4 replies to this topic

#1 rockrerun

rockrerun

X-S Senior Member

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 168 posts

Posted 17 June 2006 - 04:35 AM

I've had my xbox set up with my home network for a long time and I've never had a problem with it. I have some knowledge of networking but I am now experiencing some difficulties. The other day, I left my xbox on while I was at work so that I could load a bunch of music and videos for use in XBMC. When I returned from work, my xbox was off (no drives or fans running) but the front LED was on and red. Because I have my Xerc wired to the front leds (red side) I just assumed that the Xerc was acting up and I restarted the xbox and everything worked just fine. I didn't try using FTP again until today, and it looks like the NIC is dead. I've tried numerous setting and I have set it up as P2P and through my router with no success. I also get no status lights on the NIC at all. Has anybody had a problem like this? Does anyone have some troubleshooting tips so that I can verify that it is indeed the NIC and not something else? If it is dead, what are my options? Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

#2 keith1212

keith1212

X-S Member

• XS-BANNED
  • Pip
  • 114 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 17 June 2006 - 02:36 PM

Just a few guesses that may work...

* try a different cable
* try rebooting your router
* make sure u are set to a dhcp connection in the dash you are using
* try a different dash?
* may also be a router problem if its a cheapy

I have my xbox hooked up thru my router too. Its a belkin. I have it hooked up like this

Internet modem>------Router>-------xbox

Not the best scematic if you call it that but u can see what i got going on.

Maybe also you can log into your router via your pc web browser by tyoing in its ip. Like mine is 192.168.2.1
I would type that in to my web browser and hit enter and it would log in to my router. Check to make sure all settings are kosher.