Jump to content


Photo

Help Me Out


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 shava

shava

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 53 posts

Posted 28 August 2006 - 01:46 PM

Hey, i had an original xbox with a dead hard drive. Here is what i have done so far, i got a chip and a new hard drive. And installed them both, installed the chip and booted up the box, i have been getting an error 6 (cannot unlock HD) and im not seeing the modified xbox logo at startup. Keep in mind, this hard drive is EMPTY, I tried starting it up with the slayers 2.6 disc in the drive and nothing. I need help, i have stayed up until 4am at nights dickin with this thing. The xbox is version 1.2, let me know if i need more info..

I think i covered it all, i havent done this in about a year, and the last time the hard drive was all ready and all i needed to do was chip it.

#2 Chancer

Chancer

    Don't You Trust me?

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18,687 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 28 August 2006 - 08:49 PM

Sounds like the chip is not working yet but also the drive you have is locked with a different key to the one in your Xbox. A new drive is unlocked which without the chip working would give error 5, so the question is where did you get the drive?

#3 shava

shava

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 53 posts

Posted 29 August 2006 - 12:09 AM

I bought it from someone here, its a samsung 10gb

#4 Chancer

Chancer

    Don't You Trust me?

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18,687 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 29 August 2006 - 12:28 PM

The drive is locked. get your money back the drive is history. You need an unlocked drive.

#5 shava

shava

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 53 posts

Posted 29 August 2006 - 09:31 PM

aww what the fuck. can i just use another regular ide hd around. i might just pull one from a pc. but i thought you could unlock the drive with unlockx

#6 Chancer

Chancer

    Don't You Trust me?

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18,687 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 30 August 2006 - 02:21 PM

You can only unlock the drive if you have the key.

#7 smokingmods

smokingmods

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 331 posts
  • Location:Dark Side of the Sun
  • Xbox Version:v1.6d
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 30 August 2006 - 06:46 PM

QUOTE(shava @ Aug 29 2006, 09:38 PM) View Post

aww what the fuck. can i just use another regular ide hd around. i might just pull one from a pc. but i thought you could unlock the drive with unlockx



to answer your question, yes you can use most any EIDE drive
you may run into some size issues if you go for one of the big new drives(500,750gig) but even that
can be worked around with some forethought.
If you grab a IDE harddrive from a pc under 300 gig, you should be able to go from there as
planned before.

#8 Thorin

Thorin

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 35 posts

Posted 31 August 2006 - 11:25 PM

It is possible to Unlock all 3 types of original Xbox drives. The slim 10 GB drives are the trickiest, because you have to build a firmware reader/erasier. Pretty simple if you have soldiering skills. The WD and other style 10 GB Seagate HD can be unlocked via free software and a computer. The threads for unlocking drives are on these forms.

#9 _GhOsT_

_GhOsT_

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 970 posts
  • Location:
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 01 September 2006 - 03:34 AM

if you have a spare duox2 white chip laying around
you can use that to lock and unlock the hard drive

just go into flash bios and selected unlock then lock it

i have done this 3 times with different locked hard drives

#10 Chancer

Chancer

    Don't You Trust me?

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18,687 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 01 September 2006 - 01:02 PM

QUOTE(_GhOsT_ @ Sep 1 2006, 03:41 AM) View Post

if you have a spare duox2 white chip laying around
you can use that to lock and unlock the hard drive

just go into flash bios and selected unlock then lock it

i have done this 3 times with different locked hard drives

The drive is locked with the incorrect eeprom. That can only work if the drive is the correct one for the box.
If you could unlock HDDs as easy that people would never chuck away error 6 drives. They would simply keep a chipped xbox with flashbios on and unlock each drive.
QUOTE
The WD and other style 10 GB Seagate HD can be unlocked via free software and a computer. The threads for unlocking drives are on these forms

You mean you have had this work ? I have never got them to work. One guy in newbie chat even paid the fee to unlock one drive, got the software and it never worked.
Grab a new drive or as smokingmods says use a second hand PC one but make sure the drive you use is unlocked.

#11 Julius Pleaser

Julius Pleaser

    X-S Expert

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPip
  • 504 posts
  • Location:Ottawa, ON Canada
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:none

Posted 02 September 2006 - 07:41 PM

I agree with chancer, I think you are SOL with the locked HD without the xbox it was locked in. Just get a new HD and use that one.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users