• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 mrogers

mrogers

X-S Senior Member

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 195 posts
  • Interests:Computers, web design. Linux. Piano. Projects, projects, projects...like modding my Xbox!
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:none

Posted 31 May 2006 - 02:21 PM

Now that I've had some experience modding my Xbox I want to try a slightly more ambitious project, and I wanted to bounce some ideas off of the experts here to see what you think and to ask a few questions.

A friend gave me a 1.6 Xbox with a busted mobo, and I'm thinking about using the case to do a slim box for my 1.1 Xbox. I rarely use the DVD drive, and my living room is too large to reach the controller wires across so I use wireless controllers. So, I'm thinking I can easily do away with the DVD drive and external ports. Here come my questions:

1. Can I use the power supply in the 1.6 case with my 1.1 mobo? I've read varying reports.

2. I would still like to have the capability of using the DVD drive if necessary; I'm considering mounting ports on the back of the case for IDE and power that would allow me to plug it in externally. Do you think this is feasible? Is there a better way?

3. I currently have two Logitech Cordless Precision controllers, but I do not want to use these for this project because their receivers are HUGE (even after removing the memory card readers) and I don't like the feel quite as much as an S controller. I hear the Pelican (Eclipse II?) models are good wireless controllers that are very similar to the S, and have small receivers that are easily wired inside. Is this true? Any other recommendations?

4. I currently have a relay system to engage/disengage my hardwired DVD dongle when a controller is plugged into port 4. Since my new case wouldn't have any ports to trip such a relay, I think the best solution would be a small switch?