Jump to content


Photo

Lightning Strike


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 jAYrAM

jAYrAM

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 166 posts
  • Location:A Heights, MI
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 20 March 2006 - 12:11 AM

I posted in the newbie chat figured this would be better.sorry. My friend had lightnig strike near his house and it killed a lot of his electronics,including his xbox. It wouldn't turn on at all then I replaced the power cord and it turned on. But after the xbox loading screen it goes to a call customer service screen with all the different languages. And the red light flashes. Any pointers on how to fix this?

#2 JrracinFan8

JrracinFan8

    X-S Freak

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,512 posts
  • Location:Ohio
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:none

Posted 20 March 2006 - 12:17 AM

More than likely fried his hard drive, I suggest a modchip and new hard drive, only reason cause I dont think you would have an eeprom backed up on a PC.

#3 jAYrAM

jAYrAM

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 166 posts
  • Location:A Heights, MI
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 20 March 2006 - 12:19 AM

I have 2 old hard drives lying around from my old xboxs.Without a chip can I do anything with those?

#4 jAYrAM

jAYrAM

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 166 posts
  • Location:A Heights, MI
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 20 March 2006 - 12:52 AM

Do you guys think that something is wrong with his power supply? Seems unlikly since it turns on huh? What are my options here?Anyone had the same problem and fixed it?

#5 sabbath_dude

sabbath_dude

    X-S Hacker

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,288 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scotland
  • Interests:Xbox, Rock music, Beer
  • Xbox Version:v1.6c
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 20 March 2006 - 01:48 AM

What error code do you get on the green service screen?.

#6 Big Al

Big Al

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 129 posts

Posted 20 March 2006 - 02:05 AM

I was doing some work on a dead power supply last week and came across this web site that has some information on trouble shooting power supplies. They don't provide information on how to fix it, but the information provided should at least let you know if it's good or bad.

http://www.xboxrepai....php?episode=30

Edited by Big Al, 20 March 2006 - 02:07 AM.


#7 Cappi

Cappi

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,485 posts
  • Interests:Modding the crap out of xbox's
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 20 March 2006 - 02:54 AM

If it turns on then the power supply is not the problem. What error code is it giving at the service screen?

#8 jAYrAM

jAYrAM

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 166 posts
  • Location:A Heights, MI
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 20 March 2006 - 03:05 AM

Is the error code in the top left hand corner of the screen?if it is then its 21.

#9 sabbath_dude

sabbath_dude

    X-S Hacker

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,288 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scotland
  • Interests:Xbox, Rock music, Beer
  • Xbox Version:v1.6c
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 20 March 2006 - 03:15 AM

"21 - anywhere - This error says that the machine was booted to display a error, basically someone told the machine to reboot (or launch a xbe) with this flag, and the error code just means its been rebooted by the flag"

From the XS main page. I have no idea what this means for you though. It could mean files on the hd have maybe been corrupted.

Edited by sabbath_dude, 20 March 2006 - 03:18 AM.


#10 jAYrAM

jAYrAM

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 166 posts
  • Location:A Heights, MI
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 22 March 2006 - 01:45 AM

BUMP.. In need of a suggestion

#11 JrracinFan8

JrracinFan8

    X-S Freak

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,512 posts
  • Location:Ohio
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:none

Posted 22 March 2006 - 02:59 AM

Well, In any case since you do have 2 extra hard drives, they are both unlocked and hence forth since no eeprom, no hard drive locking. Going to have to do it with a modchip. But then again, what number is your error code? If its 13,16(doubt its this) or 21, then try doing a hotswap/slayer's/xboxhdm C partition rebuild, should do the trick with those errors, anything else pretty sure you would need a modchip for since you dont have an eeprom backup. If you do go the modchip route then you can use one of your spare hard drives you have lying around, but in both cases you will need at least slayer's and xboxhdm.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users