Jump to content


Photo

Mb, Gb, Tb Conversions


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 vestri_matris

vestri_matris

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 155 posts
  • Location:Land of 10,000 lakes
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 27 July 2006 - 07:02 PM

Who decided that there was gunna be 1024 MB in a GB??? Is there some specific reason that its 1024 and not just a 1000?


edit: I was looking at a conversion calc. and theres 1099511627776 GB in a zettabyte, just a bit of random info

Edited by vestri_matris, 27 July 2006 - 07:04 PM.


#2 gcskate27

gcskate27

    X-S Messiah

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,585 posts
  • Location:san antonio
  • Interests:video games, prgramming, comps, skateboarding, cooking, taking care of my lizards and dachshund
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 27 July 2006 - 07:15 PM

becase 1000 isnt a base of 2...

#3 Perplexer

Perplexer

    X-S Messiah

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,183 posts
  • Location:Lat: 36.0723N, Long: 79.3989W
  • Interests:Fish with big teeth
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 27 July 2006 - 07:30 PM

QUOTE(gcskate27 @ Jul 27 2006, 02:22 PM) View Post

becase 1000 isnt a base of 2...

ding ding ding ding ding ding ding laugh.gif

Someone's just pissed that he can only copy 460GB of porn to his 500GB HDD jester.gif

#4 throwingks

throwingks

    X-S Freak

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,957 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 27 July 2006 - 07:59 PM

2^10=1024

#5 vestri_matris

vestri_matris

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 155 posts
  • Location:Land of 10,000 lakes
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 27 July 2006 - 08:34 PM

mmmkay that makes sense, and i only wish i had a 500 GB HDD sad.gif

#6 CamdogXIII

CamdogXIII

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 841 posts
  • Interests:Modding xbox's, building computers.
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 28 July 2006 - 03:13 AM

QUOTE(Perplexer @ Jul 27 2006, 02:37 PM) View Post

ding ding ding ding ding ding ding laugh.gif

Someone's just pissed that he can only copy 460GB of porn to his 500GB HDD jester.gif



0_0 wow

#7 G0t M4xx 21

G0t M4xx 21

    X-S Freak

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,990 posts
  • Location:ATX! Hook 'em Horns!
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 28 July 2006 - 03:50 AM

Yeah unfortunately most HDD manufacturers consider 1GB as 1,000,000,000 bytes and not 1073741824 bytes like it really is, so it makes the drive's capacity seem bigger (just a marketing scheme).

For example, my Seagate "300GB" HDD in my computer is reported my Windows as 300,058,181,632 bytes in size, which in actuality is only 279.45GB. WTF?

#8 vestri_matris

vestri_matris

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 155 posts
  • Location:Land of 10,000 lakes
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 28 July 2006 - 03:52 AM

QUOTE(G0t M4xx 21 @ Jul 27 2006, 09:57 PM) View Post

Yeah unfortunately most HDD manufacturers consider 1GB as 1,000,000,000 bytes and not 1073741824 bytes like it really is, so it makes the drive's capacity seem bigger (just a marketing scheme).

For example, my Seagate "300GB" HDD in my computer is reported my Windows as 300,058,181,632 bytes in size, which in actuality is only 279.45GB. WTF?


wouldn't that be false advertising? blink.gif

#9 thewickedjester

thewickedjester

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,012 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 28 July 2006 - 03:55 AM

QUOTE(vestri_matris @ Jul 27 2006, 10:59 PM) View Post

wouldn't that be false advertising? blink.gif

No, because somewhere on the box it usually says its acctual size I think.

#10 KDragon

KDragon

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 168 posts
  • Interests:Anything About Technoligy
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 28 July 2006 - 04:36 AM

No they just say 1 KB = 1000 bytes

#11 irishdrunk

irishdrunk

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 733 posts
  • Location:Bumfuck, Idaho Rank: Xbox Alcoholic
  • Interests:Xbox's of course, poker, midgets, women, idiots.....not jail
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 28 July 2006 - 09:21 AM

But 1 Kilobyte is 1024 bytes....

They do say actual size on the boxes, well all I have seen anyway.

I don't think my prostate could handle 460 GB or porn....wow.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users