Jump to content


Photo

Smartxx Is Driving Me Crazy


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 buttface96

buttface96

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 970 posts
  • Location:Oxnard, CA
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 12 July 2006 - 10:01 PM

Im installing a smartxx V2 with LCD by request, and i have never had a chip that is such a pain in the ass. How can i get rid of the OS, and allow it to flash a bios larger than 256k, im trying to flash a xecuter 5035 on it and it can't be resized lower than 512k. I'm sorry, but the onboard OS on a chip, hs to be the dumbest thing ive ever seen before. Anyway if you can answer my questions that'd be great

#2 bucko

bucko

    Super Moderator

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,997 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 13 July 2006 - 01:45 PM

http://www.smartxx.c.../manuals_02.php

There are lots of quick guides there, an on-board OS is a good thing, especially if you screwed up an EEPROM or your Hard Drive or something.

There is a quickboot feature so once you got the bios flashed it boots straight to the X2 bios.

You should really do some reading before you rant on like hell.

#3 why

why

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 15 July 2006 - 11:57 PM

I found the SmartXX walkthroughs (on their website) were very simple to understand.

And the Web based flashing was amazingly unfrustrating.

The only surprise is that you HAVE to use a 'found' BIOS to format your large HD...etc.


This install/flash was 100 times quicker and easier than the Xecuter I did on my other Xbox.

#4 FallsInc

FallsInc

    X-S Hacker

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,280 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ohio
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:none

Posted 11 August 2006 - 05:37 PM

yeah the smartxx has the best os of any chip i've ever used.

you need to change bank size, and even then, you can just flash the file, and it will change bank mode for you.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users