Jump to content


Photo

Xbox 360 Dead Ethernet Port.


  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 motosoko

motosoko

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 40 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.6

Posted 30 September 2006 - 10:31 PM

I have tested the connection to XBL and theres no response on the first step. It says not connected for Network adapter but my router is connected 100% and is working because my regular xbox and computer can network and go online. It won't even show if there is connectivity on the router to the 360 and no luck, so I know that its the box. Is there anyway I can fix this? DO you think that it might be internal? If so, where on the mother board is the Common parts that fry or break down for the ethernet port so I can solder it.

#2 hamwbone

hamwbone

    X-S Hacker

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,775 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:AS SEEN ON TV
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 01 October 2006 - 12:00 AM

you have tried using another network cable i hope?

#3 shodanjr_gr

shodanjr_gr

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 554 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 01 October 2006 - 12:45 AM

You have also made sure that you havent set some custom settings to the 360 that cause it to be unable to get an IP address from your router?


#4 Havok

Havok

    X-S Messiah

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,745 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 01 October 2006 - 06:26 AM

Call MS and they can walk you through some things as well..

#5 motosoko

motosoko

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 40 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.6

Posted 02 October 2006 - 08:36 AM

well yeah, i tried using a different cord and still it fails to connect on the first step. I even tried connecting through a direct connection to my motorola surfboard modem. Well here are some pictures of the tv on the first step. any ideas?

IPB Image

#6 Morlok8k

Morlok8k

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 520 posts
  • Location:Pluto (It is still a Planet!)
  • Interests:Games<br />xbox modding<br />computer fixing<br />sex (with women)<br />drinking
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 02 October 2006 - 09:49 AM

ok: run the test, click [More Info], Press (Y). then tell us the WXYZ codes.

i tested my xbox with no cable in it and got:

W: 0000 - 0000
X: 8000 - 0011
Y: 0000 - 0000
Z: 0000 - 0000


(with a perfect connection to XBL i got:
W: 0000 - 000B
X: 0000 - F001
Y: 20A8 - 4860
Z: 8007 - 2F78
That is a wired connection, IP, DNS, MTU. ICMP all comfirmed, XBL Connected, and NAT open.
your codes will be different.
)

Oh, and we (the community) dont know for sure what the XYZ codes actually mean, only microsoft does. i know that we made great progress on the xbox 1 with figuring out the XYZ codes, but i havnt looked into it on the 360. (might be different)

If you cant fix this and if you can't or don't want to replace your 360, I'd suggest going wireless.


#7 v600blink

v600blink

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 25 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.5
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 11 June 2008 - 08:49 AM

it is two years down the road from this post and i am having this problem now on my console.

I -
Do NOT have a modded xbox360
Do have a compatible router
Have tried different ethernet cables
have called 8004myxbox and had no real help


i cannot connect to live and i cannot connect to my tversity pc.

I get the disconnected message and i get the same error codes as if it wasnt connected.

i have searched on these forums and the internet and all i seem to find is bs posts only about how people are "banned" from that error code, and thats not always the case, seeing as how i cannot even connect INTERNALLY to a pc on my network.

thanks in advance.

#8 ssj4android

ssj4android

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 371 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 11 June 2008 - 09:02 PM

My brother's 360 also has a broken ethernet port because the router it was connected to got surged. He just bought a wireless adapter.
But is there any way to fix it oneself?

#9 v600blink

v600blink

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 25 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.5
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 11 June 2008 - 10:03 PM

QUOTE(ssj4android @ Jun 11 2008, 04:38 PM) View Post

My brother's 360 also has a broken ethernet port because the router it was connected to got surged. He just bought a wireless adapter.
But is there any way to fix it oneself?


i borrowed a wireless adapter from a friend, it works but i cannot stream movies correctly. i always get hiccups in the stream. could it be possible to buy a motherboard that wont work but the ethernet still is good? solder it on?

#10 Havok

Havok

    X-S Messiah

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,745 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 12 June 2008 - 07:35 AM

Probably not as I'm sure its not the connector that has gone bad but a fuse connected to it.

I believe the fuse to check is FB181... its on the right hand side of the network chip labeled 1893bflf.

#11 v600blink

v600blink

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 25 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.5
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 12 June 2008 - 05:46 PM

microsoft said i could send it in for 99 dollars which included a new 1 year warranty and repair and shipping / handling. its either that or send it in as a red ring? :\

#12 Nexi

Nexi

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 159 posts
  • Location:Eastern PA | NYC
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 10 December 2008 - 06:12 AM

QUOTE(Havok @ Jun 12 2008, 02:11 AM) View Post

Probably not as I'm sure its not the connector that has gone bad but a fuse connected to it.

I believe the fuse to check is FB181... its on the right hand side of the network chip labeled 1893bflf.


I've got the same problem. That fuse is checking out fine on mine. Know of any other fuses to check?

#13 zairious

zairious

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 10 December 2008 - 11:46 PM

Yes I am having the same PROBLEM! I tried different cables, different connections, Even took the ethernet cable out of my computer and plugged it in. Its not even making contact with the network. The port is damaged but not on the outside- Done checked. Yeah sure I can send it to microsoft but my drive is flashed?

Any advice besides buying a USB adaptor and sending to microsoft?

QUOTE(Havok @ Jun 12 2008, 08:11 AM) View Post

Probably not as I'm sure its not the connector that has gone bad but a fuse connected to it.

I believe the fuse to check is FB181... its on the right hand side of the network chip labeled 1893bflf.



I will definetly try this later.

Edited by zairious, 10 December 2008 - 11:50 PM.


#14 D3troitGangsta

D3troitGangsta

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 35 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 11 December 2008 - 12:21 AM

I don't know how handy you guys are but if you're feeling froggy after checking fuses you could buy a busted 360's MB and desolder the port and throw it in your 360, I had to do this once with my neighbors 360, I was skeptical at first but it worked.

#15 Nexi

Nexi

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 159 posts
  • Location:Eastern PA | NYC
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 11 December 2008 - 12:34 AM

I'm debating that.. not sure if I should replace the port or the chip.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users