Jump to content


Photo

3.3v For Leds


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 War_Machine

War_Machine

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 921 posts
  • Location:New Jeru
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:none

Posted 10 August 2006 - 01:10 AM

http://pablot.com/in...&...nu=psu&sm=1

i have a 1.6 box, i either need 3.3v or 5v with a 15ohm resistor to power 17 leds on the top of my case. now, the diagram for the 1.6 psu says not to use blue or white (3.3, and 3.3 standby) as current sources, does that mean, its not good for use with leds? also.. where else on the box could i snatch 3.3v from, with enough current for 17 leds? whats the max you could use? becuase, i was figuring, if i wire up like 8 to the white, and 9 to the blue, that should be alright.

#2 blame canada

blame canada

    X-S Hacker

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,356 posts
  • Location:Good ol' Chicago
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 10 August 2006 - 01:15 AM

Im pretty sure that 5v + resistor is much easier on the PSU/mobo than pulling 3.3v. Don't take my word for it though unsure.gif

#3 SICKdimension

SICKdimension

    X-S Messiah

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,659 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California
  • Interests:TO IM ME, STATE YOUR REASON, DON'T JUST SAY "HEY R U THERE?"
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 10 August 2006 - 01:16 AM

You need to use 5V with a resistor. The 3.3V from the PSU are just signals and will not power that many LEDs.

#4 War_Machine

War_Machine

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 921 posts
  • Location:New Jeru
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:none

Posted 10 August 2006 - 01:39 AM

dry.gif

i was trying all these clever ass ways to get around finding a resistor lol all the rocket science in the world cant save me from a radio shack trip then huh

damnit

what if i wire it to the flux capacitor laugh.gif

#5 grim_d

grim_d

    The Grim Gopher

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,483 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scotland
  • Interests:enjoying life.
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 10 August 2006 - 02:13 AM

QUOTE(War_Machine @ Aug 10 2006, 01:46 AM) View Post

what if i wire it to the flux capacitor laugh.gif



the send a postcard while your in 1865.

#6 War_Machine

War_Machine

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 921 posts
  • Location:New Jeru
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:none

Posted 10 August 2006 - 03:50 AM

i found a 10 ohm resitor on a broken psu, works like a charm biggrin.gif

#7 mb3k

mb3k

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 541 posts
  • Location:Calgary
  • Interests:Audio Amplification, Digital Photography, Snowboarding, Golfing
  • Xbox Version:v1.6b
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 10 August 2006 - 05:29 AM

QUOTE(grim_d @ Aug 9 2006, 07:20 PM) View Post

the send a postcard while your in 1865.


Hmm more like Nov. 5 1955 biggrin.gif

Anyways, you can use the 12V, but you have to use an appropriate rated wattage for resistors. The Vishay Dale resistors (from Mouser.com) have a higher temperature tolerance so in practice a 1/4W Vishay Dale can be used in place where a 1/2W resistor is needed.

Edited by mb3k, 10 August 2006 - 05:35 AM.


#8 lostboyz

lostboyz

    Mr. Knowitall

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,188 posts
  • Location:The D
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 10 August 2006 - 12:34 PM

or just use the proper wattage resistor? just because it wont blow dosent mean it wont get rediculously hot

#9 devilmaycry666

devilmaycry666

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 478 posts
  • Location:Maryland, USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 10 August 2006 - 01:46 PM

QUOTE(lostboyz @ Aug 10 2006, 07:41 AM) View Post

or just use the proper wattage resistor? just because it wont blow dosent mean it wont get rediculously hot



EXACTLY! Do we also need to go into lifetime?



#10 Necrophiliac

Necrophiliac

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 224 posts
  • Location:Richmond, VA
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 10 August 2006 - 03:20 PM

sorry meant to click "PM" not post. Im a bit tired tongue.gif

Edited by Necrophiliac, 10 August 2006 - 03:21 PM.


#11 War_Machine

War_Machine

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 921 posts
  • Location:New Jeru
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:none

Posted 10 August 2006 - 06:38 PM

well i dont think 10ohm and 15ohm is that far off

#12 MickRaider

MickRaider

    X-S Hacker

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,880 posts
  • Interests:I have no interests
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 10 August 2006 - 07:02 PM

10 ohm isn't really enough resistance for 17 led's.

What you could do is use 2 10 ohm resistors wired in series. Or get around a 5ohm 1 watt resistor


Half assing things only leads to things breaking. I'm sure you're starting to figure that out...

#13 devilmaycry666

devilmaycry666

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 478 posts
  • Location:Maryland, USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 10 August 2006 - 11:14 PM

QUOTE(MickRaider @ Aug 10 2006, 02:09 PM) View Post

Half assing things only leads to things breaking. I'm sure you're starting to figure that out...



Now that was fun! I figured that out with my go-kart (First one that was MINE atleast.) I put head lights on it so i can drive in the dark, and i half assed it, then found myself doing it over, and over about six times.

Bad thing is i still haven't learned. wink.gif biggrin.gif

#14 War_Machine

War_Machine

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 921 posts
  • Location:New Jeru
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:none

Posted 10 August 2006 - 11:36 PM

QUOTE(MickRaider @ Aug 10 2006, 02:09 PM) View Post

10 ohm isn't really enough resistance for 17 led's.

What you could do is use 2 10 ohm resistors wired in series. Or get around a 5ohm 1 watt resistor
Half assing things only leads to things breaking. I'm sure you're starting to figure that out...


well i have a 26 ohm, and 2 10 ohm ones.. so im sure i can figure it out

for now, i dont htink using a 10 is gunna kill it til i make it out to radio shack

#15 devilmaycry666

devilmaycry666

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 478 posts
  • Location:Maryland, USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 10 August 2006 - 11:54 PM

Why can't you wait? Really?




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users