Jump to content


Photo

Is It Possible To Remove The Dvd Drive And Replace It With Another Hdd


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Leglez

Leglez

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 904 posts
  • Location:Paola/Kansas
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 01 July 2006 - 10:50 PM

I know you can do the Dual HDD mod but I was wondering can you remove the dvd drive and put a HDD with a switch in its place? I know longer play xbox games (The ones I do I have on the HDD) and so I don't have a need for the dvd drive but I need another HDD.

#2 xboxgamer733

xboxgamer733

    X-S Moderating Team

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,803 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Moscow
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 01 July 2006 - 11:01 PM

Yes, if your Xbox has a modchip installed or its TSOP flashed with an appropriate BIOS, you can replace the DVD drive with a hard drive.

If your Xbox is softmodded, though, the DVD drive needs to be installed.

#3 pablot

pablot

    X-S Freak

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,275 posts
  • Location:Sweden
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:none

Posted 01 July 2006 - 11:32 PM

QUOTE(xboxgamer733 @ Jul 2 2006, 12:08 AM) View Post

Yes, if your Xbox has a modchip installed or its TSOP flashed with an appropriate BIOS, you can replace the DVD drive with a hard drive.

If your Xbox is softmodded, though, the DVD drive needs to be installed.


really? Have you tried it? AFAIK you can't do it. If it is possible I would be VERY intrested in doing it.

/pablot

#4 xboxgamer733

xboxgamer733

    X-S Moderating Team

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,803 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Moscow
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 01 July 2006 - 11:45 PM

Yes, I have tried it.

The X2 5035 BIOS, for one, will let you boot your Xbox without a DVD drive, so a hard drive (with a switch, of course) could be installed in its place.

Edited by xboxgamer733, 01 July 2006 - 11:46 PM.


#5 bulldozer

bulldozer

    X-S Senior Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPip
  • 151 posts
  • Location:Chicago, IL
  • Xbox Version:v1.5
  • 360 version:none

Posted 02 July 2006 - 12:03 AM

don't do it, you might regret when you need to troubleshoot something like i am doing now biggrin.gif

#6 Leglez

Leglez

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 904 posts
  • Location:Paola/Kansas
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 02 July 2006 - 12:47 AM

Well if I have to trouble shoot all I have to do is lift, lift, unplug, unplug, plug in, plug in, turn on, repeat in reverse order

biggrin.gif

#7 miketaylor

miketaylor

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 250 posts
  • Location:Yorkshire, UK
  • Interests:Xbox repairer (as a hobby only)
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:none

Posted 02 July 2006 - 08:51 AM

Why would you want to remove the dvd drive to put another hard drive in there, if you need a switch, when you can use a moded IDE cable, and squeeze two hard drives AND the original dvd drive in an xbox? (sure, it requires a little hacking,but you retain the dvd drive, and don't need a hard mod.)that works on any xbox, you can have a stock hd with M$ dash, and a large softmodded hd with UnleashX and switch between them. So, in a way you can do it with only a half soft mod!
MiKe




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users