Jump to content


Photo

What Exactly Can You Do With An Xbox Dev Kit?


  • Please log in to reply
28 replies to this topic

#1 bogusbathtub

bogusbathtub

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 105 posts
  • Location:tennessee
  • Interests:programing, modding, gaming, paintballing, and...pimping.
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 05 June 2006 - 05:41 AM

what can you do with an xbox dev kit or debug kit? what are they like on the inside, are they just modified regular xboxes? or are they much better with better ram and graphics?

#2 bogusbathtub

bogusbathtub

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 105 posts
  • Location:tennessee
  • Interests:programing, modding, gaming, paintballing, and...pimping.
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 05 June 2006 - 08:13 PM

does anyone know?

#3 potato10

potato10

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 608 posts
  • Location:in an icecube
  • Interests:modding and blowing up xboxs
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 05 June 2006 - 08:33 PM

i think all they have is a pinheader already installed. thats what i heard

#4 titaniumtwix

titaniumtwix

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 272 posts
  • Location:mo
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 05 June 2006 - 08:53 PM

i think debug has 128 ram

#5 CattyKid

CattyKid

    X-S Messiah

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,618 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Great Continental 48
  • Interests:Everything
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 05 June 2006 - 09:13 PM

QUOTE(titaniumtwix @ Jun 5 2006, 06:00 PM) View Post

i think debug has 128 ram

Yeah, that's pretty much it.
And they have the XDK.

#6 keith1212

keith1212

    X-S Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • Pip
  • 114 posts
  • Location:illinois
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 05 June 2006 - 10:06 PM

xbox development kit is for making programs a.k.a dashboards apps and emu which are .xbe files (xbox executable) nuff said

#7 blame canada

blame canada

    X-S Hacker

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,356 posts
  • Location:Good ol' Chicago
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 05 June 2006 - 10:13 PM

im in shock that a mod hasnt seen your sig dude huh.gif

#8 killanarmstrong

killanarmstrong

    X-S X-perience

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPip
  • 435 posts
  • Location:kenosha ,wi ,USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 05 June 2006 - 10:16 PM

reported his sig

#9 d00msday_jesus

d00msday_jesus

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 639 posts

Posted 05 June 2006 - 10:19 PM

hahah that's rediculous.


but um...i'm pretty sure the dev kits can't play games.

#10 Pikkon

Pikkon

    X-S Expert

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPip
  • 675 posts
  • Location:Florida
  • Interests:女の子-音楽-ゲーム
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 05 June 2006 - 11:09 PM

Well this should be in the development section.But to answer your question dev kit and debug kits are alot dirrerent than a retail.They came with 128ram,pinheader.Also the hardware on the motherboard is different.The Nvidia chip is different,the onbaord bios is already write enabled.And dev kits are used for the development of xbox games,there are Serial Kd and Scsi ports on the back of DVT4(dev kits)For using kernal debuging and using the dvd emu card.Debug kits are for finding bugs in a game,playing beta games and reviewing games,but a dev kit can do the same plus more.I used to own both of them.But who ever said a dev kit cant play is wrong,they can do everything a retail can do plus and hell of alot more.I have a couple of pics of both dev kit and debug kit motherboards and more if anyone wants to see.

Edited by Pikkon, 05 June 2006 - 11:13 PM.


#11 Dano2k0

Dano2k0

    The Cooling King

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,457 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 05 June 2006 - 11:09 PM

QUOTE(titaniumtwix @ Jun 5 2006, 09:00 PM) View Post

i think debug has 128 ram


Indeed they do, the proper XDK has 128MB RAM, also debug kits have 128MB RAM, some of the early prototype debug type boxes only have 64MB, most of which were for live testing i belive.

QUOTE(keith1212 @ Jun 5 2006, 10:13 PM) View Post

xbox development kit is for making programs a.k.a dashboards apps and emu which are .xbe files (xbox executable) nuff said


So basically you don't really know?

Yes however you can use them for making various utilities etc, but mainly they are used for gaming, debug boxes are used for debugging games.

QUOTE(d00msday_jesus @ Jun 5 2006, 10:26 PM) View Post

hahah that's rediculous.
but um...i'm pretty sure the dev kits can't play games.


Thats kind of true but not. A standard debug / XDK can't play original (retail) games, however they can play all backups without any modifications as they are not signed for retail. However it is possible to play retail games by installing a patch on the debug / XDK system.


------------------------------------------------------

Ok so for anyone who hasn't already bothered to read that, an XDK can be used for creating / compiling games / utilities ie programs and dashboards etc. It can also be used for debugging games aswell, they also usually come with a controller tester, and you can get alot of different applications for testing and modifying games and hardware. The real XDK has extra ports on the back of the box, it usually stands about an inch taller than a standard xbox and is crystal. The extra ports are SCSI, USB, SERIAL. You use the SCSI which connects to a raptor card in a PC which has its own HDD connected to it, this allows you to put games on the HDD and play them on the XDK without using a disk, this is so developers can test games or whatever without having to burn a disk after each modification made. the USB port is used for reflashing the BIOS but isn't accessable unless you remove the cover. the SERIAL port is used for debugging and is connected to the PC also. This comes as standard with 128MB RAM and runs the XDK launcher software as its primary dashboard. These units also don't use the retail X3 MPCX chipset, they use the X2 MCPX chipset which is very rare and hard to find as its only found in development / prototype xboxs.

Debug boxes usually come in a green colour (abit like the halo edition boxes, but most of these do say debug kit on the front) Although mine doesn't say debug kit on the front of it, its the real deal so don't worry. Some didn't say this when they came out. I belive they were the earlier versions. These are used for developing games etc also, but are really made for debugging games. These also won't play retail games but will play backups, however you can get the same patch for the debug kit boxes and play retail on these also. This also runs the XDK launcher software as its primary dashboard. This one also has the non-retail X2 MCPX chipset.

--------------

Ok just so the guys who don't know what i'm talking about i'll post a couple of pics of some of my gear for you to see as followed so enjoy beerchug.gif

IPB Image

IPB Image

IPB Image

IPB Image

IPB Image

IPB Image

biggrin.gif

EDIT: haha pikkon you beat me to replying tongue.gif

Edited by Dano2k0, 05 June 2006 - 11:12 PM.


#12 Pikkon

Pikkon

    X-S Expert

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPip
  • 675 posts
  • Location:Florida
  • Interests:女の子-音楽-ゲーム
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 06 June 2006 - 12:57 AM

QUOTE(Dano2k0 @ Jun 5 2006, 05:16 PM) View Post

EDIT: haha pikkon you beat me to replying tongue.gif



Oh I guess I did,I have some pics of the insides of dev and debug kits.
Here are the debug kit pics.
IPB Image
IPB Image
IPB Image
And here are some dev kit pics.
IPB Image
IPB Image







#13 Hashmire420

Hashmire420

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 130 posts
  • Location:Illinois
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 06 June 2006 - 01:27 AM

I heard something about alpha xboxs, anyone have any of those?

#14 Pikkon

Pikkon

    X-S Expert

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPip
  • 675 posts
  • Location:Florida
  • Interests:女の子-音楽-ゲーム
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 06 June 2006 - 02:39 AM

QUOTE(Hashmire420 @ Jun 5 2006, 07:34 PM) View Post

I heard something about alpha xboxs, anyone have any of those?



Well you can check out oldengineer's web site.Just look in the xbox section.
http://www.oldengineer.com/

Also most of the alpha kits were destroyed,mainly the hdd.Most of the ones found today
do not include the original hdd.There are recovery disc for the alpha kits but they are
almost impossible to find.But you can use the alpha kit as a regular PC and install a OS of choice.

Edited by Pikkon, 06 June 2006 - 02:40 AM.


#15 Dano2k0

Dano2k0

    The Cooling King

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,457 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 06 June 2006 - 07:50 PM

Yeah as Pikkon said, most of the Alpha kits were destroyed, they were the original 'prototype' xboxs. I don't own one, but would love to get my hands on one, but they are very rare, i remember one time they had alot go through on eBay all without HDD's which made them kind of useless, still an interesting bit of kit all the same.

Anyway Pikkon thanks for the PM also beerchug.gif




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users