Jump to content


Photo

Formatting Hdd Without Modding


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 theblujuggalo

theblujuggalo

    X-S Senior Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPip
  • 256 posts
  • Location:Saucier, MS
  • Interests:Technology mainly but mostly girls
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 19 June 2006 - 07:53 AM

Okay recently I called M$ and found out a way to format the hard drive

In order to do it, you have to go to Settings and then System Info

nows the hard part
every xbox has a unique HDD reformat code

so what you have to do is contact Xbox Support and ask for it, theyll ask why and youll have to go from there

heres a vid to prove that its real
MY CODE IS Y, Y, X, UP, X


Edited by theblujuggalo, 19 June 2006 - 08:12 AM.


#2 miketaylor

miketaylor

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 250 posts
  • Location:Yorkshire, UK
  • Interests:Xbox repairer (as a hobby only)
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:none

Posted 19 June 2006 - 08:04 PM

I don't understand, you just phoned them up and asked on the off chance what the hdd format code was? Sounds a bit dodgy, also, you never tryed it in the video, which is in the dark... I've never heard of this, and can't find anything else about it on the web... Maybe i didn't look very hard, but if it were true don't you think people would say elsewhere? Are you sure this doesn't just format the E partition? I think you should run UnleashX, create a text file on C: some where, then go back to the M$ dash and try your trick and then run UnleashX again, see if its still there... there's no way you can fully format a whole disk and keep ANY files!
MiKe

#3 deadparrot

deadparrot

    X-S Messiah

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,300 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 19 June 2006 - 08:21 PM

This is not new by anymeans. All it does is erase the cache and gamesaves. Basically anything in E:\.

#4 Bubbalynch

Bubbalynch

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 382 posts
  • Location:United States
  • Interests:Gaming Consoles, PC's, Electronics, Music, Movies, Sports ect.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 19 June 2006 - 08:28 PM

Interesting! smile.gif

#5 miketaylor

miketaylor

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 250 posts
  • Location:Yorkshire, UK
  • Interests:Xbox repairer (as a hobby only)
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:none

Posted 19 June 2006 - 08:32 PM

I didn't think that it would/or could format the hard drive

#6 Alex548

Alex548

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,412 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Your mom's house
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 19 June 2006 - 08:56 PM

That's been around since the console was released.
They give you a button combination to press that's based on your xbox serial number.
It's only to clear your cache & gamesaves (basically a system refresh).

Funny how you "found" a new way to do this 5 years after people have known about it. blink.gif

EDIT: Here's a link to the same info from the llamma's website (last updated in 2003): blink.gif

Xbox software refresh

Edited by Alex548, 19 June 2006 - 09:00 PM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users