Jump to content


Photo

Faulty Daughter Boards...


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 z0mbi3

z0mbi3

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 13 September 2006 - 11:07 PM

Controller ports 1 & 4 have failed on my xbox. There was a period of inactivity where it just sat under my bed, and after firing it up found that said ports no longer worked.

As I understand things so far because ports 1 & 2 are on a seperate board to 3 & 4, if I swap I swap the 2 boards over shouldn't that give me a working 1 & 4 and a broken 2 & 3?

I only say this because I hardly ever use more than 1 controler, and since I only recently chipped my xbox I'm finding its pretty essential to have a working first port. If this would work it would mean I wouldn't have to hunt down replacement boards.

Also are there any good tutorials for daughter board removal? I used the search but the links to the tutorials were either dead or incomplete.

Thanks in advance.

#2 Alex548

Alex548

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,411 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Your mom's house
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 13 September 2006 - 11:22 PM

It's one long board and both sets of controller ports connect directly to it.
Here's a picture: IPB Image

It's rather small, but you can obviously see there's no way to swap anything around since it's just one long board.

Why whould you need a daughterboard removal tutorial? Just disconnect the controller ports & Power/Eject cables, then simply pull the board out. It's not rocket science.

Edited by Alex548, 13 September 2006 - 11:24 PM.


#3 z0mbi3

z0mbi3

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 13 September 2006 - 11:23 PM

arr I guess it's replacement time then. I 'll take a closer look at my board tomorrow.

Are all daughter boards the same or do I have to get one that matches my xbox version?

#4 Alex548

Alex548

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,411 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Your mom's house
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 13 September 2006 - 11:26 PM

Daughterboards only exist on 1.0 motherboards.
It was integrated into future motherboard versions so anytime you see a daughterboard, you'll know it's specifically for 1.0 motherboards.

#5 FrostyTheSnowman

FrostyTheSnowman

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,674 posts
  • Location:Utah
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 14 September 2006 - 04:33 AM

NOTE: DO NOT remove the Power/Eject cable before disconnecting the daughterboard. The power plug is so dramatically close to the daughterboard that it is EASY to break a pair of inductors right off the daughterboard.

So, what you need to do is disconnect the daughterboard, and move it out of the way just enough to disconnect the yellow power cable. Then to install the new one, just connect the Power/Eject cable first, and then carefully connect the daughterboard.

#6 z0mbi3

z0mbi3

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 14 September 2006 - 06:29 AM

QUOTE(Alex548 @ Sep 13 2006, 11:33 PM) View Post

you'll know it's specifically for 1.0 motherboards.


*Sigh* I have a 1.1 xbox sad.gif

Any ideas what I can do next? Is it possible to just swap the controler ports around?

Edited by z0mbi3, 14 September 2006 - 06:33 AM.


#7 FrostyTheSnowman

FrostyTheSnowman

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,674 posts
  • Location:Utah
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 14 September 2006 - 02:15 PM

Yes you can, but i'm thinking that the actual ports are physically damaged. Getting a new set of ports should fix the problem.

#8 Zebes

Zebes

    X-S Expert

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPip
  • 519 posts
  • Location:Oroville, CA
  • Interests:Xbox modding
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 14 September 2006 - 05:13 PM

physicaly switch the controller ports
and if 1/ 4 work and 2/3 don't, then it is your actual ports

#9 z0mbi3

z0mbi3

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 14 September 2006 - 05:37 PM

Well I just swapped the ports around. 2,3 and 4 work. 1 Doesn't!!!

To me that points to a mobo probelm but I'm really hoping its not.

Any thoughts? I need port 1 to use most homebrew sad.gif

#10 Zebes

Zebes

    X-S Expert

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPip
  • 519 posts
  • Location:Oroville, CA
  • Interests:Xbox modding
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 14 September 2006 - 05:45 PM

lol, it figures that the one you need is the only one not to work

also, something that happened to me once and confused the hell out of me was, my dongles went bad, they would work on some ports and not others of my xbox and perfect on a different xbox, but once i replaced them they worked all the time


so maybe try a new controller/dongle

also, check the pins that plug into the mobo and make sure that the are in the plastic holder nice and tight
i highly doubt that this is a mobo problem

#11 z0mbi3

z0mbi3

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 14 September 2006 - 06:08 PM

I've just had another look under there. It's definitley connected properly. I tried using my remotes dongle in the port and it doesn't work either. I'm using xbox mc as the test because my remote works under there on the other ports too.

I know port 1 works when I set in port 3 so I don't get whats going on grr.gif

Surely this points to a fault on the motherboard?

#12 FrostyTheSnowman

FrostyTheSnowman

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,674 posts
  • Location:Utah
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 14 September 2006 - 07:12 PM

I'm guessing that it is infact a motherboard problem then. What I recommend you do is follow the traces of the power wire (red wire) and use a multimeter to check any fuses and resistors along it's way to the USB IC. Another thing you may want to do is check for 5v of power on the power wire. (red wire)

This of course assumes that you know how to use a multimeter.

#13 z0mbi3

z0mbi3

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 14 September 2006 - 08:40 PM

Yeah I do, ill go dig out my multimeter now sad.gif

#14 z0mbi3

z0mbi3

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 14 September 2006 - 09:09 PM

K just a little update. I've done some priliminary multimeter readings. The pin for the red wire on the mobo for the offending port reads 5.1 volts. I've taken readings from the actual port itself. I get 5.1 on the first contact (as in first from the left) as expected but 0 on the second. When I check the second contact from the left on the other port I get 0.03 v.

I don't know how relevant this is but it was just my first observation.

What else should I be looking for? Wishing there was some way to just make the xbox forget about controler 1 and treat 2 as the default.

Edited by z0mbi3, 14 September 2006 - 09:27 PM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users