#1 xboxizdope

xboxizdope

X-S Enthusiast

• Members
  • 3 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 20 March 2006 - 02:31 AM

I tried searching around the forums before posting this topic, but I can't find anything specifically answering what I need to know. I've never done any modding before but I want to try some things out with some 360 controllers, remotes, etc., and eventually work my way up to modding Xbox 360 systems themselves.

However,aside from having nothing more than a standard flathead screw driver I don't have the tools I need to take the system and controllers apart. Where do you even go to buy those? I don't even dare step foot inside Ripoff Shack, so hopefully some of you can direct me where to go to get the tools at decent prices, as well as what all tools will be needed to do any sort of 360 modding.

I'll probably mostly just want to mod the case and change some of the lights, but I've been looking at some of those DVD drive windows so that's something I'd like to do eventually as well.
So far I'm assuming I'll need:
  • Special tool set for all those awkward sized screws
  • Cutting tool (brands? heads?)
  • Soldering Iron for changing LEDs

Hope you can help, I've got some cool ideas I'd like to do with some 360 case mods cool.gif

#2 Steve-0

Steve-0

X-S Genius

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 928 posts
  • Interests:putting blue 3mm led's in things that doesn't already have them, cutting holes, oooh oooh and plexi.
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 20 March 2006 - 02:36 AM

welcome to the forums,
the essentials are a soldiering iron and a dremmel (multi purpose cutting, sanding, buffing, and lots more), everything else you can get as you need

#3 grim_d

grim_d

The Grim Gopher

• Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,483 posts
  • Interests:enjoying life.
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 20 March 2006 - 02:46 AM