Jump to content


Photo

Dead Rising


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 deecee

deecee

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 74 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 18 August 2006 - 11:10 PM

I'm not sure how many of you have played dead rising yet, but it requires you to make a update before you play. I have no memory card or hard drive yet so its not some type of software update, I think its some type of bios upgrade. I have flashed my original xbox many times and it acts the same way. When you choose yes there is a progress bar and once it completes the system reboots.

Dunno if there is some way to use the game to flash with their own special bios or whatever.

#2 siko2k7

siko2k7

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 21 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 18 August 2006 - 11:32 PM

This is not the case.

#3 bonevichio

bonevichio

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 454 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:none

Posted 19 August 2006 - 12:09 AM

You need a hard drive to this.

You stick in your original disc, connect to live and download the update.

Cheers.

#4 deecee

deecee

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 74 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 19 August 2006 - 10:33 AM

QUOTE(bonevichio @ Aug 19 2006, 12:16 AM) View Post

You need a hard drive to this.

You stick in your original disc, connect to live and download the update.

Cheers.



Uh no I have no hard drive or memory card, obviously you didn't read the post.

It performed a update to the bios or the dashboard.

#5 nickthegreat

nickthegreat

    X-S X-perience

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPip
  • 477 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 19 August 2006 - 10:42 AM

if you don't have live it could perhaps be the june/july(?) dash update?
just a stab in the dark smile.gif

#6 bucko

bucko

    Super Moderator

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,997 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 19 August 2006 - 04:00 PM

There is a firmware chip on your X360 motherboard that contains the dash and this chip is writable. It's for Core Xbox's that don't have a hard drive (for example) so you can use the dash lol. So yer games can update the firmware, it's really for people who don't have Live hooked up to the Internet on there 360. I think many magazine 360 demo disks have updates to flash as well.

Edited by bucko, 19 August 2006 - 04:02 PM.


#7 lesman

lesman

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 237 posts
  • Location:C:\anthony\mybrain
  • Interests:I like computers. I like video games. I like Pepsi. I like playing with toys. mostly I LOVE MY WIFE
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 19 August 2006 - 05:44 PM

Exactly what ^^^^ said. The dashboard is on a chip in the 360 that is flash overwriteable. beerchug.gif

#8 Havok

Havok

    X-S Messiah

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,745 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 20 August 2006 - 01:51 PM

What the disc did is update the Xbox Kernel... not the BIOS...

Part of this is the software you see when you turn on the Xbox.

If you goto the System Setting blade you will see a new option for the Xbox Live Vision camera that was not there before.

There is not way to use this to hack the Xbox as you suggested.

#9 alsybub

alsybub

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,315 posts
  • Location:South Coast, UK PlayStation3 Version: v1.0 Nintendo Wii Version: v1.0
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 20 August 2006 - 04:26 PM

Exactly the same as PSP. When a new game is released after a a major update there will be a copy of the latest dash on it so those who play offline get the latest version.

It was also the same with the original xbox.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users