Jump to content


Photo

Burning Xbox 360 With Lg Gsa-4163b


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 jayess360

jayess360

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 31 October 2006 - 12:44 AM

I am planning to have my xbox 360 moded so I can play backups of my original games. I was wondering if my LG GSA-4163b will burn xbox 360 ? Did anybody ever tried with that model ?

Thanks !

I forgot : I have a Samsung drive in my 360

Edited by jayess360, 31 October 2006 - 12:56 AM.


#2 tnbigdawg

tnbigdawg

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 387 posts

Posted 31 October 2006 - 10:36 AM

I'm not sure what the specs are, but as long as it supports burning DVD+R DL then give it a try. Depending on which FW you flashed your 360 drive with, you might wanna check and see if it supports setting the booktype to DVD-ROM also.

Keep in mind you still need a 360 drive or replacement drive to be able to create a backup image from the original game.

#3 jayess360

jayess360

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 31 October 2006 - 06:37 PM

Thanks for the answer.

I was planning to buy the Samsun drive and get the Kreon firmware (I will not flash this myself) so I can read 360 disks into my PC.

Beside having thoose 2 drives, the one in the 360 hacked and the proper softwares, will I be ready to go ? smile.gif



#4 tnbigdawg

tnbigdawg

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 387 posts

Posted 01 November 2006 - 01:13 AM

You're pretty much ready to go. Make sure you use quality burn media.

Get Xbox Backup Creator, it'll save you tons of time and you won't have to install multiple programs like the other methods do.

Read over the tutorials again in case we missed something.

#5 myfranco

myfranco

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 820 posts
  • Location:Turkey-Istanbul
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 01 November 2006 - 07:34 PM

4163b is my drive and works perfectly if you have latest fw(can be samsung or hitachi , garyopa 2.2 or 2.3 and c4eva 4.2x).Be sure that bitsetting is not supported for this drive.However , you don't need bitsetting with the latest fw.

#6 jayess360

jayess360

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 02 November 2006 - 02:08 AM

Thanks for the tips

I've found pretty much everything I needed to know right here, at this forum (way to go people !). I'll let you how it turns out !

Bonne soirée !

#7 jesterrace777

jesterrace777

    X-S Transcendental

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,747 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 02 November 2006 - 02:26 AM

Yup, with a Sammy drive you should be fine with your LG. Could be an issue if you have one of the Hitachi drives (although the latest firmwares with the media checks fix most of these problems).

#8 328iGuy

328iGuy

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 111 posts
  • Location:Canada EH!
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 07 November 2006 - 06:19 PM

QUOTE(myfranco @ Nov 1 2006, 01:41 PM) View Post

4163b is my drive and works perfectly if you have latest fw(can be samsung or hitachi , garyopa 2.2 or 2.3 and c4eva 4.2x).Be sure that bitsetting is not supported for this drive.However , you don't need bitsetting with the latest fw.


I have the LG-4163B as well but it is still running the original firmware it came with, will have to verify which one it is.

Which firmware do you recommend I upgrade it to?

Thanks muhaha.gif


#9 myfranco

myfranco

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 820 posts
  • Location:Turkey-Istanbul
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 07 November 2006 - 08:11 PM

QUOTE(328iGuy @ Nov 7 2006, 07:26 PM) View Post

I have the LG-4163B as well but it is still running the original firmware it came with, will have to verify which one it is.

Which firmware do you recommend I upgrade it to?

Thanks muhaha.gif


I burned many games even before i updated its firmware and worked very well.I'm not so sure but it must A126 the latest firmware.You can give it a go ,why not?


#10 328iGuy

328iGuy

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 111 posts
  • Location:Canada EH!
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 07 November 2006 - 08:12 PM

QUOTE(myfranco @ Nov 7 2006, 02:18 PM) View Post

I burned many games even before i updated its firmware and worked very well.I'm not so sure but it must A126 the latest firmware.You can give it a go ,why not?


I think A106 is the latest, is it not?

LG has an autoupdate program for firmware but I can't seem to find it to donwload ANYWHERE.....even the LG link itself is broken? sad.gif

#11 328iGuy

328iGuy

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 111 posts
  • Location:Canada EH!
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 09 November 2006 - 06:34 PM

QUOTE(myfranco @ Nov 1 2006, 01:41 PM) View Post

4163b is my drive and works perfectly if you have latest fw(can be samsung or hitachi , garyopa 2.2 or 2.3 and c4eva 4.2x).Be sure that bitsetting is not supported for this drive.However , you don't need bitsetting with the latest fw.


I have FW version 1.06 on my LG 4163B. How can i check the bitsetting? Is there anything else I need to check or change before burning my first backup?

#12 vyse12012

vyse12012

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 76 posts

Posted 12 November 2006 - 01:26 AM

QUOTE(328iGuy @ Nov 9 2006, 06:41 PM) View Post

I have FW version 1.06 on my LG 4163B. How can i check the bitsetting? Is there anything else I need to check or change before burning my first backup?


you can only check bitsetting with this burner (I have the same) with nerospeed ..

but anyway, the new FW all read the games in DVD-ROm by default

#13 328iGuy

328iGuy

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 111 posts
  • Location:Canada EH!
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 12 November 2006 - 05:51 AM

QUOTE(vyse12012 @ Nov 11 2006, 07:33 PM) View Post

you can only check bitsetting with this burner (I have the same) with nerospeed ..

but anyway, the new FW all read the games in DVD-ROm by default


Thanks and yes I have done about 5 backups without issue to date. Gotta love it! cool.gif




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users