Jump to content


Photo

Arcade Games On Hd, What If It Crashes?


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Denus

Denus

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 19 October 2006 - 07:31 PM

I bought a lot of arcade games, but I'm wondering: what happens if my harddisk crashes?
Or imagine some day, Ms comes with a 100 Gb harddisk: how can I transfer the data from the current disk to the new one?

I spend a lot of money buying these games (Lumines isn't cheap!) so that's why I'm curious.

pop.gif



#2 celinedrules

celinedrules

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,430 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 19 October 2006 - 07:34 PM

QUOTE(Denus @ Oct 19 2006, 10:38 AM) View Post

Or imagine some day, Ms comes with a 100 Gb harddisk


No need to imagine
http://www.engadget....d-at-x06-korea/

#3 Denus

Denus

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 19 October 2006 - 07:39 PM

Yeah cool smile.gif but not yet available in my local store....

But anyway uhh.gif

#4 Xombe

Xombe

    X-S Xbox Xombe

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,198 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:PNW
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 20 October 2006 - 03:52 AM

Their registered to your gamertag/profile. You can just download them again. Bunch of threads on xbox.com about this.

#5 Morlok8k

Morlok8k

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 520 posts
  • Location:Pluto (It is still a Planet!)
  • Interests:Games<br />xbox modding<br />computer fixing<br />sex (with women)<br />drinking
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 20 October 2006 - 04:10 AM

or you could back up the old HDD and put the files on the new.


#6 Reaper527

Reaper527

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,499 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 20 October 2006 - 05:33 PM

QUOTE(Morlok8k @ Oct 19 2006, 11:17 PM) View Post

or you could back up the old HDD and put the files on the new.


thats not going to accomplish much though, the license has nothing to do with the harddrive. its linked to the gamertag and the system itself.

basically you would just have to restore your account on a new harddrive and redownload your stuff. your license will allow you to redownload the full version, and since it will be the same xbox, it will work for all user accounts.

#7 picopir8

picopir8

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 102 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 20 October 2006 - 05:40 PM

This has already hapened many many times with all the people who had to get their 360s replaced. IIRC, those people are able to re-download the game and play, but the account holder must be connected to live in order to play.

#8 Reaper527

Reaper527

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,499 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 20 October 2006 - 06:16 PM

QUOTE(picopir8 @ Oct 20 2006, 12:47 PM) View Post

This has already hapened many many times with all the people who had to get their 360s replaced. IIRC, those people are able to re-download the game and play, but the account holder must be connected to live in order to play.


actually, thats the opposite of what he's asking. your saying if his console breaks he can put the harddrive on another system and the owner account has to be logged in.

he's saying if he gets a new harddrive and puts it on the same machine what happens.

since the license allows all user accounts to play the full version of the game on that specific system, it should theoretically work like nothing was changed at all.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users