Jump to content


Photo

Tutorial: New Wiring Method For Atx/pc Psu, 360 Power Mod


  • Please log in to reply
92 replies to this topic

#1 patrick2269

patrick2269

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 187 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 13 May 2006 - 07:44 AM

This is my tutorial on how to wire an ATX PSU to your Xbox 360. And be able to use the 360s power button to power on/off the ATX PSU with your 360. (And YES the power button on your media remote and controller can still be used to power on/off the 360 and ATX PSU)

Parts List:
200 Watt Micro ATX PSU
NyKo 360 intercooler power plug (A good place to get a power plug)
www.radioshack.com part numbers:
IC PC Board: 276-159
150-Ohm Resistors: 271-1109
PC Board Terminals: 276-1388
Hook-up Wire 18 or 20 Gauge: 278-1226, 278-1225
(Optional) Test/Jumper Leads: 278-1157

www.digikey.com
Digi-key part number: TLP222G-ND, Pkg. Type 4-DIP, Be sure to get a DIP type because its easer to mount on an IC Board.


Step One: Make your Relay
Relay Diagram
IPB Image


Relay Bottom
IPB Image

Color code same for Pic below

Relay Top
IPB Image

And if you want it to be smaller I am sure you can find away to cut the board, and also you donít have to use the screw terminals if you donít want to. You can just solder the wire in, like the blue wire is at top.
IPB Image


Step Two:
You take apart the NyKo intercooler and get the power plug or you can cut the one off the 360s PSU.
IPB Image

Step Three:
Wire up your plug
IPB Image


Yellow to Yellow
Black to Black
360 Red to ATX Pin 9=5VSB purple/violet
360 Blue to Resistor, Resistor to Relay Anode (+)

It is better if you spread the 360s load over 3 12V and ground rails from the ATX PSU you will end up getting a lot less 3 red light errors (mostly error code 0001) in the long run. Hopefully if done right you will have no errors.

And now you can power on and off your 360 just as if you had a MS 360 PSU, Have fun!!!! biggrin.gif

Amperage Information:
I was able to test two 360s and I found that each 12V rail on average pulls 2.5 amps which adds up to an average of 7.5 amps, but what I found interesting about this is that the 360s PSU says 12VDC at 16.5 amps.

Additional Information:
I did my test with both a 200 watt micro ATX PUS out of a gateway and a 400 watt Rosewill ATX PSU.

200 Watt PSU
IPB Image

400 Watt PSU
IPB Image


IPB Image


If you have any Questions or if there is any problems in this tutorial please let me know.

Time to get some sleep; Iím real sleepy so I hope I covered everything. sleeping.gif

Patrick2269


#2 xboxexpert

xboxexpert

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 13 May 2006 - 03:08 PM

** UPDATE May 17, 2006**

Thanks to twistedsymphony, G0t M4xx 21, and bigjimmy. You now have 3 ways to do this new wiring method, by using a relay, transistor, or a logic inverter. My update shows how to use a transistor.

Parts list:
Radio Shack
276-2058
271-1131


Transistor Diagram from bigjimmy
IPB Image

I didnt solder any thing here but you can see how to use an IC board

IPB Image

IPB Image

And here you can use a little bit of solder and heat shrink tubing and make it inline without using an IC board

IPB Image

Edited by xboxexpert, 16 May 2006 - 05:32 AM.


#3 pablot

pablot

    X-S Freak

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,275 posts
  • Location:Sweden
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:none

Posted 13 May 2006 - 04:46 PM

I'm not very up to date on the 360, but as I can see what you are doing is simply to invert the PS_ON signal via the relay, right? If that is the case then it probably would be cheaper to just use a normal logic inverter.

just my 2c

/pablot

#4 twistedsymphony

twistedsymphony

    arrogant beyond belief

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,466 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Almost Canada http://solid-orange.com
  • Interests:Consoles, Computers, Cars, Arcades, Home Theater, and the modding of anything that moves.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 13 May 2006 - 05:14 PM

yeah the electronics store near where I went to school used to sell the 7404 hex inverters for 2 cents a piece... I have a whole frigging bag of them somewhere. I'm actually using on in the PC PUS adapter I'm making for my Xbox 1's power enable signal wink.gif

#5 patrick2269

patrick2269

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 187 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 13 May 2006 - 06:40 PM

Iím not really sure on how a logic inverter works, but what I do know is that when the 360 is powered on it starts sending a 3VDC 10-15mA current out on the blue wire. And I said to myself ďhey this can be used to turn on a small solid state relay, which then the load on the relay would be to ground pin 14 on the ATX PSUĒ.

#6 twistedsymphony

twistedsymphony

    arrogant beyond belief

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,466 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Almost Canada http://solid-orange.com
  • Interests:Consoles, Computers, Cars, Arcades, Home Theater, and the modding of anything that moves.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 13 May 2006 - 07:56 PM

a logic inverter simply inverts the signal... so if it comes in a logic high (your +3V) then the output will be logic low (0V or ground), and if it comes in at logic low, then the output will be logic high.

The relay works but considering it's just a signal wire something like a relay is overkill... kind of like busting out a wheelbarrow to carry a piece of paper across a room laugh.gif

#7 G0t M4xx 21

G0t M4xx 21

    X-S Freak

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,990 posts
  • Location:ATX! Hook 'em Horns!
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 13 May 2006 - 09:24 PM

yeah instead of a relay you could use an inverter, or, even better, just a NPN transistor. (just dont forget to put a ~1k resistor on the base)

Edited by G0t M4xx 21, 13 May 2006 - 09:25 PM.


#8 bigjimmy

bigjimmy

    X-S Expert

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPip
  • 657 posts
  • Location:Parkes, NSW, Australia
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 13 May 2006 - 10:23 PM

Yeh thatd be even better if a transistor was used. Since it only has to switch the 10-15mA a litlle BC548 or 558 transistor (i cant remember wich ones NPN or PNP). The transistor would be a bit easier to get than the relay IC. Either way, Great tut!! smile.gif smile.gif

EDIT: I might put up a pic of what u could do as an alternative later today. Lol if only i could figure out how to put my own pics up on here.

Edited by bigjimmy, 13 May 2006 - 10:30 PM.


#9 pablot

pablot

    X-S Freak

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,275 posts
  • Location:Sweden
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:none

Posted 14 May 2006 - 12:12 AM

yeah, a simple transistor with a 10k resistor on the base (will work without too.. ) would be the best way (cheapest way) to go..

#10 bigjimmy

bigjimmy

    X-S Expert

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPip
  • 657 posts
  • Location:Parkes, NSW, Australia
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 14 May 2006 - 04:59 AM

OK heres the alternative:

IPB Image

I hope this is right. If something is wrong, please tell me asap so i can correct it.

#11 patrick2269

patrick2269

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 187 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 14 May 2006 - 05:13 AM

Will one of these transistors work
RS:
276-2058
276-2009

#12 bigjimmy

bigjimmy

    X-S Expert

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPip
  • 657 posts
  • Location:Parkes, NSW, Australia
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 14 May 2006 - 05:55 AM

You can use any NPN small signal transistors. Those transistors should work fine.

#13 bigjimmy

bigjimmy

    X-S Expert

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPip
  • 657 posts
  • Location:Parkes, NSW, Australia
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 16 May 2006 - 04:20 AM

OK people i was just talking to patrick2269 and he has tried this circuit and used a 100k transistor witch seems to work fine for him. Ill update the pic later so it has a 100k resistor.

#14 G0t M4xx 21

G0t M4xx 21

    X-S Freak

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,990 posts
  • Location:ATX! Hook 'em Horns!
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 16 May 2006 - 05:12 AM

100k is a little extreme, but hey, if it works, it works, so thats all that matters.

10K is probably better

#15 xboxexpert

xboxexpert

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 16 May 2006 - 05:36 AM

Updated this thread in post #2




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users