Jump to content


Photo

Something I Can't Firgure Out


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 NiC_CC

NiC_CC

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 728 posts
  • Location:Ohio, US
  • Xbox Version:v1.5
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 22 July 2006 - 06:03 PM

ok, first- some background info.
its a version ~1.2-1.3 xbox(not entriely sure).
200gig HD, xenium ice modchip
currently using evoX.
current loaded BIOS is a IND-bios, custom tweaked using "ind-bios-config-maker". the kernal(think thats what its called) is 5003
i also have loaded "X2.5035."

here is the issue. I sold this xbox to a customer and they wanted a dvd-drive so that they can copy original games without having to use another xbox. so i made a ide port on the back along with the plug for the dvd drive's power.
the xbox boots up great with the dvd-drive plugged in. but now, for some reason, neither BIOS will boot up w/o the dvd-drive plugged in.

this may not be the correct forum for this question, but i really ned help ASAP.

#2 MickRaider

MickRaider

    X-S Hacker

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,880 posts
  • Interests:I have no interests
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 22 July 2006 - 06:28 PM

Is it fragging or does it give you an error message?

#3 NiC_CC

NiC_CC

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 728 posts
  • Location:Ohio, US
  • Xbox Version:v1.5
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 22 July 2006 - 06:41 PM

no, it stops loading the BIOS right where the "micrsoft" logo is supposed to load up(doesn't actually show up).
it just sits there and will not go past that last step.

#4 MickRaider

MickRaider

    X-S Hacker

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,880 posts
  • Interests:I have no interests
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 22 July 2006 - 06:44 PM

How long have you let it sit? My dvd-drive-less xbox will do that occasionally and if I just let it sit for a while it will start working.

#5 NiC_CC

NiC_CC

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 728 posts
  • Location:Ohio, US
  • Xbox Version:v1.5
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 22 July 2006 - 06:48 PM

it does it everytime. i no longer have the xbox with me, but i have let it sit for at least 20 min.

and it booted up fine before i got the dvd-drive hooked up for the first time.

it boots up flawlessly with the dvd-drive in. is it possible that when i hooked up the dvd-drive that something changed in the BIOS or in the dashboard? like some kinda of setting that makes it wait for the dvd-drive?

Edited by NiC_CC, 22 July 2006 - 06:50 PM.


#6 mpatton

mpatton

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 129 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.6

Posted 22 July 2006 - 07:28 PM

I had the same setup on my old box, and I remember having the same problem with my original BIOS. However, I got the BIOS updated so it wouldn't check for the DVD drive on startup. Can't remember the exact details as I had someone else do it for me, but by changing something in the BIOS you can get it to work.

Edit: Check this link, maybe it will help Evox Disable DVD

Edited by mpatton, 22 July 2006 - 07:31 PM.


#7 NiC_CC

NiC_CC

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 728 posts
  • Location:Ohio, US
  • Xbox Version:v1.5
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 22 July 2006 - 07:51 PM

both BIOS files that i have listed worked w/o the dvd-drive, untill i plugged it in to copy a game. now neither BIOS will load up w/o the dvd-drive plugged in.

#8 grim_d

grim_d

    The Grim Gopher

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,483 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scotland
  • Interests:enjoying life.
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 23 July 2006 - 01:30 AM

get X2ool (google it) and load your x2config.ini

under misc tab and misc toggles makes sure there is NOT a tick in the "dvd drive presence check" check box

save it and replace your x2config.ini with the modified one, in the root of E, i think....should work..if not i dunno.

im using the 5035 on my slim and it boots great.

hope this helps.

Edited by grim_d, 23 July 2006 - 01:31 AM.


#9 MickRaider

MickRaider

    X-S Hacker

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,880 posts
  • Interests:I have no interests
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 23 July 2006 - 01:37 AM

If it looks for the dvd drive and doesn't find it it will more than likely give you an error message instead of hanging like that. Not that this really helps, but it's a thought.

#10 quiksilver_kid

quiksilver_kid

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 138 posts
  • Location:Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 24 July 2006 - 07:10 AM

I would suggest having one bios with the dvd drive check enabled, to use when copying games. And keep the other without the dvd drive check, that you would use for the majority of the time.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users