Jump to content


Photo

Help! Pc Won't Boot After Backing Up Xbox Firmware


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 waylman

waylman

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 15 posts

Posted 04 October 2006 - 03:03 AM

hello,

im hoping someone else has run into this

I hooked up my xbox to my primary sata port and backed up the firmware with the mtkflash r backup.bin command.

After this was done, I hooked my SATA HD's backup and unhooked the xbox. I am now getting a system disk not found error.

My SATA's are being detected as:

First Sata: LBA SATA 2 250GB
Second Sata: CHS SATA 2 300GB

Any idea why the one drive is CHS???

Has anyone else ran into this???? Help please!!!

#2 ash1471

ash1471

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 651 posts
  • Location:Stockport Manchester North West UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 04 October 2006 - 03:12 AM

QUOTE(waylman @ Oct 4 2006, 03:10 AM) View Post

hello,

im hoping someone else has run into this

I hooked up my xbox to my primary sata port and backed up the firmware with the mtkflash r backup.bin command.

After this was done, I hooked my SATA HD's backup and unhooked the xbox. I am now getting a system disk not found error.

My SATA's are being detected as:

First Sata: LBA SATA 2 250GB
Second Sata: CHS SATA 2 300GB

Any idea why the one drive is CHS???

Has anyone else ran into this???? Help please!!!


Have you changed your boot sequence back to normal. ???Instead of Floppy or usb device?

#3 waylman

waylman

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 15 posts

Posted 04 October 2006 - 03:16 AM

yeah, i changed it back to boot the HDD first

#4 ash1471

ash1471

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 651 posts
  • Location:Stockport Manchester North West UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 04 October 2006 - 03:38 AM

QUOTE(waylman @ Oct 4 2006, 03:23 AM) View Post

yeah, i changed it back to boot the HDD first



Very strange one this??

Are both your HD's sata?

If so make sure its looking at the drive with windows on it first....... Dont want to make u look stupid m8 but somtimes the problem is right in front of you.



#5 waylman

waylman

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 15 posts

Posted 04 October 2006 - 03:49 AM

yeah, it's a weird one

the system disk is on the 1st sata port so I'm not sure why windows is not finding a system disk. I think I'll try flashing the bios on my motherboard.

#6 ash1471

ash1471

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 651 posts
  • Location:Stockport Manchester North West UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 04 October 2006 - 03:53 AM

QUOTE(waylman @ Oct 4 2006, 03:56 AM) View Post

yeah, it's a weird one

the system disk is on the 1st sata port so I'm not sure why windows is not finding a system disk. I think I'll try flashing the bios on my motherboard.


Why would this help??

If it was working before it should work now. Surely?

#7 waylman

waylman

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 15 posts

Posted 04 October 2006 - 03:57 AM

no idea...it should definitely work...
im just out of ideas


#8 ash1471

ash1471

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 651 posts
  • Location:Stockport Manchester North West UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 04 October 2006 - 04:06 AM

QUOTE(waylman @ Oct 4 2006, 04:04 AM) View Post

no idea...it should definitely work...
im just out of ideas


This is going to be really obvious now. But have you put the power cable back in the HD or dissabled any sata controllers within bios. Im going to stop replying now as this is more like insulting you rather than trying to help.

#9 waylman

waylman

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 15 posts

Posted 04 October 2006 - 04:17 AM

dont worry about it, i appreciate your responses.

i did make sure all power was connected etc.

I'll report back on the mobo bios flash later

#10 ash1471

ash1471

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 651 posts
  • Location:Stockport Manchester North West UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 04 October 2006 - 04:24 AM

QUOTE(waylman @ Oct 4 2006, 04:24 AM) View Post

dont worry about it, i appreciate your responses.

i did make sure all power was connected etc.

I'll report back on the mobo bios flash later


Ok m8 smile.gif

#11 j3y q

j3y q

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 530 posts
  • Location:home
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 04 October 2006 - 07:36 AM

i had the same proble my pc wonld not boot after a flash i just had to recovery my pc no i alwasy unhook the hdd and back up like crazy, just one lesson i learned.

#12 The_Master

The_Master

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 32 posts

Posted 04 October 2006 - 03:41 PM

I had this same issue occur to me last night (flashed my 360 for the first time). When I reconnected my sata hdd's, I got the 'No Boot Disk' error. After troubleshooting different things, I found the following. For some reason, after flashing my 360, I had to connect my other storage sata hdd's on the 'slave' sata ports. Before, I could connect them to sata 2,3,4etc...With the main OS hdd on sata1. But after the flash, I had to connected the main drive to sata1, and then connect the other three storage drives to sata 5,6,7...Windows booted up fine after that change.
On my motherboard, the two sets of sata ports (slave and master) are seperate. You might want to try this on your to see if it makes a difference.

Edited by The_Master, 04 October 2006 - 03:42 PM.


#13 waylman

waylman

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 15 posts

Posted 04 October 2006 - 06:17 PM

i got it going. I have 4 HD's. 2 on IDE and 2 on SATA. I unplugged all drives except for the system disk and it booted. I could then reattach the other drives. weird shit.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users