• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 tehcypress

tehcypress

X-S Enthusiast

• Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 09 December 2006 - 04:10 PM

I recently bought a modded xbox. It has an Xecutor chip in it, however, I have no idea which one. I tried to install the latest XBMC and followed their tutorials from xboxmediacenter.com for both installing as an Application and installing as a dashboard. Seeing how I was a complete noob, I followed the directions verbatim, and only changed one thing, where it said to rename the current dashboard to an alternate bootable name. :
1. Find out what the dashboard on your Xbox is (usually evoxdash.xbe in C:)
2. Rename your current dashboard to an alternate bootable name. This will be used as a fallback if execution of the new shortcut fails. Consult the table below, or www.xbox-scene.com for details on your dash.
The thing is, I had 2 .xbe files in my C: whan was evoxdash.xbe , and the other was xboxdash.xbe . I changed both names to .xbe1 and replaced them both with the one provided by xboxmediacenter's tutorial.

Now, every time I boot up the xbox, it just stops and hangs on the modchip screen....it has a big xbox logo and at the bottom it says "Xecuter rox my box"

Would anyone please tell me what to do? I really would like to recover my xbox. I think that all I would have to do is just rename those files back to their original names. How would I go about doing that? Could I just plug my xbox hd inside of my pc?

Thanks for the help.

#2 1hotjob

1hotjob

X-S Knowledgebase

• Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,761 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 09 December 2006 - 04:59 PM

If the drive isn't locked, you can put it in the PC. Use Xbplorer360 to view the drive in windows.

You can also make a boot disk with one of the autoinstallers such as AID or Slayer's. That would get you FTP access so you can rename the file.