Jump to content


Photo

Toshiba-samsung Firmware Installation Tutorial


  • Please log in to reply
76 replies to this topic

#1 mksoftware

mksoftware

    X-S X-perience

  • Dev/Contributor
  • PipPip
  • 370 posts
  • Location:Netherlands
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 17 May 2006 - 02:33 PM

Hi folks,

I just created a PDF to make the whole process all a little more clear, please post your comments/ suggestions below...


You can download the PDF here:
*Update Moderator* Latest version of this tutorial: Backing up, Modifying & Flashing the Samsung Drive & How to Create Game Backups (by mksoftware and geebee)

What's updated?
* Process of making a SS.bin (v2)
* Some small details are also included in this release (v2)
* Grammatical errors (don't expect everything to be 100% correct, but it's lots better then last release) (v3)
* Included an overview (v3)
* Layout has been improved (v3)
* Included a tools list: What's needed to get the job done? (v3)
* More information about the Booktype / Bitsettings that need to be configured (v3)
* Making a working game back-up with WxRipper (v5)

What need to be done?
* The process of hex-editing the original released firmware and making it work.

If this helped you, please reply .. thank you ( I want to know for who I am doing it)

Regards,

Mksoftware

Edited by XanTium, 18 June 2006 - 11:39 PM.


#2 Romich

Romich

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 21 posts
  • Location:Russia, Moscow City
  • Interests:XBox 360, modding, extreme overclocking and cooling, hardware.
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 17 May 2006 - 02:58 PM

smile.gif Thx man - have Hitachi at the moment, but really like your guide!

Russian people wont forget any piracy and guides yo use it! biggrin.gif Thx once more!

#3 mksoftware

mksoftware

    X-S X-perience

  • Dev/Contributor
  • PipPip
  • 370 posts
  • Location:Netherlands
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 17 May 2006 - 06:42 PM

QUOTE(Romich @ May 17 2006, 04:05 PM) View Post

smile.gif Thx man - have Hitachi at the moment, but really like your guide!

Russian people wont forget any piracy and guides yo use it! biggrin.gif Thx once more!


Thanks... Well it sucked when I found out that my 360 had a Hitachi drive, so I borrowed the 360 from my neighbours and started hacking. I recovered their 360 to original state, simply because Xbox Live could be attacking anytime soon...

#4 geebee

geebee

    X-S X-perience

  • Dev/Contributor
  • PipPip
  • 483 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 17 May 2006 - 07:43 PM

mk can you add a bit...?

in the disassembly of the xbox as per anandtech tutorial you do NOT need to remove the black heatsink screws smile.gif


a lot of people have i think!

also no files are really needed for the boot floppy...just right click on the floppy drive and select format then tick "create an MS-DOS startup disk". It will make the floppy bootable sharpish :-)

also the xbox 360 needs to be turned ON! I have heard people leave it off lol

Edited by geebee, 17 May 2006 - 07:46 PM.


#5 mksoftware

mksoftware

    X-S X-perience

  • Dev/Contributor
  • PipPip
  • 370 posts
  • Location:Netherlands
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 17 May 2006 - 08:56 PM

QUOTE(geebee @ May 17 2006, 08:50 PM) View Post

mk can you add a bit...?

in the disassembly of the xbox as per anandtech tutorial you do NOT need to remove the black heatsink screws smile.gif
a lot of people have i think!

also no files are really needed for the boot floppy...just right click on the floppy drive and select format then tick "create an MS-DOS startup disk". It will make the floppy bootable sharpish :-)

also the xbox 360 needs to be turned ON! I have heard people leave it off lol


Ok man, I will add these lines to the tutorial...

#6 geebee

geebee

    X-S X-perience

  • Dev/Contributor
  • PipPip
  • 483 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 17 May 2006 - 10:09 PM

one more change...needs bitsetting paragraph - using DVDInfoPro

#7 mksoftware

mksoftware

    X-S X-perience

  • Dev/Contributor
  • PipPip
  • 370 posts
  • Location:Netherlands
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 17 May 2006 - 10:18 PM

QUOTE(geebee @ May 17 2006, 11:16 PM) View Post

one more change...needs bitsetting paragraph - using DVDInfoPro


Thanks, I'll PM you tommorow, going to sleep now (netherlands)

#8 KILLplaystation

KILLplaystation

    X-S Member

  • Banned
  • Pip
  • 116 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 17 May 2006 - 11:02 PM

maybe an update could touch upon the booktype thing. Im sure most people could figure it out but why not throw it in there.
Also, Thanks for the great tut, its exactly what i was waiting for, except for a hitachi-lg version of the hack tongue.gif

Edited by KILLplaystation, 17 May 2006 - 11:06 PM.


#9 majik655

majik655

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,525 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 17 May 2006 - 11:30 PM

Have a question on the tutorial..

it states when you flash the xtrm0800.bin file (for backup making) to follow step 5 .

In step five it deals with patching the file for the dvd key.. does this need to be done to the 0800 file also?


In commadore's release it does not state anything about patching THIS FILE also?

Anyone have this working and can tell if you did patch your 0800 file with dvd key?


2nd question..

Patched commadores firmware with fwpatcher 0.5 and when I open xtreme_proper.bin with key patcher 1.1 the dvd key listed starts with 36 ff ff ... should it start with 36? before patching commadores xtreme.bin in manual hex edit it starts with FF FF FF... even when I open the proper.bin in winhex value 4000 starts with FF not 36 so before I paste mine in on top I wanted to make sure.

Just wondered if my patching of firmware went correct?

Any help would be appreciated.

Edited by majik655, 17 May 2006 - 11:35 PM.


#10 itchy

itchy

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 84 posts

Posted 17 May 2006 - 11:37 PM

Great write-up! Gives us noobs more insight into the process. It looks like the Samsung DVD-ROM drive needs to be accessed by the PC to extract ISO's everytime. Is this true? Also, once a backup is created, can it be used on another modded 360 or is their a key issue?


#11 majik655

majik655

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,525 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 17 May 2006 - 11:42 PM

QUOTE(itchy @ May 17 2006, 03:44 PM) View Post

Great write-up! Gives us noobs more insight into the process. It looks like the Samsung DVD-ROM drive needs to be accessed by the PC to extract ISO's everytime. Is this true? Also, once a backup is created, can it be used on another modded 360 or is their a key issue?



Yes everytime you want to MAKE a backup you must flash dvd drive in pc with xtrm0800.bin Then go through backup process.

From there on once backup is created CORRECTLY with SS key , it can be moved from 360 to 360 as long as the consoles are all hacked with firmware and are working. The SS key is what is needed to be able to play the backups they are not specific to console or dvd drives. Also currently the SS key is then located on the second layer of dvd... hence why all backups have to be burned on DL dvd's Hopefully someday this will be changed so that we can maybe use normal dvd-r's.



#12 MrPhunkee

MrPhunkee

    X-S Expert

  • Banned
  • PipPipPip
  • 508 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 18 May 2006 - 12:04 AM

Netjes.

Cheers pop.gif

#13 itchy

itchy

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 84 posts

Posted 18 May 2006 - 12:15 AM

QUOTE(majik655 @ May 17 2006, 11:49 PM) View Post

Yes everytime you want to MAKE a backup you must flash dvd drive in pc with xtrm0800.bin Then go through backup process.

From there on once backup is created CORRECTLY with SS key , it can be moved from 360 to 360 as long as the consoles are all hacked with firmware and are working. The SS key is what is needed to be able to play the backups they are not specific to console or dvd drives. Also currently the SS key is then located on the second layer of dvd... hence why all backups have to be burned on DL dvd's Hopefully someday this will be changed so that we can maybe use normal dvd-r's.


Thanks Majik! How is the SS key burned intentionally on the 2nd layer? What about games that are under 4.7GB? How do you get it on the 2nd layer when burners automatically burn on the 1st layer first?

#14 O_oTheGameo_O

O_oTheGameo_O

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 209 posts
  • Interests:I don't like you, you don't like me... so there we go
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 18 May 2006 - 12:28 AM

hello,

can anyone point me to the DOS BOOT CD

I aint got floppy disks anymore

#15 MrPhunkee

MrPhunkee

    X-S Expert

  • Banned
  • PipPipPip
  • 508 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 18 May 2006 - 12:56 AM

And then what? U need 2 store ur fw on something.. Indeed, the floppy




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users