Jump to content


Photo

Need Help - Xecuter 2.6 Ce Stuck


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 2themax

2themax

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 6 posts
  • Location:Nova Scotia Canada
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 01 April 2006 - 07:47 PM

Hi,

Im a newbie to XBox Mods, but not to electronics.

I installed the Executer 2.6 with tutorial help. This was pretty straightforward.
Burnt the Updated Bios to a DVD-R ( successfully after a few tries ). Turned
the ModChip on and seemd to work fine. Got the Bios update screen.
Updated the bios via my DVD. Machine turned off as was described.

Now the dashboard is another story.

Burnt this Mofo 4 times on different media.

Here's the question. When I turn the Chip/XBox on, I still get the same Bios screen, not
the Xecuter screen as described in the tutorials.

I then put my bootdisk in, cold boot, and I still get the same Bios Screen.
Nothing loads. Have tried it on DVD-R and CD-RW.

Neither one works.

Any ideas?????


Thanks

2themax

#2 theperfekt001

theperfekt001

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,044 posts
  • Location:Minnesota
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:none

Posted 01 April 2006 - 10:00 PM

what did you flash to it? if you are still getting the flashbios screen, try your other bank. if your bios isnt on there, then you flashed it wrong.

#3 2themax

2themax

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 6 posts
  • Location:Nova Scotia Canada
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 01 April 2006 - 10:17 PM

Thanks for the answer.

I downloaded Flash Bios v3.03.
Put it on a disk as per instructions.

WHen I boot the XBox, I get the choices : bios by network, bios by HDD,
bios by disk.

I click on the Bios by disk and it asks for the CD.
I put the CD in and it starts to update as the tutorials said.

When its done, the XBox Shuts off.

When I turn it on again, I get the same screen as when I started
updating the bios and it won't boot the Dashboard CD.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks again

2themax

#4 theperfekt001

theperfekt001

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,044 posts
  • Location:Minnesota
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:none

Posted 01 April 2006 - 10:28 PM

that is because you are flashing it with the same thing you have on there. download x2bm from the tools section here at XS and build a 1mb bios with flashbios and a hacked bios such as evox m8+. make sure to use the one for your motherboard (the 1.6 version is for a 1.6 motherboard; its not just a tricky name)

follow this guide (except use the m8plus version, not the m8 plus v16 (unless you have a 1.6 motherboard))

Edited by theperfekt001, 01 April 2006 - 10:30 PM.


#5 2themax

2themax

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 6 posts
  • Location:Nova Scotia Canada
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 02 April 2006 - 01:34 AM

OK,

Took me awhile to find the right Bios file. Got it.

Made up my Bios update as you pointed out and tried.
Message on screen read - could not find an updated bios file.
Now I may have done it a little different than the last time, and I will try it again
since it may be a disk problem. Used a CD-RW this time - Used a DVD-R last time..

It should update the chip weather new or old - Am I not correct?

Secondly,

I have been going through my ModChip install tutorials, and found some different ones.

1 tut says to remove pin 4. The one I followed didn't mention this and I left it in.

Should I remove pin 4 on the pin header for a XBox 1.0 install ( Xecuter 2.6 ce ) ?

Thanks, you guys are a great help!!

2themax

#6 theperfekt001

theperfekt001

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,044 posts
  • Location:Minnesota
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:none

Posted 02 April 2006 - 01:42 AM

that pin is already removed...from the official xecuter install guide:
QUOTE
You should note that pin 4 and pin 16 is removed as default.


have you tried your other bank on your chip?

#7 Fox the Sly

Fox the Sly

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 23 posts
  • Location:Compton, CA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 02 April 2006 - 03:17 AM

Did you make sure to rename the bios to "bios.bin" (forgot if it has to be in caps or not), and did you make sure to have a dummy file of around 100+ MB?

That was my mistake when I tried the CD/DVD method. Also, you could try via HTTP.

#8 2themax

2themax

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 6 posts
  • Location:Nova Scotia Canada
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 02 April 2006 - 04:32 PM

Guys

Would you believe after all the Tutorials I read stressing that a
large dummy file was needed to use more space on the disk as
most drives won't read a small file.

In my case that was false, I made 4 disks. Only 1 worked - which was
only updating the bios with same version. I put it back in my PC
to see what was on this disk. 1 file - " bios.bin".

So I made a 5th disk with my new " bios.bin " with the M8+ bios and the 3.03
as instructed. Burned it by itself to a DVD-R, crossed my fingers, and stuck it
in the machine.

Bios updated, machine shut off, flicked a few switches and the Machine Booted
with the Evo X Logo.

Works Great.

Thanks to everyone who helped.

I appreciate it.

2themax

P.S. - Still can't get the dashboard disk to boot!!




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users