Jump to content


Photo

First Time Flash


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 bho76

bho76

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 150 posts

Posted 10 December 2006 - 07:29 PM



ok I am trying to read my drive and i run mtkflash but nothing seems to happen. it just says:
port 1f0 master/slave: a0

Do i need to just wait longer or what is going on? i hit the eject button once and it said :
status = 51, should be 70
err:user break

so what am i doing wrong? intel chipset dell xps 400 ts-h943 drive samsung

any help would be awesome. this is my first 360 flash..

thanks

#2 MaZo

MaZo

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 26 posts

Posted 10 December 2006 - 07:31 PM

Add the /sata parameter and try again, sometimes this will help.
If not, connect your box to the SATA slave port of your computer. I had the same issue when I flashed mine, and this solved the problem.

#3 bho76

bho76

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 150 posts

Posted 10 December 2006 - 07:40 PM

seems like i can't turn raid off all the way. only auto detect wonder if that has anything to do with it.

#4 bho76

bho76

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 150 posts

Posted 10 December 2006 - 07:52 PM

port 170, master/slave: a0

it sees it there just wont read!

#5 lllN30lll

lllN30lll

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 129 posts

Posted 10 December 2006 - 07:56 PM

Try using the "10 second trick" for flashing


1. Boot Xbox 360 and wait for it to finish it's bootup

2. Boot PC

3. From prompt type "mtkflash r /m orig.bin" like normal and hit enter

4. It should now ask you which device to write choices 1,2, etc. If it doesn't then you have no ide devices connected and you should connect at least one IDE CD/DVD drive and repeat steps 1-3 so that you get to this menu rather than it auto-selecting your SATA.

5. Don't make a selection yet!!! Staying at this menu of what to flash, turn off your Xbox 360. Wait 5 seconds.

6. Now select the device to flash (1,2, whatever) that corresponded with your SATA controller.

7. It should be sitting at that "Port: a400, Master/Slave: a0" type message now. Count to exactly 10 seconds. Not 9 seconds, not 11 seconds, exactly 10 seconds

8. Turn on Xbox 360 and it should start to read/flash

#6 MaZo

MaZo

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 26 posts

Posted 10 December 2006 - 08:12 PM

QUOTE(bho76 @ Dec 10 2006, 07:59 PM) View Post

port 170, master/slave: a0

it sees it there just wont read!
That's what you get when connecting to SATA slave?

#7 bho76

bho76

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 150 posts

Posted 10 December 2006 - 08:21 PM

yup. raid has to be disabled right? I can see the drive in the bios so i know it is there though

i have also tried multi sata ports

#8 majik655

majik655

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,525 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 10 December 2006 - 10:44 PM

QUOTE(bho76 @ Dec 10 2006, 11:28 AM) View Post

yup. raid has to be disabled right? I can see the drive in the bios so i know it is there though

i have also tried multi sata ports



surprised no one has asked this but what VERSION drive do you have ms25 or ms28


if ms28 you HAVE TO DO THE VCC METHOD since you have a ich chipset.

otherwise you have to use the via sata card 6421



#9 bho76

bho76

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 150 posts

Posted 11 December 2006 - 12:18 AM

ms28 how do you do the vcc?

ok vcc isn't for me did a quick search... looks like the vt 6421 card is for me! see if ican get one at frys.

#10 bho76

bho76

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 150 posts

Posted 11 December 2006 - 01:10 AM



is this going to work to flash my ms28 drive?

http://www.ppa-usa.c...sb_pci/1325.htm

it has firewire,usb and sata all via chipsets. has vt6421a vt6214l,vt6306 chips on it..

#11 majik655

majik655

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,525 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 11 December 2006 - 01:46 AM

QUOTE(bho76 @ Dec 10 2006, 04:17 PM) View Post

is this going to work to flash my ms28 drive?

http://www.ppa-usa.c...sb_pci/1325.htm

it has firewire,usb and sata all via chipsets. has vt6421a vt6214l,vt6306 chips on it..

dunno if it will work... people are just purchasing the 15$ cards with ide and sata only... not saying it will not work.. it may not even matter .. but that one has firewire and usb on it.. dunno if it will work.. because there are many many posts and links pointing to the ide/sata card.

#12 bho76

bho76

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 150 posts

Posted 11 December 2006 - 01:55 AM

yeah that is what i was looking for but i could not find one with the correct chipset so this is what i got!

we will see in about 30 minutes

#13 bho76

bho76

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 150 posts

Posted 11 December 2006 - 02:26 AM

ok... now the directory alread exists when I put in samread xxxxxxx xxxxx

port 1f0, master/slave:a0

ok got the read!! that card worked like a charm just needed to use the right port!

now the fun part.. flashing it..


flashing now lets pray.......

#14 bho76

bho76

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 150 posts

Posted 11 December 2006 - 02:42 AM

it works!! now jsut to make some backups! how does clonedvd work is that good?




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users