Jump to content


Photo

My Homebrew Vga Cable!


  • Please log in to reply
38 replies to this topic

#1 FrostyTheSnowman

FrostyTheSnowman

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,674 posts
  • Location:Utah
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 27 July 2006 - 05:49 AM

Here ya go! This is my newly built VGA adapter for my XBOX.

Technical Information: XBOX Version 1.0 using NKPatcher v10-vga7

Parts: 1 Female VGA Connector, 2 0.1uf Ceramic Capacitors, 1 470k Ohm Resistor, 1 Project Box, 1 XBOX AVIP Connector, 1 Female Stereo Connector

IPB Image

IPB Image

Much thanks to Textbook and his awesome tutorial!

#2 drleephd

drleephd

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 256 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 27 July 2006 - 07:33 AM

very nice, I dig it. smile.gif

beerchug.gif

#3 Textbook

Textbook

    X-S Hacker

  • Last Chance
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,552 posts
  • Location:Near Flint, Michigan
  • Interests:Xbox and Computers
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 27 July 2006 - 01:31 PM

Hey Frosty, that looks very nice, very clean and well done. Congratulations. I did a similar thing by putting my circuit in a box, but if I ever took a picture of it I'd make you guys cry. It looks pretty bad, but it works perfectly when I want it to. To be honest, I'm really surprised that a 470k resistor worked for you as well. I think I'm the first person to have used that value. I was just too lazy to drive the 10 miles to Radioshack, and I had a 470k already. Once again, great job, that looks amazing, hope it works great for you. ClintiePoo used my tutorial and made a nice looking cable as well. He had a SOG monitor, so he didn't have to build the circuit. With your permission, could I add your photograph to my tutorial? I'll give you credit.

By the way, here's ClintiePoo's Male VGA cable for use with a SOG display:

IPB Image

#4 FrostyTheSnowman

FrostyTheSnowman

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,674 posts
  • Location:Utah
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 27 July 2006 - 02:13 PM

Sure Textbook, I don't mind if you use my pictures in your new tutorial. Be sure to tell me when it's up so I can check it out! But yeah, I figured I would try a 470k resistor and see how it worked out, and to my surprise it works with all 4 of my monitors! (3 LCD(Different Brands), and 1 CRT(21" Viewsonic)

By the way, to all that are wondering, YES, you CAN use NKPatcher v10-vga7 on v1.0/Conexant XBOX's, AND all 3 video modes work PERFECTLY with NKPatcher v10-vga7, provided your monitor supports those resolutions. (480p, 720p, and even 1080i)

For all those attempting to make this cable, here are some helpful links:

http://xboxvgatutorial.host.sk/ - Textbook's VGA Tutorial

http://forums.xbox-s...howtopic=408396 - Dr. Oldschool's NKPatcher v10-vga7 thread

#5 dpbmt

dpbmt

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,536 posts
  • Location:England
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 27 July 2006 - 06:53 PM

excellent tutorial!!!! pop.gif going to try it out myself but i was just wondering if my bios will
support it?? (5035 bios)

#6 FrostyTheSnowman

FrostyTheSnowman

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,674 posts
  • Location:Utah
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 27 July 2006 - 07:05 PM

Yes, as long as you are running an original MS 5035 BIOS, it will work with the NKPatcher v10-vga7 BIOS patcher. If you are using a Modchip, then you will need a VGA BIOS flashed onto your modchip. You can find Junkmonkey's IND VGA BIOS at the end of Textbook's VGA Tutorial.

NOTE: Make sure you have a Conexant or a Focus video encoder before even trying this, as they are the only video encoders that are currently supported. But judging by your v1.4 XBOX, you probably have a Focus encoder, so you're good. beerchug.gif

#7 dpbmt

dpbmt

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,536 posts
  • Location:England
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 27 July 2006 - 08:09 PM

just a couple of quick Q's,
isee on your diagram you use "2 0.1uf Ceramic Capacitors, 1 470k Ohm Resistor" where do they go
and are they needed??
p.s where did you get the little black box from??? i want one!!!! biggrin.gif

#8 dpbmt

dpbmt

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,536 posts
  • Location:England
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 27 July 2006 - 08:23 PM

are THESE
and THESE
what i need?

#9 FrostyTheSnowman

FrostyTheSnowman

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,674 posts
  • Location:Utah
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 27 July 2006 - 08:31 PM

LOL, I picked up the project box from my local Radio Shack for like 3 bucks. I also got my female stereo connector, 0.1uf capacitors, and my 470k ohm resistor there too. However I forgot to mention that I needed to order a chip online by the name of 'LM1881N' that cost about 10 bucks. As far as the VGA connector, and the XBOX AVIP connector, I just had those laying around.

Be sure you can read schematics and solder well, as building this cable is not very easy. But be sure to check out Textbook's VGA Tutorial for a good diagram on how to do it.



Direct link to Textbook's VGA Diagram:

http://xboxvgatutori.../cablenosog.htm



EDIT: By the way, this guy from a previous thread is selling ready-made cables just like mine, only they are manufactured and are colored blue, for $30 shipped. It might be a better option for you in the long run, I just like to make my own stuff.

http://forums.xbox-s...&...t&p=3433585

To answer your previous question, no, those are the incorrect parts. Radio Shack has exactly what you need as far as capacitors/resistors. Be sure you get the exact ones that are noted in the above diagram.

Edited by FrostyTheSnowman, 27 July 2006 - 08:42 PM.


#10 dpbmt

dpbmt

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,536 posts
  • Location:England
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 27 July 2006 - 08:41 PM

have you got the part numbers? and whats the chip for?and where do you get them from?
IS THIS IT? and is the stuff at the bottom of that page what i need
aswell??? (capacitator and resostor?)

Edited by dpbmt, 27 July 2006 - 08:48 PM.


#11 VooD

VooD

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 335 posts
  • Location:Spain
  • Interests:Xbox, Ps2, Psx, PowerMac´s, Pro-Audio, Music, etc, etc, etc....
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 27 July 2006 - 08:57 PM

I have a PAL Xbox, and this evening I decided to make my own vga cable but using ind-bios.5001.06.vga.bfm.b1-junkmonkey instead as my modchip only has a single 256kb bank. So I followed the scheme and build everything properly. Set my xbox´s eeprom to ntsc (in order to be able to select HDTV modes in the dashboard), and finally I connected the cable and launched the BFM bios blindly.

Result = black screen.

I tryed everything and all I could get is by setting the cable as VGA cable instead of Component (that´s how the scheme shows) is once I load the bios everything in green tones except for games and applications which use 720x480 (ninja gaiden, xport emulators, xbmc).

Do I really need the real NTSC dashboard or is enough with setting my eeprom to ntsc?

Regards.

#12 FrostyTheSnowman

FrostyTheSnowman

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,674 posts
  • Location:Utah
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 27 July 2006 - 09:10 PM

No, you don't need the NTSC verison of the MS dashboard to view the MS dashboard in 480p. All you need to do is hex edit the MS dashboard executable to display the dash in 480p.

Here is a guide on how to do it.

NOTE: This is NOT my tutorial, ProgScan/X-S/XboxHacker are the original authors.

----- Begin Tutorial -----

For the original ms xbox dashboard, open xboxdash.xbe(or whatever your MS dashboard executable is) in a hex editor:

Search for: C7 46 28 20 00 00 00
Replace with: C7 46 28 40 00 00 00, for progressive only
Replace with: C7 46 28 00 00 00 00, for auto selection; this auto switches to progressive scan when your hooked up to a progressive enabled monitor, or it will do interlace when hooked up to a interlace only tv. IMO, this is the best one.

----- End Tutorial -----

NOTE: The Junkmonkey IND BIOS does actually require the cable to be in VGA mode, not HD mode, as you've figured out. NKPatcher is the only one that uses HDTV mode instead. Also, the only games/applications that will work with a VGA cable are ones that support 480p and above. 480i games will NOT work. However, NKPatcher actually fixes this problem by forcing 480i games to display in 480p, thereby making ALL games/applications compatible. But this option is only available to softmod users.

Edited by FrostyTheSnowman, 27 July 2006 - 09:22 PM.


#13 dpbmt

dpbmt

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,536 posts
  • Location:England
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 27 July 2006 - 09:21 PM

what about those parts i put a link to?am i on the right track??:??

#14 FrostyTheSnowman

FrostyTheSnowman

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,674 posts
  • Location:Utah
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 27 July 2006 - 09:30 PM

Be sure to read my post (#9) in this thread, you may want to check out the cables that guy is selling. But no, those parts are actually incorrect, make sure the capacitors are 0.1uf exactly, and the resistor is 470k exactly. you will also need to order a LM1881N sync seperator IC online for about $10.

EDIT: Yes, that LM1881N chip you linked to IS correct. Here's the other parts:

470k ohm resistor: (1)
http://www.hobbyengi....com/H1306.html

0.1uf capacitors: (2)
http://www.hobbyengi....com/H1031.html

LM1881N sync seperator IC: (1) - (This is the one you linked to earlier)
http://www.maplin.co.....YNC SEPARATOR

Edited by FrostyTheSnowman, 27 July 2006 - 09:42 PM.


#15 dpbmt

dpbmt

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,536 posts
  • Location:England
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 27 July 2006 - 10:17 PM

are thes ok this
and this
think so but wanna 100% sure before i order
edit: wrong link!

Edited by dpbmt, 27 July 2006 - 10:20 PM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users