Jump to content


Photo

Nkpatcher On Modchip?


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 SilentBob1638

SilentBob1638

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 251 posts
  • Location:Germany
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 21 April 2006 - 05:51 PM

Can i use nkpatcher with a modchip (X2)? The modchip is lacking some nice features... wink.gif

#2 The Zep Man

The Zep Man

    X-S Freak

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,833 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 21 April 2006 - 08:18 PM

Flash the right retail BIOS for your Xbox to one of the banks, lock the HDD with the EEPROM of the Xbox and put the right files (exploit, fonts, NKPatcher...) on the C-drive.

Alternatively: make a switch to turn your chip on/off and which also switches between the HDD (unlocked, all your files) of your chip and another HDD (locked and exploited) for the softmod.

#3 SilentBob1638

SilentBob1638

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 251 posts
  • Location:Germany
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 21 April 2006 - 11:11 PM

Is it possible to run nkpatcher (without harm) in the dashboard for testing if it (successfully) runs with the x2 flash? Or will it fail for sure?

#4 xman954

xman954

    X-S Messiah

  • Dev/Contributor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,028 posts
  • Location:the bottom of Tampa Bay
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 22 April 2006 - 03:13 AM

no harm in testing (worst case it will lockup)
it will work with some OLD first gen BIOS

also use NKPatcher11_U02 with the clock check off....(for now)
you will be able to have full features with alt dash

#5 jonels

jonels

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 634 posts

Posted 22 April 2006 - 01:21 PM

You can replace the kernel with retail bfm for loading nkpatcher, just have an Ndure/nkpatcher setup on c:

Note... I made my own bfm retails from the retails bios's at xbins, I never bothered using the ready made bfm ones available at xbins.. primarily because my first test machine was a 5838 and there wasn't one available.

Also remember to set the RC4 key in PBL Metoo loader (the standard debug one won't work) and the unhash the correct eeprom key according to you're xbox version in the cfg file.

Again ..also remember to have you're HDD locked.

#6 SilentBob1638

SilentBob1638

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 251 posts
  • Location:Germany
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 22 April 2006 - 08:51 PM

X2->BFM/Retail->NKPatcher smile.gif
Nice in theory. But doesn't BFM eat up some memory so incompatibilities/side effects are possible?
On the other hand i have to open the case again and strip one wire to disable the modchip (on the bottom of the PCB i think, dont know exactly anymore...).

#7 SilentBob1638

SilentBob1638

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 251 posts
  • Location:Germany
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 23 April 2006 - 12:45 AM

QUOTE(xman954 @ Apr 22 2006, 02:20 AM) View Post

also use NKPatcher11_U02 with the clock check off....(for now)
What is that 'clock check' for? To prevent the 'clock loop' problem? I thought Ernie&Bert were clean these days/don't touch the clock...

Edited by SilentBob1638, 23 April 2006 - 12:46 AM.


#8 xman954

xman954

    X-S Messiah

  • Dev/Contributor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,028 posts
  • Location:the bottom of Tampa Bay
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 23 April 2006 - 03:25 AM

QUOTE
Nice in theory. But doesn't BFM eat up some memory so incompatibilities/side effects are possible?
no it overwrites it
and if you are making a BFM point it's boot path to somthing other then xboxdash.xbe
and rename the softmod xboxdash.xbe (the update.xbe) to it
then you can have a softmod thats independent from "chip off for xbox live"

QUOTE(SilentBob1638 @ Apr 22 2006, 07:52 PM) View Post

What is that 'clock check' for?
new feature of NKPatcher; if the clock was reset by the fonts (Ernie&Bert)
it will run the msdash with parameters to go straight to the clock setting screen
but if there is something wrong with the msdash support files it will hang... sad.gif
the fix is on it's way, thats why "for now"


#9 xman954

xman954

    X-S Messiah

  • Dev/Contributor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,028 posts
  • Location:the bottom of Tampa Bay
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 23 April 2006 - 07:04 AM

yes.....
QUOTE
full features at 'dual boot'


#10 SilentBob1638

SilentBob1638

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 251 posts
  • Location:Germany
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 23 April 2006 - 08:18 PM

QUOTE(xman954 @ Apr 23 2006, 02:32 AM) View Post
new feature of NKPatcher; if the clock was reset by the fonts (Ernie&Bert)
it will run the msdash with parameters to go straight to the clock setting screen
but if there is something wrong with the msdash support files it will hang... sad.gif
the fix is on it's way, thats why "for now"
Is it intended to prevent users getting in trouble (clock loop, hang) or just a cosmetic issue?

Indeed kind of powerful feature atm. If you disable 'VirtualC' by 'config.bin' you can dig your own grave (if not manually or automatically disabled).

Edited by SilentBob1638, 23 April 2006 - 08:20 PM.


#11 xman954

xman954

    X-S Messiah

  • Dev/Contributor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,028 posts
  • Location:the bottom of Tampa Bay
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 23 April 2006 - 08:55 PM

QUOTE(SilentBob1638 @ Apr 23 2006, 03:25 PM) View Post

Is it intended to prevent users getting in trouble (clock loop, hang) or just a cosmetic issue?
it is for people that leave there xbox unplugged most of the time and were complaining about
all the steps required to get to the clock settings menu
(some games need the correct time set to load there gamesaves)

QUOTE
If you disable 'VirtualC' by 'config.bin' you can dig your own grave (if not manually or automatically disabled).
for advanced users........





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users