chaozz666

X-S Enthusiast

• Members
  • 19 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 18 June 2006 - 12:55 PM

Hi,

I am fairly new to the xbox scene, as I just bought an xbox 2 weeks ago. It was already modded, which raises some questions:

1. How do I turn the modchip off?
When I turn my xbox on, it displays a blue xbox logo, and the line "XECUTER2", which is the modchip used right? I've opened my box up to see if I could find it, but with no luck. I've read many installation tuts on the XECUTER2 chip, but I cannot find a chip like that in my box. I also don't have any external switches, that link to a modchip.

Here's a pick of how my box looks inside (xbox version is 1.0):

IPB Image

If I ever want to try xbox Live out, I need it to be disabled. So how do I do that?

2. How do I determine which software versions I have??
I have EvoX including XBMC, and a bunch of emulators and read about new releases all the time. But how do I know which versions I have?

Some of my specs that might be useful: xbox version 1.0, 40gb seagate, xecuter2, evox (need more info? let me know!)
Hope you guys can help me.

Edited by chaozz666, 18 June 2006 - 12:56 PM.

#2 Swipe

Swipe

X-S Young Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 41 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.4

Posted 18 June 2006 - 01:27 PM

It's possible you were duped as I was. I paid for my box to be chipped through a friend expecting a chip when all I actually received for my money was a TSOP flash which runs the xecutor2 bios rather than an Xecutor2 chip. It's not really a big deal for me as I don't plan to use the Xbox-live service but I'm a bit disgruntled I didn't actually get what I paid for. The TSOP flash should have cost at least half what I paid.

What does XBMC hardware system settings report back for the modchip? Mine reports as a winbond. I querried this further using bioscheck and it came back with TSOP flashed winbond.

Edited by Swipe, 18 June 2006 - 01:32 PM.

#3 chaozz666

chaozz666

X-S Enthusiast