Jump to content


Photo

750 Gigs For My Next Mod


  • Please log in to reply
47 replies to this topic

#1 chiribomb

chiribomb

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 71 posts

Posted 26 August 2006 - 10:08 PM

I am going to build my 3rd xbox as another media jukebox game center with xbmc.
I have a ice 1.0 v 300gigs with .67 bios, a gold 1.6 500 gigs with a .67 bios, now I want to build a xbox with the 750 gig drive. Anyone built one yet? any issue with 7 size max? One day my 360 will have these options I hope!

#2 pimpthelinc

pimpthelinc

    X-S Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • Pip
  • 81 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 26 August 2006 - 11:02 PM

Ya, it doesnt support up to that big of a HDD

#3 mavsfan

mavsfan

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 42 posts

Posted 26 August 2006 - 11:12 PM

I always thought the max was like 250 or something. Imagine sticking a 2TB Box on the side of one of those. Now that would be extremly cool tongue.gif

#4 neovader

neovader

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 213 posts
  • Location:Columbia, SC
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 27 August 2006 - 12:52 AM

if you format the drive with 32k clusters you won't run into data corruption.

#5 chiribomb

chiribomb

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 71 posts

Posted 29 August 2006 - 05:12 PM

Formatting F to 129 16k, G = 362 32k - no corruption on either partition after filling. (Best option IMO)

Formatting F to 248 32k, G = 243 32k - no corruption on either partition after filling.

A note when using xbpartitioner, make sure you actually select to format the partitions. smile.gif

Quote from Daddy.

Anyone know what the max size of the G partion is ?



#6 Zebes

Zebes

    X-S Expert

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPip
  • 519 posts
  • Location:Oroville, CA
  • Interests:Xbox modding
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 29 August 2006 - 05:24 PM

around 512gb if formated in 32k clusters


#7 chiribomb

chiribomb

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 71 posts

Posted 29 August 2006 - 05:58 PM

Thanks zebes, but does that mean f can be set to 512 and g can be 512 or what? anyone done this yet?

#8 00g

00g

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,069 posts
  • Location:P.V.B. Fla
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 29 August 2006 - 06:53 PM

I was actually going to make a topic concerning this very issue. (but not about the 750gb)

I have a friend that's looking to put at least a 500gb HDD in his Xbox. I theory this would be fine if after the C, and E drives were formatted, the remaining space was split in two. But this isn't what happens. The X3 BIOS makes the F drive 137gb, and the remaining space is given to the G. With a 500gb HDD, that will put the G drive over the 250ish GB limit.

I've attempted to format HDD's using that XBPartitioner (it's been about a year, so I'm not 100% on the details) but it tells you to press a certain button to change the cluster size. When I press that button, nothing happens. If I remember correctly, the edges of the screen are cut off as well.

Any help on this?

#9 Dexter Harvey

Dexter Harvey

    X-S Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • Pip
  • 106 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 29 August 2006 - 08:30 PM

QUOTE(00g @ Aug 29 2006, 02:00 PM) View Post

I was actually going to make a topic concerning this very issue. (but not about the 750gb)

I have a friend that's looking to put at least a 500gb HDD in his Xbox. I theory this would be fine if after the C, and E drives were formatted, the remaining space was split in two. But this isn't what happens. The X3 BIOS makes the F drive 137gb, and the remaining space is given to the G. With a 500gb HDD, that will put the G drive over the 250ish GB limit.

I've attempted to format HDD's using that XBPartitioner (it's been about a year, so I'm not 100% on the details) but it tells you to press a certain button to change the cluster size. When I press that button, nothing happens. If I remember correctly, the edges of the screen are cut off as well.

Any help on this?
you must do this first or it will not work In X3 bios on harddrive and new harddrive menu choose to save the partition first.
then using xbpartitioner on extended 6 and 7 press b on the controler,till you get even partition between the 2 this will be 229gb on f and 229 on g in xbpartitioner this will be represented in mb. then press A on controler to partition and format.(if you use a 500gb harddrive).500gb harddrive is really 465gb.

Edited by Dexter Harvey, 29 August 2006 - 08:33 PM.


#10 xboxgamer733

xboxgamer733

    X-S Messiah

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,803 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Moscow, Idaho
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 29 August 2006 - 08:39 PM

Currently, it is not possible to use a hard drive larger than 500 GB in an Xbox.

I have explained the reasons for this in this post.

#11 Dexter Harvey

Dexter Harvey

    X-S Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • Pip
  • 106 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 29 August 2006 - 08:47 PM

QUOTE(xboxgamer733 @ Aug 29 2006, 03:46 PM) View Post

Currently, it is not possible to use a hard drive larger than 500 GB in an Xbox.

I have explained the reasons for this in this post.
With the correct Partition and clusters it should work.Has anyone tried?

Edited by Dexter Harvey, 29 August 2006 - 08:53 PM.


#12 chiribomb

chiribomb

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 71 posts

Posted 29 August 2006 - 09:24 PM

OOg my 500 looks like this, Formatting F to 129 16k, G = 362 32k - no corruption on either partition after filling.
Evox M8 plus.v1.6 bin is what I am using.
xboxgamer733 I read the thread, do you know if a bios is available that would allow f and g to be 362k @ 32k?


#13 xboxgamer733

xboxgamer733

    X-S Messiah

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,803 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Moscow, Idaho
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 29 August 2006 - 09:29 PM

QUOTE(Dexter Harvey @ Aug 29 2006, 01:54 PM) View Post
With the correct Partition and clusters it should work.Has anyone tried?
Yes, you could install a 750 GB hard drive in an Xbox if using both a large enough F and G drive.

However, the Xbox BIOS will not allow the G drive to claim free space after 512 GB (or after any user-set number). The G drive can only be used:
  • At the '137 GB' mark, if a '.67' BIOS is used, or
  • Never, if a '.06' BIOS is used.
Differently stated, you cannot create and use 512 GB 'F' and 'G' partitions on an Xbox hard drive.

QUOTE(chiribomb @ Aug 29 2006, 02:31 PM) View Post
xboxgamer733 I read the thread, do you know if a bios is available that would allow f and g to be 362k @ 32k?
No, unfortunately, there currently isn't a BIOS like that.

All current BIOSes use either the '.06' or '.67' partitioning schemes stated above.



#14 chiribomb

chiribomb

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 71 posts

Posted 29 August 2006 - 09:55 PM

Well then what do you think it would take to entice the community to develope a new scheme to enable the use of drives larger than 500 gigs. A box that can store hundreds of movies, games, music, pictures, ect with this package size and ease of use under xbmc @ under 500 bucks. The 750's are at $320 and dropping.
I could see a media jukXbox in any room that has a tv!

#15 blame canada

blame canada

    X-S Hacker

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,356 posts
  • Location:Good ol' Chicago
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 29 August 2006 - 10:57 PM

QUOTE(chiribomb @ Aug 29 2006, 03:02 PM) View Post

Well then what do you think it would take to entice the community to develope a new scheme to enable the use of drives larger than 500 gigs.


A lot because most people would say having a 500gb+ hdd in an xbox is pointless. I mean, unless you pirate like crazy, or have enough money to buy a TON of games, then I don't see the point of a 750gb hdd. If you REALLY want a 750gb hdd, buy it and install it in your computer. Use XBMC to setup an SMB network to watch all your movies, music, etc., and keep a 300gb+ hdd in your xbox for games.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users