Jump to content


Photo

Command M Conquer 3 For 360? Rumour?


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 j666*

j666*

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 200 posts
  • Location:Scotland Aberdeen
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 20 June 2006 - 11:31 PM

article over at teamxbox saying the developers r using the lord of the rings RTS as a testbed to see how command n conquer 3 would do on 360?

this would be great on live

#2 lostboyz

lostboyz

    Mr. Knowitall

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,188 posts
  • Location:The D
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 20 June 2006 - 11:38 PM

RTS without mouse and keyboard is pointless in my mind

#3 Jason9875

Jason9875

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 176 posts

Posted 20 June 2006 - 11:42 PM

QUOTE(j666* @ Jun 20 2006, 03:38 PM) View Post

this would be great on live


No it wouldn't.

Ever play the n64 C&C?

#4 j666*

j666*

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 200 posts
  • Location:Scotland Aberdeen
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 20 June 2006 - 11:43 PM

am sure its upto the developer if a mouse can be used ?maybe wrong though

#5 mikedavis2838

mikedavis2838

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 288 posts

Posted 21 June 2006 - 01:19 AM

http://previews.team...dleEarth-II/p1/

Well for the lord of the rings they are testing a new interface for use with the 360 controller.

"The control scheme focuses on a cross shaped reticule that remains in the center of the screen. The left stick will move the camera about the environment, while the right stick controls zoom. The key is that the reticule is context sensitive, meaning that as it highlights a certain object, the commands inherent to it will only be accessible. Highlighting an army for example would bring up move commands, attack orders, etc. The A button is used as the selection tool to select individual units, or you can simply hold down the button and highlight multiple units in a selection set. The right trigger acts as the action menu once objects are selected, in order to carry out commands. The left trigger acts as a “select all” of sorts. The right bumper button can be used to sort units by type and the left bumper is used to add/subtract individual units from the selection set. The X button jumps the camera back to a selected unit if you’ve moved about the map, and the Y button is used to activate a number of hotkey functions. Despite having only a few minutes in-hand, the control scheme was surprisingly easy to work. The real test will be seeing if this holds true throughout the long haul. "

So i doubt mouse and keyboard support.

1up put this quote up from steve glicker "I know for a fact that they're doing this because these are the same guys, same team doing Command & Conquer 3. And they're definitely going to release it for the 360."

http://1up.com/do/ne...ory?cId=3151610

#6 Kraptreon

Kraptreon

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 143 posts
  • Location:CANADA!
  • Interests:they smell like cheese but they're not they're more like frogs
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 21 June 2006 - 05:39 AM

It just wouldn't work but i bet the Wiimote would work ok

#7 cerealkillajme

cerealkillajme

    X-S Messiah

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,241 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Den
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 21 June 2006 - 01:23 PM

Wow, I can't wait for some RTS's on the 360. LOTH looks really good and I like that idea of how the control will be. Even better to hear C&C might be on the 360. That would make sense if they are making LOTH and C&C for them to put them on the 360 (or both platforms).

Good news, good news.

#8 krims0n

krims0n

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 350 posts
  • Location:Winnipeg, MB
  • Interests:Gaming, Poker, DJ'ing, Programmer
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 21 June 2006 - 02:49 PM

QUOTE(lostboyz @ Jun 20 2006, 05:45 PM) View Post

RTS without mouse and keyboard is pointless in my mind

Yeah. I'm sure people thought the same about major FPS's being developed for a console.

#9 lostboyz

lostboyz

    Mr. Knowitall

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,188 posts
  • Location:The D
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 21 June 2006 - 03:08 PM

no mainly because playing most RTS games you have about 20 hot keys it dosent really make sense. All your going to do is dumb it down.

#10 mathias

mathias

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 334 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 21 June 2006 - 03:58 PM

but even a dumbed down version might work....and labeling groups might be easy highlight a group and hit a shoulder button to # them or something....

#11 twistedsymphony

twistedsymphony

    arrogant beyond belief

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,466 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Almost Canada http://solid-orange.com
  • Interests:Consoles, Computers, Cars, Arcades, Home Theater, and the modding of anything that moves.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 21 June 2006 - 05:23 PM

RTSs have been clumsy on consoles in the past, not dumbed down just difficult to play.

I loved the old C&C games on the PC... (the first one and Tiberian Sun were awesome). Over Xbox Live it could be really fun.

Though we might not have mouse support with MAY get keyboard support (like in FFXI) which would be cool.

I'll hold my controller comments until I get a demo or a rental in my hands to actually play.

#12 krims0n

krims0n

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 350 posts
  • Location:Winnipeg, MB
  • Interests:Gaming, Poker, DJ'ing, Programmer
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 21 June 2006 - 06:34 PM

QUOTE(lostboyz @ Jun 21 2006, 09:15 AM) View Post

no mainly because playing most RTS games you have about 20 hot keys it dosent really make sense. All your going to do is dumb it down.

I think the point still remains. If you've never used a gamepad to play a FPS then using two little analog sticks seems ridiculous. If you're used to switching between 11 weapons at the touch of a button a la Unreal Tournament, then scrolling through a menu to pick your weapon is ridiculous. The first attempts at a FPS on consoles were far from perfect, but from there you see evolution in the way the controls work, and now we are seeing console exclusive FPS games being produced. Some attempts to get an RTS to work on a console may not be perfect, but at least it may help pave the way for something that works. You can't exactly complain about a new genre of game becoming available to the console gaming world.

#13 tNCecil

tNCecil

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 503 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 22 June 2006 - 12:36 PM

I dont see why it couldnt work. I loved Command and Conquer back on the PS1, playing linked games in my dining room was the shit back then heh. Im sure it can be pulled off

#14 lostboyz

lostboyz

    Mr. Knowitall

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,188 posts
  • Location:The D
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 22 June 2006 - 02:01 PM

To a point I agree it can be done and most likely will, but sometimes its good to dumb things down a bit, it really creates two different genres that separate PCs and Consoles. If you remember the original rainbow six on PC it had at least 15 usuable buttons in play not counting your movement and firing, just to control your 4 other teams. And it made a nice transition to xbox but it is by no means the scope it was on PC, but definately a lot of fun. I just think I cant see the transition RTS can make to console to make it just as fun on PC. But Im excited to see

#15 decapkris

decapkris

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 135 posts

Posted 22 June 2006 - 02:29 PM

I wish they would allow support for keyboard and mouse. I mean how hard can it be? To solve unbalanced issues in multiplayer they could make it that only controller players can play against other controller players and vice versa.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users