Jump to content


Photo

Any Way To Get An Xbox Game On To Hdd


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 crap box

crap box

    X-S Senior Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPip
  • 183 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 13 June 2006 - 03:13 AM

I need to backup a game that I own but I cant because theres no room on my xbox hdd. Is there any other way to get the games contents onto my PC so i can burn it to a DVD without FTP? thanks.

#2 Wolves

Wolves

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 237 posts
  • Location:Canada
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 13 June 2006 - 03:27 AM

You could put the game in and FTP the D drive.

#3 crap box

crap box

    X-S Senior Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPip
  • 183 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 13 June 2006 - 03:55 AM

I was doing that earlier but it took like 2 hours and it wasnt even close to done. I guess theres no way other than the slow way.

#4 noselessmonk

noselessmonk

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 322 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 13 June 2006 - 01:51 PM

Wow, it shouldn't take anywhere near that long...even with an old 10mbit ethernet card a 4GB game would only take an hour or so(4000Mb/ 60secs = 66.666666666666666666666666666667 minutes if the transfer speed is average of 1mb/sec)

It should only take like 6 or 7 minutes on a 100mbit ethernet connection. It differs depending on if there are a mostly large files or a lot of small files(lot's of small files take longer to transfer than the same combined size of larger files)

#5 miketaylor

miketaylor

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 250 posts
  • Location:Yorkshire, UK
  • Interests:Xbox repairer (as a hobby only)
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:none

Posted 13 June 2006 - 03:09 PM

Also if your drive or disk is even a bit wonked, then it cantransfer the same file and keep doing it till its huge! I had this problem with a poor disk, and i just left my coputer ftping from d: and when i came back my 80GB hard disk was full, so im like wtf, and turns out one of the files hadnt read properly and was like 50gb big, it had just kept on going for some reason (thats with UnleashX btw)
MiKe

#6 xess

xess

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 276 posts
  • Location:Scotland
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 13 June 2006 - 04:54 PM

I use avalaunch and qwix for making back ups, there is a boost mode and is pretty fast.

#7 crap box

crap box

    X-S Senior Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPip
  • 183 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 13 June 2006 - 07:04 PM

Ill look into the boost thing. But whoever said it should be 1 mb/s... well its actually abour 5 kb/s.So fuck you for thinking its my fault for some reason.

#8 sjlee

sjlee

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 208 posts
  • Location:WI
  • Interests:Motorcycles, sports, PCs, video games (N64, PS1, Dreamcast, Xbox, Xbox 360)
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 13 June 2006 - 07:12 PM

Just an FYI... I have tried FTPing a game directly from disc to my PC and have never been able to get it to work properly. It might have been because of the media I was using (DVD+R DL... can't find DVD-R DL at any stores around here).

So, I just did the next best thing... bought a used Xbox, then installed a modchip and bigger HD. smile.gif

#9 chorizo1

chorizo1

    X-S Seraphic

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,883 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:TEXAS
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 13 June 2006 - 07:19 PM

QUOTE(crap box @ Jun 13 2006, 01:11 PM) View Post

.So fuck you for thinking its my fault for some reason.



No need to be an A$$hole, he was actually giving you good info.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users