Jump to content


Photo

Need Help Fixing Xbox


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 speedyspeedboy

speedyspeedboy

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 03 August 2006 - 11:04 PM

i have and xbox in witch all data was deleted off the hard drive. it turns on and gets to the part with the big x logo and then gives me an error 16, i was wondering how i could get my hard drive back?

#2 hunterjelly

hunterjelly

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 03 August 2006 - 11:08 PM

Yeah. Me and him have the Slayer disk and all, but when I burnt it the Xbox couldn't read the disk, nor can my PC. What we're trying to do is what ever the hell this tell us to do, but I got to step 3 and realized that I can't get the needed files from Slayers disk... Any suggestions?

Edit: [Total: 1]

What I was thinking of doing was finding the HDD's code and using that to put in a new drive (40 gig yay), using that program, seeing as how it can make a HDD from scracth as long as it has the code.

Edited by hunterjelly, 03 August 2006 - 11:12 PM.


#3 CJLee89

CJLee89

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,470 posts
  • Location:Marion, Ohio
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:none

Posted 03 August 2006 - 11:09 PM

get a copy of slayers and extract the MS dash files from it. use xboxhdm to rebuild the hard drive with the extracted dash files.


-OR-

16 - dashboard - Clock cannot be set. Well i wrote earlier another tutorial about this specific error so here it is:

Basically it comes down to this. Error 16 has to do with not finding the menu setting with which you can set the clock of the hdd. This happens to a lot of people that erase their hdd (original/upgraded) or MS dashboard files and after that they don't immediatly install the hdd but leave the xbox without power longer than 5 hours.

It's all about the hdd can't find the menu with which it can set the clock. This is mostly because the xbox hdd is empty (you removed dashboard or fux0red it via ftp). The problem arises when xbox searches for menu to set clock with, can't find it and voila: error 16. Well read on please!

So you have an error 16 huh? Don't worry "nothing" is broken!

You have an xbox hdd that is locked. And normally you can boot in original and modded mode. Retail or upgraded doesn't matter. You start playing around with xboxdash.xbe etc. using ftp programs. While doing this you "accidently" remove your MS dashboard and also your alternate dashboard (Evox, etc.) so there is no dash anymore on the xbox hdd.

You end the ftp session and after that you shut off your xbox. Normally when you would start up again it gives you an error 13/14 ( no dashboard found). No worries with a slayer Evox cd (and a hardmod), all is ok. BUT this is only WITHIN 3 hours or so.

This is because the internal clock of the xbox will only be kept alive by the capacitors for only 3 or 4 hours. So when you leave your xbox unplugged from electricity for over 5 hours after you have played with the .xbe's AND you have removed your (ms and evo-x) dash from your xbox than you are fux0red. Why do you ask?

Why can't I boot from disc?

Its as follows Xbox starts booting==> (almost 1st thing a xbox does is) searches for internal clock==> doesnt find internal clock because there hasn't been any electricity on the xbox for 5 hours so battery that kept clock alive is empty and clock is gone==> searches for the proper dashboard menu to set clock with ==> doesnt find msdashboard or evo-x dashboard menu becuz you have removed it from the hdd for whatever reasons you had==> xbox gives error 16: cannot set clock.

So what do you do about it? Two options!

1. There are some bios'es around that allow the chip to boot past the clocksetting. (do a search!). So how do you get that bios on your chip because you cant boot to a flash program or something? Well you need to have an external flasher.

It seems the m8 bios will take care for you of booting past the clocksetting. Or use the latest Xecutor bios


2. This is the more easy and newbie friendly strategy
-Get a friend with a modded xbox.
-Unlock his hdd with eeprom management from a slayer evo-x cd.
-Than, place his hdd in your xbox.
-Boot with your chip on.
-Now the xbox DOES find a dashboard when you boot in original mode and you can set the time in the msdashboard clock settings.
-Shut off xbox and remove your friends hdd
-PLace his hdd back in his xbox and lock it again
-Install your hdd
-(clock has been set) So boot up with slayer cd.
-Install normally whatever you wanna install
-lock hdd

Edited by CJLee89, 03 August 2006 - 11:13 PM.


#4 hunterjelly

hunterjelly

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 03 August 2006 - 11:14 PM

Like I said, I can't get the files off Slayers disk, it sais it's corrupt ior something, I have tried two seperate downloads of Slayers and still no luck... This was our first idea, but we don't know anyone with a modded Xbox to do such a thing with, because a certain somewon burnt out his power supply....

Edited by hunterjelly, 03 August 2006 - 11:20 PM.


#5 CJLee89

CJLee89

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,470 posts
  • Location:Marion, Ohio
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:none

Posted 03 August 2006 - 11:21 PM

hmm....

anyone else?

i didnt see ur post until mine was already posted.



did u back up ur hard drive to ur PC when u first modded it?

Edited by CJLee89, 03 August 2006 - 11:25 PM.


#6 hunterjelly

hunterjelly

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 03 August 2006 - 11:22 PM

Allthough I have already said this, I will clarify once again, the real problem here is: I cannot get the files I need off of Slayers disk, my PC cannot read the disk for some reason, and I tried to mount SLayers disk but that did not work either. If anyone wants, I can get a screen shot for you.

Edit: I see, I didn't mean hostility tongue.gif

Edited by hunterjelly, 03 August 2006 - 11:22 PM.


#7 CJLee89

CJLee89

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,470 posts
  • Location:Marion, Ohio
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:none

Posted 03 August 2006 - 11:26 PM

did u back up ur hard drive to ur PC??

if not find someone on here that has backed up thier HD and has a chat program (aol, msn, etc) and have them send their C drive to u. thats how i fixed mine.

no problem man.

Edited by CJLee89, 03 August 2006 - 11:28 PM.


#8 speedyspeedboy

speedyspeedboy

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 03 August 2006 - 11:29 PM

QUOTE(CJLee89 @ Aug 3 2006, 11:33 PM) View Post

did u back up ur hard drive to ur PC??
no problem man.
no,i have no back upof the hard drive

#9 CJLee89

CJLee89

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,470 posts
  • Location:Marion, Ohio
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:none

Posted 03 August 2006 - 11:31 PM

look at my previous post again ....edited with another suggestion!!!!

#10 speedyspeedboy

speedyspeedboy

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 03 August 2006 - 11:56 PM

QUOTE(CJLee89 @ Aug 3 2006, 11:38 PM) View Post

look at my previous post again ....edited with another suggestion!!!!

now the xbox is not modded and i dont have the eeprom that i saw people saying u need,so how do i put the files on my hard drive?

i really just have no idea what im doing,but i really apreciate the help

Edited by speedyspeedboy, 03 August 2006 - 11:57 PM.


#11 CJLee89

CJLee89

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,470 posts
  • Location:Marion, Ohio
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:none

Posted 04 August 2006 - 12:00 AM

u have to have a modded xbox to put files on it.

EDIT: if u have a chip, go to the chips OS menu to gain FTP access...then put files on that way.

#12 hunterjelly

hunterjelly

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 04 August 2006 - 12:40 AM

Theres no work-around with no mod chip? I think I have an idea of what I can do, but I'm still formulating it, so don't ask what it is, but so far it seems like a godd idea..

#13 hunterjelly

hunterjelly

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 04 August 2006 - 12:30 PM

Bump.

#14 neilOS

neilOS

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 49 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:none

Posted 04 August 2006 - 02:37 PM

Does the slayers disc download as an ISO, cause i've never used it.

If thats the case, you could use QWIX to extract all the stock files and use them to build a new HDD.

Then resoftmod it with NDURE as there are better rescue alternatives if things go wrong.

Let me know if this helps.

Oh yeah, and backup, backup, BACKUP!!!! tongue.gif

Edited by neilOS, 04 August 2006 - 02:49 PM.


#15 Lord_Darian

Lord_Darian

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 123 posts
  • Location:Near Seattle WA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 04 August 2006 - 05:48 PM

Even though there are no files on the hard drive, might he still be able to Hot-Swap the hard drive to get it unlocked?

Once the drive is unlocked you can use Xplorer360 to copy a stock C drive over to it. The reason you can't view the Slayers disc in your PC once you've made a disc from the ISO is because it's formatted for the Xbox DVD drive (uses FatX format). As suggested above, you could use Qwix to extract the files or possibly WinRar could do it.

Hot-Swapping is a dangerous procedure however and should only be done as a last resort. If that ends up being the only way to fix your box, read up on the process thoroughly.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users