    11 herbs and spices

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,971 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 28 April 2003 - 06:11 AM

It's not the modchips issue.

137GB is the maximum the Xbox Hardware can support (44bit addressing I believe).

People are working on upping the limit, but don't hold your breath.

Also, a >137GB drive will work in the Xbox, you'll just be cut off at 137GB.

#3 bong888

bong888

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,454 posts
  • Interests:I travel alot and am interested in a good time <br> - what i realy find interesting is the mind

Posted 28 April 2003 - 06:11 AM

i think it is a 133gb but not totally sure!

MOD EDIT: To avoid confusion, the actual limit is 137GB as noted by gainpresence.

Edited by Xeero, 28 April 2003 - 06:13 AM.


#4 Xeero

Xeero

    Welcome Back!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,413 posts
  • Location:Massachusetts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 28 April 2003 - 06:12 AM

If you're thinking about upgrading your drive, bear in mind that even a 140GB (140,000,000,000 byte) drive comes in under the 137GB limit, due to the way hard drive manufacturers inaccurately market their product in terms of GB.

#5 phamtasm

phamtasm

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 111 posts

Posted 28 April 2003 - 06:15 AM

crap, so I shouldve gotten a 160GB instead of a 120GB? Oh and Do you guys note any temp difference between 5400 and 7200 rpm drives?

#6 Xeero

Xeero

    Welcome Back!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,413 posts
  • Location:Massachusetts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 28 April 2003 - 06:16 AM

I don't believe the Xbox is equipped to take advantage of any speed differences between the 5400RPM and 7200RPM. The bus is ATA33 for God's sake....

Edited by Xeero, 28 April 2003 - 06:16 AM.


#7 phamtasm

phamtasm

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 111 posts

Posted 28 April 2003 - 06:22 AM

Someone replaced their ATA33 with an ATA100 cable, and claimed it boosted performance. I'm not sure if thats true, any one who can confirm this?

#8 gainpresence

gainpresence

    11 herbs and spices

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,971 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 28 April 2003 - 06:38 AM

QUOTE (phamtasm @ Apr 28 2003, 01:22 AM)
Someone replaced their ATA33 with an ATA100 cable, and claimed it boosted performance. I'm not sure if thats true, any one who can confirm this?

It may add a "buffer" so to speak..

I tried it and got 1 MB slower FTP speeds than with the original cable, so I changed back.

There may be slight temperature differences between 7200 and 5400 RPM drives, but it won't affect anything.

I run my Maxtor 120GB 7200RPM drive almost 24/7 in the box and it never gets beyond handling temps, I estimate that it stays around 90F.

#9 Fire

Fire

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 896 posts
  • Location:Australia, Melbourne, Victoria,
  • Interests:Xbox<br />Internet<br />Cars<br />Computers<br />Gadgets<br />Electronics<br />TV<br />Satellite
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 28 April 2003 - 06:48 AM

QUOTE (phamtasm @ Apr 28 2003, 05:15 PM)
crap, so I shouldve gotten a 160GB instead of a 120GB? Oh and Do you guys note any temp difference between 5400 and 7200 rpm drives?

what he was saying is that companies list the size their hard drives incorrectly ...
for eg.. i bought a laptop HDD (which was 40 GIG)..

now in windows: it says its 37.2GB (39,999,500,288 bytes).. this is because the company doesnt use computer generic conversions of bytes to GB!...
and the heat between 5400 and 7200 rpm... every 1 i know who has tried both has found its slightly hotter inside the xbox.. but not enough to stop it functioning!..... i would put a fan with the hard drive tray and make a good hole at the back of the tray for air ventilation! if i were putting a 7200 rpm!!!..

with the ATA33 hard drive of the Xbox..... ive also heard it was possible to change ur IDE cable to a ATA100 or something high and then get better preformance!..i say the standard speed is enough!!!


cheers!





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users