Jump to content


Photo

To All With Nforce4 Chipset, Read This!


  • Please log in to reply
43 replies to this topic

#1 Cappadonna

Cappadonna

    X-S Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • Pip
  • 76 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 17 May 2006 - 11:45 PM

First I have to give proper thanks to all of the people in different forums for their help. You know who you are. Ok here's the deal. If you are having trouble booting xp with the 360 connected here is what you do. You need to uninstall the Nvidia IDE drivers and just use the generic drivers that come with xp. So simple huh. biggrin.gif If you know how to flash the firmware then you should know how to do this so don't ask. One note though. The only way xp will recognize the drive is to turn pc off, turn 360 on then power up PC. I hope this helps all of you NF4 users out there having problems. I know it did me. biggrin.gif

#2 cliffy88

cliffy88

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 252 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 18 May 2006 - 12:07 AM

I'm on a Raid setup though...if I unstill them wont it kill my raid setup then I'd be screwed!

#3 The Cisco Kid

The Cisco Kid

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 50 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 18 May 2006 - 12:46 AM

So simple I wish I would of thought of it. I"ll try it when I get home for work..

QUOTE(Cappadonna @ May 17 2006, 05:52 PM) View Post

First I have to give proper thanks to all of the people in different forums for their help. You know who you are. Ok here's the deal. If you are having trouble booting xp with the 360 connected here is what you do. You need to uninstall the Nvidia IDE drivers and just use the generic drivers that come with xp. So simple huh. biggrin.gif If you know how to flash the firmware then you should know how to do this so don't ask. One note though. The only way xp will recognize the drive is to turn pc off, turn 360 on then power up PC. I hope this helps all of you NF4 users out there having problems. I know it did me. biggrin.gif



#4 piggymouth

piggymouth

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 233 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Interests:Computer Gaming<br />Technology News<br /><br />Xbox/xbox 360 Games<br />PS2/3 Games<br /><br />Modding Consoles
  • Xbox Version:v1.3
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 18 May 2006 - 01:31 AM

QUOTE(cliffy88 @ May 17 2006, 07:14 PM) View Post

I'm on a Raid setup though...if I unstill them wont it kill my raid setup then I'd be screwed!



That's a good point. Does anyone know the answer..?

#5 cliffy88

cliffy88

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 252 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 18 May 2006 - 02:10 AM

Well I uninstalled them drivers, and they keep coming back. So I went to device manager and installed the standard ms drivers over the nvidia. Well my computer wouldn't boot, but last known good configuartion option got it botting again. Anyone know of a way to save my stuff. I haven't been able to make a proper back up and it's killing me.

#6 O_oTheGameo_O

O_oTheGameo_O

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 209 posts
  • Interests:I don't like you, you don't like me... so there we go
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 18 May 2006 - 02:15 AM

make another partition or move all stuf to other HD..

check how to move crap to other hd using DOS sleep.gif

#7 deakphreak

deakphreak

    Ting

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,432 posts
  • Location:Utah
  • Xbox Version:v1.3
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 18 May 2006 - 02:15 AM

THANK YOU, worked perfectly

#8 cliffy88

cliffy88

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 252 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 18 May 2006 - 02:27 AM

Well I'm about to install windows on another hard drive...hopefully this will work out! The only problem is I have a 500 GB raid setup. And there is no way to copy all the crap over....

#9 jymboche

jymboche

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 32 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 18 May 2006 - 04:13 AM

ill start off by admitting im an idiot, but now my question/problem...
xp freezes for me as well when hooking up/powering on the dvd-drive, but i dont believe i have an nvidia chipset, especially reguarding ide devices. I have an nvidia agp graphics card tho, if that has anything to do with it.

#10 bigjimmy

bigjimmy

    X-S Expert

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPip
  • 657 posts
  • Location:Parkes, NSW, Australia
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 18 May 2006 - 04:22 AM

Sweet i wont have to go buy a sata card now! i got told thenoyl sata chipset that would work ith the dvd drive was silicon images or something. Yay ill have to try it when i get home.

#11 cliffy88

cliffy88

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 252 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 18 May 2006 - 04:51 AM

What about use with Raid setups...I can't loose everything! Anyone got any ideas?

#12 Icecreamz

Icecreamz

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 18 May 2006 - 03:33 PM

Hi all smile.gif


I have a bug when i try to dump my firm.

Motherboard is Asus A8N-SLI Prenium (NF4 chipset)

Drive is Samsung TS-H943 firm 25ms (new firm)

The drive is recognize on bios and mktflash.

IPB Image

IPB Image


The mktflash detect but not reply after , i wait 10 min but do nothing

We can see on first pict TS-943 is detected by the bios on first SATA Master but on mktflash is detected on third fourth device... huh.gif

I go to system info to see SATA NF4 and i edit the patched version of mtkflashNF4 with winhex for see if value VID> < DID> <primary port addr> <,secondary port addr> <text descriptor of VID & DID> correspond to my motherboard but all it's ok.

I try to disconnect all my drive; disable sata channel 1and2 or3 and4; change TS-H943 to other sata port 1,2,3,4; swap with maxtor sata dd.

I disable raid controller.

I try method with livecd slax but not work.


Could try to help me plz.

Thx

Sorry for my bad english,i try to improve myself biggrin.gif


#13 Da Mafia

Da Mafia

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 77 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.5
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 18 May 2006 - 04:04 PM

QUOTE(Icecreamz @ May 18 2006, 03:40 PM) View Post

Hi all smile.gif
I have a bug when i try to dump my firm.

Motherboard is Asus A8N-SLI Prenium (NF4 chipset)

Drive is Samsung TS-H943 firm 25ms (new firm)

The drive is recognize on bios and mktflash.

IPB Image

IPB Image
The mktflash detect but not reply after , i wait 10 min but do nothing

We can see on first pict TS-943 is detected by the bios on first SATA Master but on mktflash is detected on third fourth device... huh.gif

I go to system info to see SATA NF4 and i edit the patched version of mtkflashNF4 with winhex for see if value VID> < DID> <primary port addr> <,secondary port addr> <text descriptor of VID & DID> correspond to my motherboard but all it's ok.

I try to disconnect all my drive; disable sata channel 1and2 or3 and4; change TS-H943 to other sata port 1,2,3,4; swap with maxtor sata dd.

I disable raid controller.

I try method with livecd slax but not work.
Could try to help me plz.

Thx

Sorry for my bad english,i try to improve myself biggrin.gif


Thats what happens with my drive also but i'm using the Hitatchi

#14 Icecreamz

Icecreamz

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 18 May 2006 - 05:04 PM

hi


u use nf4 chipset or other ?


thx

#15 postaldude25

postaldude25

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 60 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 18 May 2006 - 05:38 PM

hi there one question.

Does it work to us a DFI Ultra lanparty motherbord?

is all the things i have to do is to uninstal the nf4 driver and intall MS original and it should work to do stuff with the DVD drive.

i have read somwhere that it only works with a few sata motherbords so that is why i am asking unsure.gif




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users