Jump to content


Photo

Component Or Hdmi?


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 osotogari

osotogari

    X-S Young Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • Pip
  • 31 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 25 November 2006 - 07:33 PM


my TV supports 720p and 1080i and it has an HDMI port.
I am using my ps2 component cable now and I was thinking of geting an HDMI cable but I was reading that HDMI is only for 1080p.
I mostly want to know if I will get a better picture with HDMI on my TV? or should I just get a component cable?
I don't even know Y my TV would have an HDMI port if it can't do 1080p
also dose it really matter if I get a ps2 or ps3 component, the ps3 component cables at best buy were like $50 and I know I can get a ps2 cable for like $20.
1 last thing long time a go I was reading an article about that game run better on 720p then 1080i so I put 720p in my ps3 settings but I was thinking of changing it to 1080i but to me it kind of looks the same, anyone see any differences from the 2?




#2 the lobo

the lobo

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 262 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 25 November 2006 - 10:57 PM

ok. as far as i know, HDMI will support up to 1080p and anything under that. so i think you will be fine using an HDMI cable, but then again, some people are having trouble with HDMI and the PS3 so it's your call. and you can't really tell the difference between 720p and 1080i unless you're like some videophile, besides, it'll look great either way.

#3 mlmadmax

mlmadmax

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 870 posts
  • Location:California
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 27 November 2006 - 05:04 AM

HDMI is a direct digital connection from source to display and should yield the highest quality picture. Component looks great as well but won't allow for things like up conversion of standard DVDís to higher resolutions.

Best bet would be to go with HDMI.


#4 xboxmodder4life

xboxmodder4life

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 950 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 28 November 2006 - 03:01 AM

ps3 doesn't upscale dvd's anyway so component would work fine. But go to monoprice.com and get a hdmi cable for like 6-7$ shipped to ur door and save some money

#5 pds910

pds910

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 56 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 28 November 2006 - 06:30 AM

QUOTE(osotogari @ Nov 25 2006, 01:40 PM) View Post

my TV supports 720p and 1080i and it has an HDMI port.
I am using my ps2 component cable now and I was thinking of geting an HDMI cable but I was reading that HDMI is only for 1080p.
I mostly want to know if I will get a better picture with HDMI on my TV? or should I just get a component cable?
I don't even know Y my TV would have an HDMI port if it can't do 1080p
also dose it really matter if I get a ps2 or ps3 component, the ps3 component cables at best buy were like $50 and I know I can get a ps2 cable for like $20.
1 last thing long time a go I was reading an article about that game run better on 720p then 1080i so I put 720p in my ps3 settings but I was thinking of changing it to 1080i but to me it kind of looks the same, anyone see any differences from the 2?



I've also read you can use your component cables RIGHT FROM YOUR PS2 ON YOUR PS3....no need to go out and buy another set if that's the route you choose...unless you don't feel like being bothered to switch cables from one console to the other when u wanna play it...

#6 nezff

nezff

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,529 posts
  • Location:Louisiana
  • Interests:gaming, gaming o and gaming
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 29 November 2006 - 04:45 AM

QUOTE(the lobo @ Nov 25 2006, 04:04 PM) View Post

ok. as far as i know, HDMI will support up to 1080p and anything under that. so i think you will be fine using an HDMI cable, but then again, some people are having trouble with HDMI and the PS3 so it's your call. and you can't really tell the difference between 720p and 1080i unless you're like some videophile, besides, it'll look great either way.

you dont have to be an expert to see the difference between 720p and 1080i. I have a 46 inch HDTV and i am running at 1080i, you can tell a slight difference between the two when you swap back and forth.

#7 tonloc79

tonloc79

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,410 posts
  • Location:Killa Cali
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 29 November 2006 - 06:34 AM

QUOTE(pds910 @ Nov 28 2006, 06:37 AM) View Post

I've also read you can use your component cables RIGHT FROM YOUR PS2 ON YOUR PS3....no need to go out and buy another set if that's the route you choose...unless you don't feel like being bothered to switch cables from one console to the other when u wanna play it...

Shouldnt have to swap cables, PS3 is B/C!

#8 pds910

pds910

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 56 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 29 November 2006 - 07:18 AM

QUOTE(tonloc79 @ Nov 29 2006, 12:41 AM) View Post

Shouldnt have to swap cables, PS3 is B/C!



or so they say....I've read that many games are not being compatible, as sony stated ALL would be...

#9 epsilon72

epsilon72

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,213 posts
  • Location:Arizona
  • Interests:updating my interests section of my profile
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:none

Posted 02 December 2006 - 06:36 AM

QUOTE(osotogari @ Nov 25 2006, 11:40 AM) View Post

my TV supports 720p and 1080i and it has an HDMI port.




Your tv doesn't fully support both 720p and 1080i if it's not 1080p capable as well. I'm guessing you have a flat panel (LCD or Plasma) so your best choice is probably 720p (well, I guess there's not much of a choice with PS3 games rolleyes.gif ). 1080i is just downscaled to 720p on your display, even if it can accept a 1080i signal.

If you can find a cheap HDMI cable (monoprice.com) I'd say go for it, and just set your PS3 to 720p.

Edited by epsilon72, 02 December 2006 - 06:37 AM.


#10 the lobo

the lobo

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 262 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 03 December 2006 - 08:51 AM

does it really look better in 720p.

#11 epsilon72

epsilon72

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,213 posts
  • Location:Arizona
  • Interests:updating my interests section of my profile
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:none

Posted 04 December 2006 - 02:14 AM

QUOTE(the lobo @ Dec 3 2006, 12:58 AM) View Post
does it really look better in 720p.


for an LCD or Plasma display, the native resolution of the tv is what always looks best.


#12 Master666

Master666

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 16 posts

Posted 22 December 2006 - 02:23 AM

I have a PS2 component cable and when i connect it to the PS3 i got snow and static on the screen this is with my Hitachi 26" LCD HDTV but if i connect them to my regular TV (27 inch normal TV) to the component it looks just fine, any ideas of why is this happening? And also bought a HDMI-DVi cable and everything looks fine but every certain time (mostly 1 minute) the screen freezes for 1 or 2 secons and then resumes, is this a console or cable problem?
TIA

Edited by Master666, 22 December 2006 - 02:29 AM.


#13 Great2bfree

Great2bfree

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 225 posts

Posted 22 December 2006 - 06:22 PM

QUOTE(Master666 @ Dec 22 2006, 02:30 AM) View Post

I have a PS2 component cable and when i connect it to the PS3 i got snow and static on the screen this is with my Hitachi 26" LCD HDTV but if i connect them to my regular TV (27 inch normal TV) to the component it looks just fine, any ideas of why is this happening? And also bought a HDMI-DVi cable and everything looks fine but every certain time (mostly 1 minute) the screen freezes for 1 or 2 secons and then resumes, is this a console or cable problem?
TIA


Sounds like its your tv. Check the model and see what resolution it supports. It might be receiving signal from the ps3 which might not be compatible for it. Also on some tv, there are firmware update, so thats something to look for.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users