Jump to content


Photo

Just How Much Mods Can You Add?


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 whispershadows

whispershadows

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 9 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:none

Posted 11 September 2006 - 10:53 PM

This may seam like a silly question but I am curious as to how much mods can be used at once because I run into xbox lockups and DDE's at strange times (going into and out of the balmora mages guild, even got one going into the rat in the pot in in ald'rhun) Right now I am running the following mods but if someone knows if the mods I am running might "overload" the xbox could they say something.

Better Bodies
Better Heads
Xbox Visual Pack
Creeper Gold
A nice place to stay
Imperial Legion Shirt

I kinda like the game looking nice if you couldn't tell, I also like my experience a little more convient. I'm thinking all of it may be to much and am willing to get rid of some of them in exhcnge for a more stable game if that would work but I am hopping to get some others opinions.

On a side note I tried installing balmora market and all I got where DDEs, also whenever i install the master index mod (from bethsoft) all people options disappeared (couldn't give package to casius, fargoth didn't comment on his ring ect.) If the reason they don't work is attached to me maybe running to many mods or if I am clueless about some part of thier installation please let me know. Anyways have a good one all and thanks for any help offered or merly expressing an opinion on if to many mods are possible.


#2 oozingrectum

oozingrectum

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 62 posts
  • Location:ol' MacDonald's farm
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 13 September 2006 - 05:28 AM

I have 17 mods or so installed and have no errors.

I don't remember exactly what, but some were:
- Assassians (sp?) armory
- Xbox visuauls pack
- Vibrant Morrowind
- Better bodies
- Better heads
- Creeprs gold

I'll type it all out when I get a chance to check tomorrow.

#3 bigbrd222

bigbrd222

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 87 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 08 October 2006 - 01:09 AM

On PC, it's 251.

As long as you dan't take up too much memory, you can probably run that many on Xbox as well.

#4 Pyro0623

Pyro0623

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 400 posts
  • Location:Kelowna, BC Canada
  • Interests:Computers and technology, Xbox moddin', Playin' vids on my xbox.
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 20 October 2006 - 02:41 AM

A good guideline for adding mods is to keep in mind the xbox oly has 64Mb ram.
The game itself takes up quite a sizeable chunk of this, so any additional content you throw in there will slowly use up what little ram is left. also unlike a PC, the xbox doesn't have a page file/Swap space, so when it's out of memory, it's just plain out of memory and gives DDEs.

Three things to keep in mind when tossing in mods:

1. Anything that adds new textures and/or meshes, will use quite a bit of ram.
2. Any mods that are Just a single ESP/ESM will use next to none.
3. My golden rule: When adding a bunch of mods at once, add ONE, test it and make sure it doesnt screw up quests and stuff. add another and repeat as nessesary. trust me, it will save you a lot of hassle in the long run.

And a final note, if you do add or remove mods frequently, don't keep using the same save, it will eventually get so full of old refs that it will just not work very well.

EDIT: spelling

Edited by Pyro0623, 20 October 2006 - 02:47 AM.


#5 Rwolf

Rwolf

    X-S X-perience

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPip
  • 409 posts
  • Location:Stockton, California
  • Interests:I like everything! from toys to boys its all good! ^_^
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 22 October 2006 - 09:40 PM

Well I have well over 60 mods added in the game, though all of the mods that contained images (.dds or tga) had to be converted to .dds and shrunk to xbox default size so i wouldnt overload anything.... anyways, having dont that, i can have a whole lot of mods and i rarely ever get the DDE...

#6 shadowfall

shadowfall

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 102 posts
  • Location:Richland, Wa
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 09 November 2006 - 11:18 AM

This is one of those questions that never dies, lol. You can have as many mods as won't overflow the 64mb of ram. I have personally had up to fifteen at a time, several small and a few medium mods.

#7 Rwolf

Rwolf

    X-S X-perience

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPip
  • 409 posts
  • Location:Stockton, California
  • Interests:I like everything! from toys to boys its all good! ^_^
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 14 November 2006 - 08:28 PM

hehe, mine arent small! heres a wee list of em!!

Advanced Save System
Adventurers TC
New Argonian Bodies
Argonian Neck Fix
Authentic Signs
Bandits Unlocked
Better Balanced Birthsigns
Better Beasts
Better Bodies
Better Heads - Bloodmoon
Better Heads - Tribunal
Better Heads
Better Vaults
Blight Infections
Bloodmoon Wolf Greaves Fix
Book Jackets - Bloodmoon
Book Jackets - Tribunal
Book Jackets - Morrowind
Book Placement Fix - Bloodmoon
Book Placement Fix - Morrowind
Book Placement Fix - Tribunal
Brittlewind Fix
Character Development - Expansions
Character Development
Cities Unlocked
Cities Unlocked - Bloodmoon
Cities Unlocked - Tribunal
Clearer Lighting
Clothing Pelvis Fix
Collapse
Combat Angle Adjustment
Dodge Mod
Complete Dragonscale Armor
Fall Damage
Forrested Morrowind
Get Diseases
Haunted Tombs
Herbalism Redux
Hunger Mod
Imp Guards Anticlone - Better Heads
Imp Guards Anticlone
Improved Inns
Key Replacer - Expansions
Key Replacer
Lanterns
Leafy Morrowind
Leveled Animated Practice Dummies
Marksman Enhanced
Mog Mod
Moogle Supplies
Morrowind Comes Alive
Natural Water
Nightime Door Locks
No Thieving Start
Potion Upgrade
Propylon Lighting
Rainforest of the Bitter Coast
Realistic Weather
Reflective Gold
Recources Enhanced
Restore Potions Fix
Ring Texture Fix
Signs Replacer
Sleep Mod
Sneak Modifiers
Sound Enhancements
Swimming Realism
Temperature
Templar Pauldrons Fix
Texture Fix - Bloodmoon
Texture Fix
Time 2x
Vampire - Werewolf
Vampire Upgrade
Weathered Signs
Werewolf Evolution
Windows Glow

theres about 78+ counting unlisted ones, like vibrant morrowind, better bottles, gothic crosshairs, etc...

Just recenly I added Morrowind Comes Alive, and fixed the DDEs, even in Ebonheart, It shwas fun...

#8 Clockface

Clockface

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 574 posts

Posted 23 December 2006 - 01:45 PM

Rwolf, can you make a zip/rar file with all of those files in, please? I'd love to try Vibrant Morrowind, Morrowind comes alive and so on on the XBox.

#9 Rwolf

Rwolf

    X-S X-perience

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPip
  • 409 posts
  • Location:Stockton, California
  • Interests:I like everything! from toys to boys its all good! ^_^
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 24 December 2006 - 06:17 PM

yeah sure, but it would be a big file, and would require you to hex edit your morrowind.esm file (i removed all the ambient lighting in my esm and all my mods and had a mod that makes the lights the dominent light source in the game... so basically, if a room has lots of lights it's bright, if it has a few lights, it's dark...)

#10 Si-Co_Cid

Si-Co_Cid

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 11 January 2007 - 02:55 PM

Is there not away to replace the box's ram with an upgraded one like 256mb? or 512mb? or is that a stupid thing to think or even ask? blink.gif

#11 forprog

forprog

    X-S X-perience

  • Moderator
  • PipPip
  • 399 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 12 January 2007 - 08:52 PM

Try the General Hardware/Technical Chat forum for an answer to the ram question

#12 Lesaras

Lesaras

    X-S Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • Pip
  • 64 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 02 February 2007 - 01:53 AM

As far as land, question, people mods, RAM isn't the problem, because only pieces of mods affecting the current area are loaded at one time. Now if you had 50 different mods adding people into Balmora, you might have problems in Balmora due to having to process so many actors. (Happened to me with the Army of Death mod)

That's why I encourage those people who make full scale mods with new areas, people, buildings, to make it on a new island and limit the amount of people in the current Morrowind area to a few to get you to the mod or a miscellanious side-quest back to the mainland. That way, your mod only has to be processed when you are within its area, without the usual Morrowind references.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users