• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 loobindoobin

loobindoobin

X-S Enthusiast

• Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 31 October 2006 - 05:53 AM

Hello everyone, I'm obviously new here and would like to send out my respects to all of the current members.

But lets get down and dirty.
So here's the deal, I just paid to have my x-box hard modded, I had been playing on it for like 3 days and then it froze and I had to Manually Power off. Now I'm a little new to hard modification however if My memory serves me well an X-Box HD is formatted with a FAT32 allocation table (common in windows nt, and windows 98). This File system (FAT32) is well known for losing system information, or corrupting system files when manually powering off, or if there is a power surge (lightning striking, car accident that took the power out, etc.). Thus the reason why MS came out with the NTFS File system,(most common in windows xp) since MS (and I'm not trying to defend tongue.gif ) prob had so many problems with in-experianced users just hitting the power button on the PC without going to start then shut down, and losing valuable system information. This most likely happend to my X-box when I manually powered off.

THE POSSIBLE FIX!

And don't hold me to it, but this did work for me. This may only work on X-box's with the Linux O/S (Operating system) If you have already replaced your IDE cable (Like I did try first because it would have been the easiest fix) and this still didn't work, then please try this next.
A modded xbox can have various O/S (Operating Systems) The most common However is Linux. To softmod an xbox you simply have to take the files from a very old and popular game called mechassualt
(you have to have the older version of mechassualt the one that has a serial code that reads: MS02301LL1)