Jump to content


Photo

Full VGA Support For Modchips!


  • Please log in to reply
388 replies to this topic

#376 FrostyTheSnowman

FrostyTheSnowman

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,674 posts
  • Location:Utah
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 04 March 2008 - 07:53 AM

IPB Image

The 'Frozen Cable' is officially out and available for sale through Divneo!

http://www.divineo.c...v-us/zz-xb-fcbl

NOTE: Neither myself nor Xman954 are profiting from these cables in any way. I do endorse them as being compatible with our BIOS, but we are not personally profiting from any sales.

IPB Image



#377 pepe4711

pepe4711

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 05 March 2008 - 08:01 PM

Hey Frosty,

at first thanks alot for all your efford you put in there.
I just had my frozen cable in the mail today.
Quality looks good, but so far im having some problems.

when i boot your vga bios with that cable attached everything looks good at first.
logo and executer config loading looks normal.
but as soon as i am in xbmc everything is green when using 720p.
when i switch to 16:9 ntsc colours are normal.
1080i no picture at all.

do you have any idea whats wrong?

i am from germany, therefor by box is switched from pal to ntsc

hope you or anybody can help me

greetz,
pepe

#378 FrostyTheSnowman

FrostyTheSnowman

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,674 posts
  • Location:Utah
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 06 March 2008 - 06:16 AM

Have you tried it on another monitor?

This cable has varying results with different monitors, the ones that are usually 100% 480p/720p/1080i compatible are the Sony Trinitrons, Viewsonics (any model), and Acers.

LCDs can also be a little picky, but most are at least 480p/720p compatible.

If your current monitor does not work or has a green tint at certain resolutions chances are that it's not fixable due to hardware limitations on the original XBOX.

Try another monitor, i'm sure your cable and BIOS are working properly, your monitor probably just doesn't like 720p or 1080i.

#379 pepe4711

pepe4711

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 06 March 2008 - 09:18 AM

thanks for your answer, but unfortunatly you are right.
i just tried it on a pc monitor, and it works. it looks a little bright, but propably ajustable.

so for my tv, a toshiba 42wl66z it doesnt work.

damn, i was really hoping this way i could free up the component in on the tv for my 360, because right now the 360 is conntected via vga, which looks kinda crappy due to overscan.

well i guess the only solution for me is a component switch.

or do you think there might be a chance to get that to work with another xbox?
this one is a 1.4 or 1.5 with a Focus Chip
I also have an earlier one with a Conexant.

greetz,
pepe

Edited by pepe4711, 06 March 2008 - 09:29 AM.


#380 tirlibibi

tirlibibi

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 06 March 2008 - 11:35 PM

Same prob, works fine on a PC Monitor, but i tried on 3 differents TV, there is a sync prob at the top of the screen (around 1/4).


#381 FrostyTheSnowman

FrostyTheSnowman

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,674 posts
  • Location:Utah
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 07 March 2008 - 07:02 AM

Overall, Focus machines work great, but Conexant machines seem to be the most compatible with most monitors.

Try your Conexant machine. wink.gif

#382 FrostyTheSnowman

FrostyTheSnowman

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,674 posts
  • Location:Utah
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 07 March 2008 - 08:22 AM

Also, i've been informed that you can also find them at the following websites too:

http://www.thegametr...able-p-572.html

http://www.consolesh...o...ebase&bid=3

NOTE: Neither myself nor Xman954 are affiliated with either of these websites, we are just being helpful. wink.gif

#383 tirlibibi

tirlibibi

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 07 March 2008 - 01:14 PM

For French People Here :
http://www.assentek....roducts_id/2729

[img]
QUOTE(FrostyTheSnowman @ Mar 7 2008, 07:38 AM) View Post

Overall, Focus machines work great, but Conexant machines seem to be the most compatible with most monitors.

Try your Conexant machine. wink.gif


It is a Connexant !
IPB Image

Same in all resolutions


#384 RayTwoOneThree

RayTwoOneThree

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 343 posts
  • Location:DownTown Los Angeles 213
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 15 March 2008 - 06:11 PM

hello... I have a question... I have a 32 inch sharp tv. I currently have my xbox hooked up via componted connections. If I flash my xbox with the VGA bios and buy this cable would I get a better picture? With this set up?

#385 Matt Devo

Matt Devo

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 141 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 26 March 2008 - 08:45 PM

QUOTE(FrostyTheSnowman @ Mar 7 2008, 01:38 AM) View Post

Overall, Focus machines work great, but Conexant machines seem to be the most compatible with most monitors.


Same result here - with both a homemade VGA and a frozen cable, the conexant machine works perfectly, bus the focus one has a green tinge after the inital bios loading screen


#386 dokworm

dokworm

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 744 posts

Posted 25 June 2008 - 06:46 AM

QUOTE(FrostyTheSnowman @ Oct 13 2007, 07:05 AM) View Post

LOL, that's honestly the first time i've been asked that... happy.gif

Here's my reasoning:

1. The X2 5035 is a full-featured BIOS, compatible with all XBOX versions that support VGA (1.0-1.5)

2. All modchips (not just Xecuter ones, unlike the X3 BIOSes) with a 512k or 1MB bank can use it (including v1.0-1.1 TSOPs)

3. It has an easy-to-use configuration file (all other BIOSes need to be modified using either EVtool or XBtool)

4. Xecuter BIOSes seem to be the most popular overall

So, the X2 5035 not only covers all the most important features in a BIOS, but it was also the easiest to modify and hack. (in my experience, the Xecuter BIOSes are the most friendly to hacks) biggrin.gif

Although, the EvolutionX team makes a great BIOS too. I may be releasing an Evox M8+ version with my most recent VGA hacks pretty soon.


Just a shame it wasn't a 256k bios as a huge number of cheapmods out there can't use this.
I still can't get the vga bootdisk to work with drive G either, I feel like a noob, so I have had to stick with the vga patcher which means I still have green interlaced games, but the stuff that does work in VGA looks frickin' awesome. thanks again for working out how to get vga on the old box.



#387 wwwyzzerdd

wwwyzzerdd

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 55 posts
  • Location:Shreveport. LA
  • Interests:Modding and repairing game consoles and computers, and jammin on the guitar
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 18 August 2008 - 07:29 AM

ive flashed my tsop before, and im wondering if i would be able to add the patch to my bios on the tsop, cause i dont have a modchip, and how would i go about applying the patch, ive never had a modchip or delt with one, so i have no idea if the patch would be applied the same on the tsop as it is on a modchip, like i said ive flashed many tsop's so im not afraid to try, sorry to bump this old thread

#388 jeylee

jeylee

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 18 November 2009 - 04:05 PM

I have downloaded frosty's bios. I have executer 2.6 chip. I also have a frozen cable. Can somebody help me how can I flash my modchip with frosty's vga bios? I tried to follow chip flashing guide in the forum, but it gives me an error. Should I use xbtool? Where can I get help? Can somebody show me step-by-step how to complete this mod? Any help would be very appreciate.

#389 Nextelhalo

Nextelhalo

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 473 posts
  • Location:ATX
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 03 December 2009 - 09:47 PM

Check the flash protect switch on the chip and make sure that protect is diabled.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users