logic02004

X-S X-perience

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 471 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 21 March 2006 - 08:03 PM

Right after hurricane Katrina the boards in my xbox [V 1.6] got fried from a power surge. I was able to salvage the HD and Thompson rom drive. I just recently scooped up a xbox [V 1.0] with a "disk read" error for somethin like 4$ . Im a xbox modding rookie but ive been doing assembling computers for almost 5 years so i figured it would be similar. I took the salvaged Thompson rom drive from my previous xbox and replaced the malfunctioning Thompson rom drive in the recently purchased xbox. WEll all was done, it functions like new. But now on the front when the rom drive is closed its recessed into the front by a lil bit, but noticeable. Anyone have anyidea if i missed something? Any help would be appreciated.

Picture - http://img206.images...essedrom4vs.jpg

#2 .:Dino:.

.:Dino:.

X-S Freak

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,811 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 21 March 2006 - 08:07 PM

the front panel isnt clipped in all the way, push the sides and make sure the middle clip of the panel is fully through the middle hole, if your using a modchip switch cable, try reorganising it, but yeah it will be the front panel, or you just put the dvd drive in badly lol

#3 logic02004

logic02004

X-S X-perience

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 471 posts

Posted 21 March 2006 - 09:06 PM

QUOTE(.:Dino:. @ Mar 21 2006, 02:14 PM) View Post

the front panel isnt clipped in all the way, push the sides and make sure the middle clip of the panel is fully through the middle hole, if your using a modchip switch cable, try reorganising it, but yeah it will be the front panel, or you just put the dvd drive in badly lol

there wasnt a need to unclip the front panel for what i was doing so on this case the front panel has never been moved so it cant go further into place.