Jump to content


Photo

Do You Use Your Xbox360 As A Media Center Extender?


  • Please log in to reply
40 replies to this topic

Poll: Do you use your Xbox360 as a Media Center Extender?

Do you use your Xbox360 as a Media Center Extender?

You cannot see the results of the poll until you have voted. Please login and cast your vote to see the results of this poll.
Vote Guests cannot vote

#1 XanTium

XanTium

    Xanta Powa!

  • Admin
  • 3,110 posts
  • Location:Solaris
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 30 September 2006 - 09:02 PM

feel free to vote/discuss

#2 CloakedHunter

CloakedHunter

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 124 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 30 September 2006 - 09:13 PM

Yes, and it's freaking awesome. Transcode 360 is magical.

#3 mitch2025

mitch2025

    X-S X-perience

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPip
  • 442 posts
  • Location:Cincinnati ohio
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 30 September 2006 - 09:15 PM

yea i use it. its awsome. i use VLC360 instead of Transcode360 though

#4 ElGato

ElGato

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 30 September 2006 - 10:37 PM

Both 360 and HTPC connected to same 32" LCD so no need.

Edited by ElGato, 30 September 2006 - 10:38 PM.


#5 loose.unit8

loose.unit8

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 25 posts

Posted 30 September 2006 - 10:52 PM

Is it as good / easy to use etc as Xbox Media Center on a modded xbox1?

#6 dre74

dre74

    X-S X-perience

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPip
  • 304 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.6b
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 30 September 2006 - 11:01 PM

nope XBMC takes those duties.

#7 avatar1976

avatar1976

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 149 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 30 September 2006 - 11:39 PM

QUOTE(dre74 @ Sep 30 2006, 11:08 PM) View Post

nope XBMC takes those duties.


Well I thought that too until I found out with MCE2005 and a media extender you can make your home PC in your computer room, your digital TV set top box in effect.

#8 The Reepr

The Reepr

    X-S Senior Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPip
  • 162 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 01 October 2006 - 12:28 AM

I have to say, microsoft didn't mess up on the media functions of the 360, but it gets the shit kicked out of it by XBMC. Free source all in one media player that does everythng you wish it could do and more. It's an all in one. People use it as thier DASHBOARD. Now, let's see if 360's media center will have full customization, ability to edit features (I'm not saying to the extent of XBMC, but certain things should be changeble.) So cheers to all who agree with supporting X360 MC, but still choose XBMC because it certainly IS JUST BETTER. No opinion needed. [/rant]

#9 RaFaMp

RaFaMp

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 19 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 01 October 2006 - 12:41 AM

I'd use it, if i knew how to...

#10 avatar1976

avatar1976

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 149 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 01 October 2006 - 01:37 AM

Can you stream live tv out of media portal yet using xbmc, as soon as you can do that I'm going back to XBMC as my main system, aside from that major flaw xbmc is t3h r0X0Rs jester.gif

#11 Altima NEO

Altima NEO

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,404 posts
  • Interests:Gaming, XBox, 360, PSP, Dreamcast, 3D Graphics & Animation
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 01 October 2006 - 03:04 AM

I dont have a media center pc. On top of that my PC is a loud, hot beast. It would be annoying to have it on while running the 360 (which is also loud and hot).
XBMC does everything I could ever want to do. I just use SAMBA file sharing on my mac mini, and its all good.

#12 epsilon72

epsilon72

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,213 posts
  • Location:Arizona
  • Interests:updating my interests section of my profile
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:none

Posted 01 October 2006 - 03:34 AM

My 360 will be used as a "media center extender" when the real Xbox Media Center can run on it. Until then, I have no need to as my 360 and PC are hooked up to the same display.

#13 BasicAir

BasicAir

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 552 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Interests:Everything.
  • Xbox Version:v1.5
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 01 October 2006 - 04:59 AM

I got my 360 at launch, didn't get XP MCE until a month ago. I must say that it's very, very good.

XBMC is great in that it plays basically -anything- but I must say that I think it's been overhyped. It's a great media player, but I still preferred (yes I sold my Xbox1) to use Avalaunch as my dash and I made my own custom INI/XML file for Ava so that the top link was "Games", second was "XBMC", etc.

I rarely used XBMC and I rarely use MCE on my 360 but it's very, very nice.

Sure MCE doesn't support a lot of video formats for playback, but with Transcode 360 it does! So I've watched some 720P/1080i movies using Transcode 360 on my PC and MCE on my 360 and it works like a charm! Excellent HD movie playback along with DD5.1 or whatever the file may be coded with for audio.

However, I do have complaints....

The biggest complaint I have is if I go to "Best of Web" in MCE on my 360, so I can catch all kinds of games/videos/trailers from the net (like Comedy Central's "The Stash" which is GREAT) but that feature laggs like hell.

Also, a lot of features in MCE won't work if you are using the limited edition "mini" media remotes like that one I got with my 360 since I got it at launch. So this means I have to use a controller to do certain things!

All in all MCE is great and I'm glad as hell I transitioned from XP Pro SP2 to XP MCE 2005 Edition. It's just a shame I don't use it more often....

Oh yeah, as far as Transcode 360 goes, sure it will let me playback HD movies from my PC in formats like .ts, etc., BUT you can't FF or Rewind. I heard with the better media remotes you can use a 30-second skip button but, of course, I have the mini limited edition media remote so I don't have that button. Even if I did, a 30-second skip still isn't as good as a real FF/Rew. That's not a big deal though, so I can live with that.

I'm gonna research this VLC 360 the dude above mentioned and maybe that will stream HD .ts (and other format) files but actually allow me to FF/Rew, which again Transcode 360 doesn't do!

Anyone without XP MCE is really missing out. I recommend everyone go out and buy/download/whatever XP MCE for their PC to use the Extender on the 360 to the fullest potential like myself and other friends. smile.gif

#14 Yorper

Yorper

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 13 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 01 October 2006 - 12:16 PM

Needs option for those that dont even own a 360.

#15 NerdENerd

NerdENerd

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 292 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 01 October 2006 - 01:32 PM

I have an XP machine hooked up to my LCD TV so no need. I tried XP Media Center but I thought it was crap. The software that came with my digital TV capture card is heaps better.
http://www.digitalno...live/index.html




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users