Jump to content


Photo

Xbox CPU Upgrade To 1 GHz/256 KB Successfully


  • Please log in to reply
177 replies to this topic

#1 trusty

trusty

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 105 posts
  • Location:ShenZhen City of China
  • Interests:XBOX,HDTV,Three guns project...<br /> to chat, my Email : trustyty@hotmail.com &amp; pansy_peng@vip.163.com
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 19 July 2006 - 04:10 AM

I upgrade my XBOX to 1G/256K CPU + 128M RAM ,
The XBMC has a bug to report the correct the 1G CPU frequency, always 733MHZ, but it's correct in XBOX linux ,
below is my post in XBMC development web , I picked it to here ,,,

for more information , please send email to me : pansy_peng@vip.163.com, I will give the link with pictures to you .
================================================================


I upgraded my XBOX's CPU to P3/133FSB/1G/256k , I got some improvement in HDTV rip movies and some games,,

But CPU's frequency information in XBMC is always 733.3x M, not 1G ?? (the same result if switching the BIOS from X2 5035 to IND 5001 VGA bios )

My XBOX configuration : P3/1G/256K ,128M RAM, dual BIOS(TSOP X2-5035 and Super Aladdin live with IND 5001 VGA BIOS), XBMC version :"Feb.20,2006 by tech3 "..

Suggestion: is it possible for XBMC also provide the CPU cache detecting function ?


Posted: Mar. 01 2006,12:14

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ouch.. you will have problems with dvdplayer too.. you need to make a small adjustment to stdafx.cpp.

You need the exact frequency your cpu is running at (or atleast as close as possible) and some way to detect it using just cpu parameters like model stepping....

since it's so uncommon thing to do, i'm not entirly unwilling to add a workaround for your cpu even thou it won't be correct for all cpu's.

<edit> the reason for this is that the XDK uses a fixed frequency for the xbox cpu as it never changes. </edit>.

Edited by elupus on Mar. 01 2006,12:15

==================================================================

Edited by trusty, 19 July 2006 - 04:26 AM.


#2 trusty

trusty

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 105 posts
  • Location:ShenZhen City of China
  • Interests:XBOX,HDTV,Three guns project...<br /> to chat, my Email : trustyty@hotmail.com &amp; pansy_peng@vip.163.com
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 19 July 2006 - 04:23 AM

does anybody know how to post picture here ?

#3 Leglez

Leglez

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 904 posts
  • Location:Paola/Kansas
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 19 July 2006 - 04:30 AM

<img>LINK GOES HERE</img>

replace < > with [ ]

#4 dan_plus_o

dan_plus_o

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 455 posts
  • Location:Canada BC
  • Interests:Computers, modding, xbox, guitar, dirt bikes, drums
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 19 July 2006 - 04:46 AM

You can upload your pictures to Photbucket. Then it will give you the url under the picture.

When uploading to photobucket you should save your images to JPEG, otherwise photobucket may auto shrink you pictures and they will look like crap.

Edited by dan_plus_o, 19 July 2006 - 04:48 AM.


#5 sicknasty413

sicknasty413

    X-S Messiah

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,590 posts
  • Location:Central VA
  • Interests:Modding... video games... eating... sleeping... computers... and those things we call women.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 19 July 2006 - 04:49 AM

if you dont want to make an account, you could always use imageshack.us ... quick and easy.

#6 TheIrishLad

TheIrishLad

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 488 posts
  • Location:Currently USA. (Belfast Originally)
  • Interests:Ebay, Projectors, Economics, Marketing, Entrepreneurial Ventures.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 19 July 2006 - 05:27 AM

The CPU can be upgraded to a 1ghz? Never heard of this before.... huh.gif

#7 trusty

trusty

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 105 posts
  • Location:ShenZhen City of China
  • Interests:XBOX,HDTV,Three guns project...<br /> to chat, my Email : trustyty@hotmail.com &amp; pansy_peng@vip.163.com
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 19 July 2006 - 05:31 AM


Edited by trusty, 19 July 2006 - 05:32 AM.


#8 trusty

trusty

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 105 posts
  • Location:ShenZhen City of China
  • Interests:XBOX,HDTV,Three guns project...<br /> to chat, my Email : trustyty@hotmail.com &amp; pansy_peng@vip.163.com
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 19 July 2006 - 05:51 AM

QUOTE(Leglez @ Jul 19 2006, 04:37 AM) View Post

<img>LINK GOES HERE</img>

replace < > with [ ]


thanks , you mean the function of "insert image", but the photoes are in my HDD and a other chinese web ,
i have no directly link for the pictures,,

QUOTE(TheIrishLad @ Jul 19 2006, 05:34 AM) View Post

The CPU can be upgraded to a 1ghz? Never heard of this before.... huh.gif


hello, did you hear of the DreamX 1.4G, it's the XBOX with 1.4G tulatin CPU ,,

QUOTE(dan_plus_o @ Jul 19 2006, 04:53 AM) View Post

You can upload your pictures to Photbucket. Then it will give you the url under the picture.

When uploading to photobucket you should save your images to JPEG, otherwise photobucket may auto shrink you pictures and they will look like crap.

thanks ,, but "Photbucket" ? what's it ? I don't know ? Could you give me more information ?

#9 kr580

kr580

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 139 posts
  • Location:North Bay, CA
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:none

Posted 19 July 2006 - 06:03 AM

Go to www.imageshack.us and upload you images. Once on the 2nd page copy and paste the 'Thumbnail for forums (1)' here. Repeat for all the pictures you have.

#10 trusty

trusty

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 105 posts
  • Location:ShenZhen City of China
  • Interests:XBOX,HDTV,Three guns project...<br /> to chat, my Email : trustyty@hotmail.com &amp; pansy_peng@vip.163.com
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 19 July 2006 - 07:08 AM

Linux reports the correct CPU information :

http://img134.images...image=1gfg6.jpg

QUOTE(Leglez @ Jul 19 2006, 04:37 AM) View Post

<img>LINK GOES HERE</img>

replace < > with [ ]


I try to put the direct imageshack link, it return "Sorry, dynamic pages in the [IMG] tags are not allowed"..

My first job :

http://img146.images...mimg0717mw1.jpg

http://img89.imagesh...mimg0724qf9.jpg


Edited by trusty, 19 July 2006 - 06:55 AM.


#11 sicknasty413

sicknasty413

    X-S Messiah

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,590 posts
  • Location:Central VA
  • Interests:Modding... video games... eating... sleeping... computers... and those things we call women.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 19 July 2006 - 07:10 AM

Looks pretty cool.. any more info, technical, install, etc?

#12 blame canada

blame canada

    X-S Hacker

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,356 posts
  • Location:Good ol' Chicago
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 19 July 2006 - 07:13 AM

I have to say, it looks legit to me! Mad props dude, mad props pop.gif Oh and in the last pic, what is that chip in the top left corner?

Edited by blame canada, 19 July 2006 - 07:14 AM.


#13 trusty

trusty

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 105 posts
  • Location:ShenZhen City of China
  • Interests:XBOX,HDTV,Three guns project...<br /> to chat, my Email : trustyty@hotmail.com &amp; pansy_peng@vip.163.com
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 19 July 2006 - 07:13 AM

My lastest job , don't use CPU socket , solder the mobile CPU to the motherboard directly to get good reliability ,,,thus the original XBOX CPU heatsink can reuse directly ( before, because of the height of the socket and the BGA-PGA adaptor board , the CPU heatsink need cut off 2mm avoid the touching the HDD bracket)

http://img100.images...helatestcn8.jpg

Edited by trusty, 19 July 2006 - 07:18 AM.


#14 trusty

trusty

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 105 posts
  • Location:ShenZhen City of China
  • Interests:XBOX,HDTV,Three guns project...<br /> to chat, my Email : trustyty@hotmail.com &amp; pansy_peng@vip.163.com
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 19 July 2006 - 07:38 AM

QUOTE(blame canada @ Jul 19 2006, 07:20 AM) View Post

I have to say, it looks legit to me! Mad props dude, mad props pop.gif Oh and in the last pic, what is that chip in the top left corner?

the chip in the top left corner is "74HC14", it's for XBOX output direct VGA: H-Sync and V-sync ,it's mentioned in XBOX linux web, but actually, only 74HC14 is not enough to get the usable VGA sync signal,
because the XBOX internal sync signal's frequency is the double of the VGA H-sync or V-Sync ..
so after the 74HC14, I use a another chip to 1/2 the sync from the XBOX internal sync signal ,and then the VGA works properly ..

#15 trusty

trusty

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 105 posts
  • Location:ShenZhen City of China
  • Interests:XBOX,HDTV,Three guns project...<br /> to chat, my Email : trustyty@hotmail.com &amp; pansy_peng@vip.163.com
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 19 July 2006 - 07:55 AM

QUOTE(sicknasty413 @ Jul 19 2006, 07:17 AM) View Post

Looks pretty cool.. any more info, technical, install, etc?


For the CPU replacement, it's quite complex ,

1. Some components need change to cope with the new mobile PIII 1G CPU ;

2. the new CPU is mobile PIII 1G , you know the Intel speedstep technology,
if use directly , the MAX CPU frequency is 850M, not 1G , so some pins under the
BGA need modify.

3. for the micro-BGA CPU soldering, the professional SMD equipment is required , it's impossible that
somebody do it by hand with very simple tools ,,

the risks:
1. the CPU is very easy damaged by high temperature, you know the CPU core is on the top without
strong protection ..
2. bad BGA soldering will kill the CPU as well as the XBOX motherboard .

=======================================================
If somebody need replace the CPU , I can help . I am in ShenZhen city of China .




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users