Jump to content


Photo

Tutorial : Cathode Installation


  • Please log in to reply
66 replies to this topic

#31 grim_d

grim_d

    The Grim Gopher

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,483 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scotland
  • Interests:enjoying life.
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 03 January 2007 - 01:14 AM

QUOTE(XxError404xX @ Jan 2 2007, 09:16 PM) View Post

Thanx... I found some on ebay but they only have 12'...
Could I buy it and save the 12' and just plug in some 4', or do the 4' and 12' plugs differ??


yeah all the plugs should be the same.

#32 XxError404xX

XxError404xX

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 52 posts
  • Location:NC
  • Interests:My E-mail is XxError404xX@nc.rr.com
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 03 January 2007 - 04:30 AM

One last question... sorry

But does the way you have it setup right there let you turn the
cathodes on and off on the outside of the box??

Edited by XxError404xX, 03 January 2007 - 04:32 AM.


#33 grim_d

grim_d

    The Grim Gopher

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,483 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scotland
  • Interests:enjoying life.
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 03 January 2007 - 05:26 AM

yes it did, i use led's now though.

#34 BigAl2828

BigAl2828

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts
  • Location:Ohio
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 15 January 2007 - 06:24 AM

in the setup you had how do you turn them on/off?

Edited by BigAl2828, 15 January 2007 - 06:25 AM.


#35 sicknasty413

sicknasty413

    X-S Messiah

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,590 posts
  • Location:Central VA
  • Interests:Modding... video games... eating... sleeping... computers... and those things we call women.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 15 January 2007 - 06:48 AM

^ you don't. When the 360 turns on, they turn on. You can install a switch though..

#36 BigAl2828

BigAl2828

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts
  • Location:Ohio
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 15 January 2007 - 06:54 AM

thats what i thought but i wasnt sure thanks

#37 SecurityGuy

SecurityGuy

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 27 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 22 January 2007 - 10:23 PM

QUOTE(grim_d @ Jan 2 2007, 11:33 PM) View Post

yes it did, i use led's now though.



Is there a reason why other than the colors? The reason I asked is that these look easier to install than LED's.

#38 Nemestrokus

Nemestrokus

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 23 January 2007 - 04:52 AM

Sorry if this is a noob question, but what is the thing that I circled in red?

IPB Image

#39 TruBlue89

TruBlue89

    X-S Young Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • Pip
  • 40 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 23 January 2007 - 11:54 AM

Power inverter

#40 grim_d

grim_d

    The Grim Gopher

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,483 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scotland
  • Interests:enjoying life.
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 23 January 2007 - 12:05 PM

QUOTE(SecurityGuy @ Jan 22 2007, 09:30 PM) View Post

Is there a reason why other than the colors? The reason I asked is that these look easier to install than LED's.


leds are directional while cathodes give an even glow, i prefer leds due to the fact you can packs loads into every nook and cranny.

The colours are also better, red leds are red while red caths are orange/pink (usually)

however yes cathodes are much easier to install if your new to the whole thing


QUOTE(Nemestrokus @ Jan 23 2007, 03:59 AM) View Post

Sorry if this is a noob question, but what is the thing that I circled in red?



its a power inverter, it supplies power to the cathodes and is required in order for them to work, any kit should come with one.


#41 aaroe

aaroe

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 44 posts
  • Location:Århus, Denmark
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 23 January 2007 - 03:24 PM

Hi...

Just followed this tut, and installed 2 cathodes, with a switch so I can turn them on/off...
- But, when I turn them on or I boot the 360 with them on, the two fans in the back spins up like hell!!! The RPM's is constantly falling and after about 30 sec they are at normal speed...

Anyone who had the same experience ?

My theory is, that when the cathodes are turned on, the PSU has to deliver more power, which is notified by some control unit, that thinks its the CPU or GPU who takes the power, and then gives the fans more juice to make them cool down the CPU/GPU... But I don't know, just a thought...

Any ideas ?

#42 Nemestrokus

Nemestrokus

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 24 January 2007 - 12:37 AM

QUOTE(grim_d @ Jan 23 2007, 03:12 AM) View Post

its a power inverter, it supplies power to the cathodes and is required in order for them to work, any kit should come with one.


Thanks.

#43 DrPepperFan15

DrPepperFan15

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 161 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 16 February 2007 - 04:22 AM

How do you get the plastic ends off of the cathodes? I was thinking about just taking a knife or something and just sawing/drilling down the ends to make it fit on the top without having to cut wires?

P.S. I have the EnergYzer Y splitter so I'm not cutting into the power supply happy.gif

#44 belke

belke

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 481 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 16 February 2007 - 06:42 AM

i took pliers and squezed the square ends until they cracked and then cracked the rest of the plastic off, just dont break the cathode

#45 DrPepperFan15

DrPepperFan15

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 161 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 16 February 2007 - 07:13 AM

Thanks, I cant edit my post above but I recently figured that a dremel would work if youre careful enough not to drill down too far. And with a dremel you could also give the plastic a smooh surface if you have some patience so it doesnt scratch the casing (xcm clear) or anything...

I've tried some things that was just a bit too extreme since I have no tools in my house unfortunately and a steak knife and razor didnt get me far, just about 1mm down into the plastic lol

I would suppose that way with the pliars seems a little risky but thanks though

Edited by DrPepperFan15, 16 February 2007 - 07:16 AM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users