Jump to content


Photo

Host...


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 Foe-hammer

Foe-hammer

    X-S Messiah

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,416 posts
  • Location:Wyoming
  • Interests:Hunting, fishing, body building, video games
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 11 October 2006 - 11:18 AM

I know this has been asked before, and i knew at one point, but forgot how to check who the host went to. Does it has something to do with pressing up on the D-pad?

Also, what does it mean to 'wait for host'? If you jump out of a ranked game because you ended up not being the host, would it not count as a loss for you?

Thanks for any help.

#2 I Want More CowBell

I Want More CowBell

    The only Prescription is....

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 604 posts
  • Location:whaa
  • Interests:Get out! This part is just for the men!!!!!!!!!
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 12 October 2006 - 12:58 PM

when you are checking to see if someone is host...after stage 4 when it is loading game....hold "select" down until the games start and you see everyones name there...and whoever does not have a red X by their name is host...

#3 Foe-hammer

Foe-hammer

    X-S Messiah

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,416 posts
  • Location:Wyoming
  • Interests:Hunting, fishing, body building, video games
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 13 October 2006 - 06:27 AM

Thanks for that info.

I also found out if you are playing a team based game, if everyone on your team hold right on the d-pad the icon of the one who is hosting will light up blue.

#4 CJLee89

CJLee89

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,470 posts
  • Location:Marion, Ohio
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:none

Posted 13 October 2006 - 08:14 PM

its not "select" its the "back" button. also there can be more than one host; ppl can have co-host.

#5 BirdofPrey

BirdofPrey

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 339 posts
  • Location:BC, Canada
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 15 October 2006 - 07:32 AM

If you drop out of any ranked game, regardless of who has host, and your team loses in your absence you will lose the exp. points from that game, if your team goes on to win without you, you will still gain exp points.

There are a few ways to tell if your host, the back button trick usually shows you as mentioned above, also if you think you have it and are not sure, you can try a grenade jump, drop a grenade and jump into the blast, if you get boosted up higher than normal, then you have host as this only works when u r host.

Just don't worry about it, it's nice when you get it, but you won't have it more times than you will, so get used to playing off-host.

#6 I Want More CowBell

I Want More CowBell

    The only Prescription is....

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 604 posts
  • Location:whaa
  • Interests:Get out! This part is just for the men!!!!!!!!!
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 17 October 2006 - 04:52 PM

QUOTE(CJLee89 @ Oct 13 2006, 02:21 PM) View Post

its not "select" its the "back" button. also there can be more than one host; ppl can have co-host.

hahaha....why did i say the select button...im livin in the old days hahaha

#7 CJLee89

CJLee89

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,470 posts
  • Location:Marion, Ohio
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:none

Posted 18 October 2006 - 10:52 PM

QUOTE(I Want More CowBell @ Oct 17 2006, 11:59 AM) View Post

hahaha....why did i say the select button...im livin in the old days hahaha


its all good! smile.gif

#8 MDK1ll4

MDK1ll4

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 104 posts
  • Location:In front of my XboX
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 20 October 2006 - 01:56 AM

As stated before, using the back button will tell ya. I usually try gernade jumping to find out, but then again I get host like all the time now(Easily 90% of the time) so I just quit bothering.

Certain button glitchs wont work if your host, Like gernade reloads, Killed by Guardians trick, and so on.

Kinda sucks that Host is the only one to get knockback on explosions, meh.

Yeah after I softmodded my box I get host all the time now. I haven't done any ppf hacks or anything either, stock game and setup minus the softmod.

#9 I Want More CowBell

I Want More CowBell

    The only Prescription is....

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 604 posts
  • Location:whaa
  • Interests:Get out! This part is just for the men!!!!!!!!!
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 20 October 2006 - 08:47 PM

QUOTE(MDK1ll4 @ Oct 19 2006, 08:03 PM) View Post

As stated before, using the back button will tell ya. I usually try gernade jumping to find out, but then again I get host like all the time now(Easily 90% of the time) so I just quit bothering.

Certain button glitchs wont work if your host, Like gernade reloads, Killed by Guardians trick, and so on.

but its so much easier to hold the back button...then waiting for the game to start to do all those test... blink.gif

#10 CJLee89

CJLee89

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,470 posts
  • Location:Marion, Ohio
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:none

Posted 23 October 2006 - 07:50 PM

plus someone could shoot you with your shield down from blowing yourself up. ill stick with the back button.

#11 ownagesbot

ownagesbot

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 73 posts

Posted 24 October 2006 - 10:53 PM

why does it matter if your host or not?

when my friend is party leader we can both rocket jump i dont understand :\ also why does it only apply to hosts?

Edited by ownagesbot, 24 October 2006 - 10:57 PM.


#12 CJLee89

CJLee89

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,470 posts
  • Location:Marion, Ohio
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:none

Posted 25 October 2006 - 03:12 AM

some people say it matters and some say it doesnt. most of the time it does.

when you have host or co-host you can hit people from farther away, nade/rocket jumps are higher, etc. host will give you some advantages over the others.

Edited by CJLee89, 25 October 2006 - 03:12 AM.


#13 MDK1ll4

MDK1ll4

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 104 posts
  • Location:In front of my XboX
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 25 October 2006 - 04:03 AM

Yea host makes a world of difference if you know how to utilize it.

For instance the nade/rocket jump. If your in a game and someone chucks a nade at you, instead of just taking the brunt of it like you would if your off-host, jump before it explodes(You'll get the timing down pat soon enough) and it will luanch you. If you time it right you can land behind the person who chucked it if they're close enough. You can also use nade/rocket jumping to boost yourself to areas not normally reached.
For instance on lockout I can get to the top of sniper1 using only 2 nades in about 8 seconds and lay down some pain with the sniper rifle.

Host also has the advantadge of getting the info for the game first, before other players xboxs register the data back. Whats that mean? That means a HUGE advantadge for host in team swat games seeing as how if both players fire at the same time and then strafe outta the way, the off-hoster would/should die while the host would more then likely evade the bullets.

It really does make a big difference. The downside is some button glitches are off-host only like nade reload, tantrums, and so on.

#14 BirdofPrey

BirdofPrey

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 339 posts
  • Location:BC, Canada
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 25 October 2006 - 12:41 PM

It definately makes a big difference in team swat

#15 CJLee89

CJLee89

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,470 posts
  • Location:Marion, Ohio
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:none

Posted 26 October 2006 - 03:27 AM

QUOTE(MDK1ll4 @ Oct 24 2006, 11:10 PM) View Post

It really does make a big difference. The downside is some button glitches are off-host only like nade reload, tantrums, and so on.


how do you nade reload? and what are tantrums?? or any other button glitches?

i know double shot and thats it.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users