Jump to content


Photo

Windows Xp On Xbox


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 charly_cat

charly_cat

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 25 September 2006 - 07:46 PM

I saw one friend that has win xp on the psp. If the xbox is harwarely better than psp, why cannot xbox run a xp version like psp?


#2 silentbob343

silentbob343

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 825 posts

Posted 25 September 2006 - 09:25 PM

QUOTE(charly_cat @ Sep 25 2006, 02:53 PM) View Post

I saw one friend that has win xp on the psp. If the xbox is harwarely better than psp, why cannot xbox run a xp version like psp?

"pspWxp allows you to use Windows XP on your Playstation Portable. It is a set of webpages that look similar to Windows XP, but they are offline. It has some useful features: lots of games and applications. It is only 1.5 Megabytes in size, and will fit on any memory card."
http://www.youtube.c...w...ted&search=
"Another video of my portal, this time in version 0.4 BETA. " Keyword is Portal

Edited by silentbob343, 25 September 2006 - 09:27 PM.


#3 torne

torne

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 684 posts
  • Location:London, UK
  • Interests:Reverse engineering, Linux, crazy operating systems voodoo, embedded development
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 26 September 2006 - 11:17 AM

It's just a local website that looks like Windows. It doesn't do anything useful.

#4 charly_cat

charly_cat

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 26 September 2006 - 08:42 PM

aaah! I didnt know that tongue.gif I know that dont was full xp... because in a psp its quite impossible smile.gif I saw in a web page that psp could run win 95... so more or less... rolleyes.gif

and did u read the last post, called question over windows, here: http://forums.xbox-s...howtopic=548419 its possible to run win98 with dosbox???

#5 torne

torne

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 684 posts
  • Location:London, UK
  • Interests:Reverse engineering, Linux, crazy operating systems voodoo, embedded development
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 27 September 2006 - 11:50 AM

QUOTE(charly_cat @ Sep 26 2006, 08:49 PM) View Post

and did u read the last post, called question over windows, here: http://forums.xbox-s...howtopic=548419 its possible to run win98 with dosbox???

It's not possible to run Win98 under DOSEMU, no (I assume that's what you're talking about). You can run it under QEMU or VMWare.

#6 cTTbLaKeMAn

cTTbLaKeMAn

    X-S Senior Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPip
  • 281 posts
  • Location:Detroit, Michigan
  • Interests:Halo 2'ing, SKATEboarding, Computer, Mountain Biking, Swimming, Boating, Tubing.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 19 October 2006 - 10:01 PM

win XP wouldnt even install on 64 mb of RAM. you need like 128 or better. but then i suppose you could do a RAM upgrade. smile.gif

#7 blakholephysics

blakholephysics

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 68 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 05 November 2006 - 06:58 AM

QUOTE(cTTbLaKeMAn @ Oct 19 2006, 03:08 PM) View Post

win XP wouldnt even install on 64 mb of RAM. you need like 128 or better. but then i suppose you could do a RAM upgrade. smile.gif


I have to disagree: http://winhistory.de.../xpmini_eng.htm

It is possible..

#8 deathx88

deathx88

    X-S Hacker

  • Dev/Contributor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,338 posts
  • Location:Florida
  • Interests:xbox stuff, guitar stuff, pc stuff, and hacking stuff
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:none

Posted 06 November 2006 - 08:56 AM

people have already ran xp on xbox, using the damn small linux port or whatever the hell its called

but it runs really damn slow and basically unusable

#9 SRI-Sajuuk

SRI-Sajuuk

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 61 posts
  • Location:Lavale, MD
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:v3.1 (opus)

Posted 06 January 2007 - 02:18 AM

QUOTE(cTTbLaKeMAn @ Oct 19 2006, 04:08 PM) View Post

win XP wouldnt even install on 64 mb of RAM. you need like 128 or better. but then i suppose you could do a RAM upgrade. smile.gif


Dude, ive run a full setup of WinXp professional at a decent speed on a 64 mb RAM Gateway desktop designed for win 98 2nd edition with an Pentium III clocked at about 700mhz (recently, it runs at 654mhz, but im building a new one here in about 2 weeks) jester.gif

of course i set page files on my secondary master drive, and got an AGP card with 128 MB of vid memory for it to ease the pain...lol

Edited by SRI-Sajuuk, 06 January 2007 - 02:19 AM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users