Jump to content


Photo

Problem With 1080p....vga (and Possibly Component)


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Foe-hammer

Foe-hammer

    X-S Messiah

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,416 posts
  • Location:Wyoming
  • Interests:Hunting, fishing, body building, video games
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 02 November 2006 - 12:52 AM

First of all, the picture is cropped on the left and right of the screen (more so on the left), so you see less of the game. Just check out the amount of space you have on the right and left of the dashboard 'blades' when you switch to 1080p, because it is reduced quite drastically. This also carries over to games, so you will have less peripherial vision

Second, there is a white bar that runs vertically all the way down on the far right, and a thick bar of distortion that runs vertically on the far left all the way down.

I've confirmed this on my sony 24" trinitron fw900 widescreen crt pc monitor via 360 monster vga cable, and had my brother confirm it as well on his westinghouse 37" 1080p LCD via MS vga cable.

Piss, and i was looking forward to 1080p....i guess i'll be going back to 1280x1024 widescreen.

On a good note, they fixed the dvd playback so it is not so damn dark with really low contrast. The picture is excellent now. Blacks are black without the picture being too dark, and the contrast is great.


#2 epsilon72

epsilon72

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,213 posts
  • Location:Arizona
  • Interests:updating my interests section of my profile
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:none

Posted 02 November 2006 - 03:15 AM

I haven't heard of any other tests with that beastly Sony computer CRT, so I'm not sure how much luck you'll have getting it to work... sleep.gif

It should work fine with the 37w3 via VGA, when I had mine it had no problem accepting 1080p via VGA from the PC, and it's bigger brother (the 42w2) doesn't have any problems with the 360 either.

I'm actually reading reports that some people are getting the 42w2 to accept 1080p through component (even though specs contradict this), but I don't think 37w3 owners have had as much luck with it.


#3 Foe-hammer

Foe-hammer

    X-S Messiah

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,416 posts
  • Location:Wyoming
  • Interests:Hunting, fishing, body building, video games
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 02 November 2006 - 06:35 AM

No, my brother who has the 37w3 westy is having the exact same problems with 1080p as i am having. So it is not a monitor or cable problem/issue.

#4 jesterferian

jesterferian

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 02 November 2006 - 12:55 PM

Have you tried ajusting your tv settings i.e Clock, H-Position & V-Position. Auto adjust doesn't always pick up the correct resolution.

#5 707epsi

707epsi

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 03 November 2006 - 02:19 AM

i had the same problem with my 37w1 westinghouse via VGA, were the screen was cropped. all i did was go to the pc parameters on the tv menu and chose the auto detect and it fixed it.

#6 epsilon72

epsilon72

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,213 posts
  • Location:Arizona
  • Interests:updating my interests section of my profile
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:none

Posted 03 November 2006 - 05:08 AM

hmm... are you able to try a different 360 on those monitors, foe-hammer? Just to see if that's where the problem could possibly be?

#7 Foe-hammer

Foe-hammer

    X-S Messiah

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,416 posts
  • Location:Wyoming
  • Interests:Hunting, fishing, body building, video games
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 03 November 2006 - 07:53 PM

Well i figured out what the problem was. With my brother westinghouse 37" 1080p LCD he was having all the exact same problems as i was having with my fw900's. He had to switch his video mode from 'full' to 'regular' and everything was then fixed.

So it is definitely how the fw900’s handles 1080p incorrectly and not Microsoft’s fault here. It would be great if there were a 1920x1200 res for the monitors (fw900’s native res). I don’t understand why they could not add resolutions like this easily to the 360. A 1920x1200 and 1600x1200 should be a ‘no brainer’ for supported vga resolutions.


#8 Foe-hammer

Foe-hammer

    X-S Messiah

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,416 posts
  • Location:Wyoming
  • Interests:Hunting, fishing, body building, video games
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 04 November 2006 - 04:37 AM

Update...

Found out it is not my fw900's fault after all. When via a pc a 1080p image on the fw900 there is no stretching or distortion. So it does indeed look like MS dropped the ball on this one. And do you think they will give 2 shits about fixing it? I doubt it.

#9 GSX

GSX

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,188 posts
  • Location:Agrestic, USA
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 04 November 2006 - 10:51 PM

I have the west 1080p 37"(37w3) and it dosen't crop anything at 1080p. My tv seems to have zero oversan tho. Turn off you fill option.

PS_ JUst read the rest, and noticed u did what I said.

Edited by GSX, 04 November 2006 - 10:53 PM.


#10 EugeneEW3RD

EugeneEW3RD

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 79 posts

Posted 20 November 2006 - 11:55 AM

I have a Samsung 50" DLP 1080P HDTV & I have my 360 connected to it thru VGA but I have not had any of the problems which people have mentioned. The problem, IIRC, lies with certain brands of TV's, if I'm not mistaken.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users