Jump to content


Photo

Can I Connect Like This?


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 mikelspencr

mikelspencr

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 522 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 15 November 2006 - 12:30 PM

ok, just got DSL...love it, too tongue.gif
now, i dont have another NIC, but i have this usb-to-ethernet adapter...its usb 2.0, so would it work? gonna test it, meebe get something connected before i leave. can someone give me ideas on how i could make some sort of dsl splitter? to split the connection from this comp to another one/my xbox(s)

#2 c-2

c-2

    X-S Freak

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,453 posts
  • Location:www.teamxlink.co.uk
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:none

Posted 15 November 2006 - 02:24 PM

can u plug the DSL modem in USB and use a crossover cable from the xbox to the PC ?



#3 mikelspencr

mikelspencr

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 522 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 16 November 2006 - 02:33 AM

nope. its a modem with a phone line and then a ethernet port...no place to usb it...

#4 Soligna

Soligna

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 372 posts
  • Location:The Looney Bin
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:none

Posted 16 November 2006 - 05:08 AM

test out the usb... if that doesn't work go to best buy or circut city and buy a 10/100 ethernet hub you'll need 3 straight-through cables, one for the modem-hub, one for the hub-computer, one for hub-xbox. That'll solve your problem.

#5 mikelspencr

mikelspencr

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 522 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 17 November 2006 - 12:15 PM

there is no place on the modem to plug in a usb cable!

ill go to some computer store, and see what i can do...

#6 DOS4GW

DOS4GW

    The XLink Fraggle

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,432 posts
  • Location:#XLink @ Efnet
  • Interests:Pet my Xbox
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 17 November 2006 - 11:23 PM

If you're planning to get an Ethernet device to expand the number of connection ports do not get a hub. Get a switch.

Hubs basically flooding all units connected to it with the same data no matter if the data is meant for that unit causing massive unnecessary transfer and collisions.

Switches work by communicating directly to the unit the data is meant for. You will never have collision on a switch.

#7 mikelspencr

mikelspencr

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 522 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 18 November 2006 - 01:21 PM

ok, this has been goin off-topic....let me get back on topic, ok?

QUOTE
ok, just got DSL...love it, too
now, i dont have another NIC, but i have this usb-to-ethernet adapter...its usb 2.0, so would it work? gonna test it, meebe get something connected before i leave. can someone give me ideas on how i could make some sort of dsl splitter? to split the connection from this comp to another one/my xbox(s)


i just need the best setup to play xlink kai. i have a few usb ports, and i have an ethernet-to usb adapter. someone tell me how to make this work....

#8 c-2

c-2

    X-S Freak

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,453 posts
  • Location:www.teamxlink.co.uk
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:none

Posted 18 November 2006 - 07:35 PM

i don't think thats going to work .. your best bet is to just buy a cheap network card or router .. saves you lots of hassle ..

#9 DOS4GW

DOS4GW

    The XLink Fraggle

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,432 posts
  • Location:#XLink @ Efnet
  • Interests:Pet my Xbox
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 18 November 2006 - 08:47 PM

USB Ethernet adaptors is just like any other Ethernet adaptors. Go ahead and use USB adaptors if you like.

#10 mikelspencr

mikelspencr

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 522 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 19 November 2006 - 05:07 AM

ok...well, are there any good suggestions on what the IP addresses should be? and does anyone still play halo 1 on XK? in the US?

#11 cobrin

cobrin

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 237 posts
  • Location:Australia
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:none

Posted 19 November 2006 - 11:40 AM

Or you could give this a try............

1.PC Ethernet port to modem

2.USB to Ethernet adapter to xbox

3. Bridge both connections

away you go

I have a PC (lets call it pc1) in the spare room with a wireless access point connected by 1 Ethernet Xover cable. (cat5e patch)

My other PC (lets call this pc2) in the lounge room, it has 2 gigabit Ethernet ports onboard.

PC2 connects to PC1 by a wireless access point thru a Xover cable on ethernet port 1.

PC2 connects to my xbox by ethernet port 2 using a Xover cable.

Still with me?

Now there was a few problems getting PC2 on the internet with 2 connection types.
I wanted PC1, PC2 and xbox to connect to each other and access the internet from PC1.
PC2 couldn't connect to the internet when connected to the xbox, unless, you give it a different IP address.
thats not what i wanted cause then PC1 cant connect to the xbox.

So you bridge both LAN network connections on PC2. With this done I can connect to the xbox from all PC's and vice versa. Also the xbox can connect online from PC1 thru PC2

OK IP addresses

For lamen sake I'll make it easy

PC1 has ICS and can have an IP of = 192.168.0.1
PC2 can have an it's bridge IP of = 192.168.0.2
XBOX can have an IP of 192.168.0.3

The wireless access points can have 192.168.0.100 and the other have 192.168.0.99

Of course the networking addresses can be changed to fit in to what ever your network is .

It works for me and does what I require of it.

Hope it helps.......




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users