• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Biosyntrix

Biosyntrix

X-S Enthusiast

• Members
  • 19 posts

Posted 20 August 2006 - 02:54 PM

I have a Globe 360 ordered, but haven't gotten it yet.

Not completely sure, but logic would think this should work. Solder points on the SST chip(after epoxy removal) are much easier, after examining the board. There are 2 points which I am unclear about.

Click to see the following image.
HERE

Feedback? Feel free to modify the jpg and post if there is a mistake.

#2 daghostmon

daghostmon

X-S Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 131 posts

Posted 21 August 2006 - 04:05 AM

You are exactly right in fact thats how I did it. Forget about soldering on the MT1359 controller IC. I'm a pro and I could't do that without a microscope and superfine RF solder Iron. I don't know why the instructions show that method. I removed the epoxy with a heat gun and soldered D0 - D6 on the SST firmware chip. I saw another guy here scrap the traces and soldered to them. That glue really stinks when melting. Good job updating the picture Biosyntrix. I'm really really dissappointed in the lack off support from the makers of this Globe 360.

#3 lmeyer718

lmeyer718

X-S Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 70 posts

Posted 24 August 2006 - 10:51 PM

was curious about globe360 chip. im getting it installed for me. what im curious about is the backups. whats best media n burner n burner program. i have a nec 3540 and was gonna use dvd decryptor with verbatim dvd+r dl? any suggestions.

#4 daghostmon

daghostmon

X-S Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 131 posts

Posted 28 August 2006 - 01:50 AM

Heres a pic letting you see how long the wires should be. This chip will not fit inside the dvd case so you need to mount it on the side of the frame next to the DVD drive. This is a samsung drive that I scraped off the epoxy in order to make soldering much easier

IPB Image

#5 snakekevlar

snakekevlar

X-S Enthusiast

• Members
  • 10 posts