Jump to content


Photo

Insomniac: Why Resistance Needs 22 Gigs


  • Please log in to reply
47 replies to this topic

#1 redwolf

redwolf

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,323 posts
  • Location:U.K.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 12 September 2006 - 09:14 PM

just to follow up to this topic
http://forums.xbox-s...howtopic=541966

now they giving reason as why...
QUOTE
Part of the reason for the game's vast storage requirements, which are over three times what the largest Xbox 360 game can handle, are due to the game's massive, detailed-packed environments. Price explains that many levels and sub-levels take up over 300 megs each, even after compression. Price expects over 40 "different large loaded areas" on the final disc, between the game's single-player campaign and multiplayer arenas.

read full here

#2 Storm28

Storm28

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 23 posts

Posted 12 September 2006 - 09:20 PM

Did you see the next paragraph?:

QUOTE
Game cinemas also share some of the blame, as Resistance will offer game moves in high-def HD and PAL formats, audio for all supported languages, as well as "some of those Insomniac 'extras' that our fans have come to expect."


Since the disks are region free, they are putting everything on one disk. So that means multiple versions of the same video and audio. No wonder it's taking 22G.

#3 redwolf

redwolf

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,323 posts
  • Location:U.K.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 12 September 2006 - 09:33 PM

QUOTE(Storm28 @ Sep 12 2006, 09:27 PM) View Post

Did you see the next paragraph?:
Since the disks are region free, they are putting everything on one disk. So that means multiple versions of the same video and audio. No wonder it's taking 22G.

yeah i read it.... but 300megs per level? even if you compress (if not compressed already) it to 50%, thats like a total of 6gigs just the levels huh.gif

#4 Kira Yamoto

Kira Yamoto

    X-S Senior Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPip
  • 265 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 12 September 2006 - 10:13 PM

Honestly this game sounds exciting. 40 multiplayer levels packed in w/ the game, as well as Insomniac extras which we know nothing about currently, but I'm sure that if I like the game at all, I'd appreciate it. 20+ gbs makes sense according to what he says in his blog. The game is slated for a worldwide release, all that would be needed to change is the reigon code for each reigon that it's sold in.

This is what some, or most Xbox games did and I'm glad that they're doing this for PS3 as its gonna speed up the release date for our fellow European gamers. Heck, they might even get some games FIRST. Hopefully this trend will continue with other companies, so that we may never have to import again, or if we do import, we can play it in our language.

Sony told us that the extra space would give us feature packed games and Resistance looks to be one of the 1st to set an example. That's what I call a great use of space. Just the multi-reigon thing alone enables quicker releases all across the world. That in itself is a revolution in the gaming marketplace. How would stuff like this NOT be good news?

Edited by Kira Yamoto, 12 September 2006 - 10:18 PM.


#5 Mr Invader

Mr Invader

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 814 posts
  • Location:Texas
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 12 September 2006 - 11:27 PM

Resistance....

Does it look good? yes
Does it look absolutely amazing and flawlessly beautiful? no

Does it look like fun? yes
Is it anything that Halo 3 can't handle? HELL NO

tongue.gif

#6 thax

thax

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,118 posts
  • Location:Canada
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 12 September 2006 - 11:45 PM

The primary reason Resistance needs 22 Gigs is to justify the blu-ray storage format.

#7 incognegro

incognegro

    X-S Hacker

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,519 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 12 September 2006 - 11:55 PM

Anybody actually believing the 300 meg per level part? blink.gif

"give a thirsty man a glass of water and he would savor it; but give that man a river and he would waste it"


anyways I like this game and I hope it turns out good, the ps3 NEEDS this game at launch.


QUOTE
That in itself is a revolution in the gaming marketplace


No its been done many times before. I must admit though that its definitely not a bad idea.

By the way...Insomniac ROXX!!! biggrin.gif

I remember when they did games like "disruptor" and "one" for the PSone. They were definitely slept-on.




#8 Foe-hammer

Foe-hammer

    X-S Messiah

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,416 posts
  • Location:Wyoming
  • Interests:Hunting, fishing, body building, video games
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 13 September 2006 - 02:09 AM

First of all, all this is a BR/ps3 marketing ploy. If anyone doesn't beleive this then you need to ask yourself, why is sony/insomniac advertising the games data size to begin with? There's your answer.

#9 incognegro

incognegro

    X-S Hacker

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,519 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 13 September 2006 - 02:37 AM

QUOTE(Foe-hammer @ Sep 13 2006, 02:16 AM) View Post

First of all, all this is a BR/ps3 marketing ploy. If anyone doesn't beleive this then you need to ask yourself, why is sony/insomniac advertising the games data size to begin with? There's your answer.



I'm aware of this hence my reason for the "is anybody really believing this" comment. Of course your gonna hear first parties talking this way but not third parties. Because those companies have invested interest in the console while the others only care for profit.


#10 yourM0M

yourM0M

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 363 posts
  • Location:West Orange County!!
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 13 September 2006 - 03:01 AM

QUOTE(Kira Yamoto @ Sep 12 2006, 10:20 PM) View Post

40 multiplayer levels packed in w/ the game


just so ya know it does say "over" 40 levels between single-player campaign "and" multi-player.....so really the majority could be single just like any other game.......but it will be cool if they have a large amount of multi levels all games should expand on that aspect, and not just "expansion" packs you gotta pay more $$$ for but thats business

#11 Mr Invader

Mr Invader

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 814 posts
  • Location:Texas
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 13 September 2006 - 03:22 AM

QUOTE
The Size Growth of the Xbox
Average for 2001: 1.81 gigs (21% of disc)
Average for 2002: 2.17 gigs (25% of disc)
Average for 2003: 2.47 gigs (29% of disc)
Average for 2005: 3.20 gigs (37% of disc)

Xbox 360 sample launch titles sizes
Condemned: 3.9 GB
Madden 06 NFL: 3.3 GB
Dead or Alive 4: 5 GB
NBA 06: 4.5 GB


http://www.joystiq.c...t-game-storage/

QUOTE
In fact, as programmers optimize code, it's not uncommon for programs to shrink. The original MechAssualt was 3.42 gigabytes, but MechAssualt 2 was only 2.29, a nearly 33% reduction in size. Yet MechAssualt II is considered a better looking game. Grand Theft Auto III is a paltry 733 megabytes, compared to Grand Theft Auto Vice City's still paltry 1.2 gigs. Silent Hill 2 clocked in at 4.88 gigs. It's sequel, Silent Hill 4, is only 3.16 gigabytes.


http://gamesfirst.com/?id=1132

DVD9 = GOOD
Blu-ray = Not BAD, but not GOOD



#12 bucko

bucko

    Super Moderator

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,996 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 13 September 2006 - 09:50 AM

I don't believe that, must be the most worst programming anyone has ever done. Just think how long the levels would take to load if they were 300MB (transferring from the Blu-Ray disk). I think he probably means each level cut-scene is in high-def, that would make more sense to me.

#13 NicoBech

NicoBech

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 28 posts
  • Location:Copenhagen, Denmark
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 13 September 2006 - 09:57 AM

Price clearly states that the 22gig BD contains both HD-video and PAL video (576i I think), the HD video should be huge... but the PAL video should't e small either... I'm a firm believer of ingame engine cut-scenes.. The game engines are good enough to do very good cutscenes instead of CG-cutscenes that the developer spend hours and hours and tons of money creating...... but that's just my opinion...


#14 Kira Yamoto

Kira Yamoto

    X-S Senior Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPip
  • 265 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 13 September 2006 - 10:30 AM

QUOTE
No its been done many times before. I must admit though that its definitely not a bad idea.


I know it's been done before, I don't know about 'many' but I know that it has been. The issue is that not all companies take advantage of it, and even on PS3, only Resistance is reported to be doing that. I'm just saying that if more companies took advantage of it, and the fact that they can't really complain about space anymore since Resistance will prove that you can do an all in one package for all reigons.

QUOTE
First of all, all this is a BR/ps3 marketing ploy. If anyone doesn't beleive this then you need to ask yourself, why is sony/insomniac advertising the games data size to begin with? There's your answer.


Because it's a common question among gamers and critics alike. Look at this forum post and youll instantly see topics that relate in some way towards BluRay and/or it's capacity. We're talking about it RIGHT NOW. It's one of THE MOST criticized piece of hardware in the PS3 and I doubt that anybody would disagree with me on that.

Honestly, just even revealing this info is going too far, and I for one appreciate that he answered one of the most asked questions on boards everywhere.

#15 NicoBech

NicoBech

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 28 posts
  • Location:Copenhagen, Denmark
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 13 September 2006 - 10:58 AM

Are the BD-ROM drive in PS3 able to read dual-layer or only single layer BD-discs?




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users